Our Stories

Home>Youth stepping out of cocoon and rejoining society

Youth stepping out of cocoon and rejoining society

Treating family to a meal after payday may be common for many people, but for Kenny, it is a significant breakthrough in his life. The 29-year-old has cocooned at home without working over the past nine years, spending every single day surfing the Web. His parents, despite feeling downhearted about their son’s severe social phobia, did not know how to help the situation until they found The Salvation Army ‘E.A.S.Y. Job: Mentorship Scheme for Youth’ (Mentorship Scheme), a program that helped Kenny stepping out of his cocoon and rejoining the society. Today, Kenny has found his aspiration in the bakery industry and gained confidence in getting along with other people.

Cocooning because of social phobia

‘I used to feel very nervous and stressed about meeting people…’ Kenny recalled his experience of social phobia. It originated from the days when he was being excluded from his classmates in secondary school. With no appropriate support obtained at that time, he gradually shut himself in and was later diagnosed with agoraphobia, a condition that made him terrified whenever he found himself in a crowded place. Eventually it had to take him a great deal of courage just to step out of his home. As a result, other than going to school, he kept himself hidden at home most of the time.

Kenny did not do well in his secondary school certificate examinations and was not able to continue his studies. Lacking motivation to find employment, for the next nine years he spent his days surfing the Web at home. ‘Web surfing every day without a purpose is boring and meaningless. Sometimes my parents would say something sarcastic to me and I would talk back, but deep down I actually felt rather bad,’ said Kenny. However, when he thought about having to deal with strangers at work, he would cop out right away. Even though his friends occasionally referred him to different jobs, Kenny found it difficult to fit in and get along with his colleagues, so he has not stayed in any job for more than a month.

Rediscovering self

Last year, Kenny’s family brought him a leaflet about The Salvation Army ‘Mentorship Scheme’, which made him change his mind and finally summoned the courage to enroll into the scheme. To his surprise, this decision brought him completely new experience and perspective. In the training sessions, Kenny took up communication skills again and learnt how to get along with people with different personalities. In addition, a ‘life instructor’ and social worker were arranged for Kenny through the Scheme to help him discover his own self, explore his life plans and apply his newly acquired skills in the future workplace. After going through interviews and job matching, he got an offer from BreadTalk Concept Hong Kong Limited, working as ‘Junior Baker’ in the Jordan Branch where he learnt to make bread from scratch from his workplace mentor.

When asked why he wanted to be a baker, Kenny beamed like a child, ‘It’s because I like eating bread. It’s more fun if I make it myself!’ Encouraged by the Scheme, Kenny worked on finding out his true passion and the pleasant experience of cake-making once he had at home came to his mind, making him realise how much he enjoyed the sense of satisfaction from baking. Of course, having passion is not enough for things to work out in the real workplace – Kenny must adhere to the standards set by his mentor, i.e. punctuality, tidiness and cleanliness, sharp eyes and quick hands. Now the young man manages to make over a hundred trays of bread non-stop in the morning, then prepare for the next day’s filling right in the afternoon, and clean up the kitchen by the end of the day – literally not a minute is wasted!

Start building interpersonal relationships in the workplace

Vincent, Senior Baker of the BreadTalk Jordan Shop, is Kenny’s workplace mentor who works closely with him. Since Kenny joining the shop two years ago, Vincent has been giving his mentee step-by-step guidance, patiently guiding him to become a professional baker who can work on his own. For Vincent, seeing the changes in Kenny has been the greatest reward for taking part in this Scheme. ‘When he started working here, he would only respond with single words or even hardly speak. I could only guess whether he understood what I meant. Later, I clearly instructed him on how to respond properly, and he was willing to change.’

It is even more gratifying for Vincent as he sees Kenny slowly open his mind and start mingling with his colleagues. After work, they have dinner together and talk about video games and their favourite animations, which is indeed a 180-degree change for Kenny! Feeling the incredible patience given by his mentor, Kenny is willing to take heart in his learning, and if there is a problem at work, he will take the initiative to solve it by his own, which allows Vincent to know that he is worth counting on. Because of his good work performance, Kenny was promoted this July. On top of his basic duties, he now acts as a little mentor for new staff!

Bring about life transformation

The Scheme not only helps the disadvantaged youths to seek job opportunities, but more importantly it can bring changes to their lives. Hence, the Scheme invites experienced persons to act as life instructors. Alex is one of our close partners. Having been working in the trading market for years, Alex knows full well the way of communication and takes delight in sharing some useful tips with Kenny and other young trainees. Alex admits, ‘it is requisite to help young people improve their communication skills. Good communication is not common sense, but a skill to be acquired through learning. Kenny and many young people alike need the opportunities to learn and put such skills into practice.’

Genuine caring helps to enhance good communication and relationships. Kenny took Alex’s advice and now he knows how to show his care about his family and open conversations with them. Now the family has a much stronger bonding. Kenny treasures this stable job that he likes. Not only can he become self-reliant, he can also repay his family for their support. ‘I will treat them to yum-cha and I can bring home some money. Being able to do these gives me motivation and it is a symbol of my capability of taking responsibility’, said Kenny, satisfied.

E.A.S.Y. Job: Mentorship Scheme for Youth

The Scheme serves young people aged 15 to 29 who have less than three months’ full-time employment experience over the past year. Consisted of a one-week pre-employment induction training and three-month full-time paid training, the Scheme provides support to young people in three aspects by professionals including experienced senior staff members of corporates as mentors to provide guidance at work; life instructors that encourage young people to broaden their horizons and guide them to explore their life plans; and Salvation Army social workers that conduct professional counselling and a series of pre-employment induction training to help boost the young’s employability and confidence. This three-fold collaboration equips the young to achieve sustainable employment and self-reliance.

Go to Top

我们的故事

主页>阴隐闭阴霾重上职场

阴隐闭阴霾重上职场

出粮请家人饮茶对很多人来说是正常不过的事,但对朱少雄(Kenny)而言,却是人生中一个重要的突破。 29岁的Kenny曾长时间隐闭在家,九年来没有任何工作,每天靠上网度日;家人看在眼里虽不是味儿,却因儿子严重的社交恐惧症,他们对这情况也无从入手。直至接触到救世军「E.A.S.Y. Job青年师徒计划(师徒计划)」,Kenny成功「脱隐」重返职场,在烘焙界找到志向,更寻获与人相处的自信。

恐惧社交成隐青

「以前见到人会好紧张,好大压力……」Kenny一再道出过往对社交的恐惧;这份恐惧源自于中学时期被同学排挤,由于当时得不到适当支援,使他渐渐封闭自己。不幸地,他更患上「广场恐惧症」,每当身处人多挤迫的环境就会感到恐慌,后来他连踏出家门也得花上巨大的勇气,结果除了上学,大部分时间就只躲在家中。

中学会考后,Kenny因为成绩欠佳未能继续升学,也缺乏动力寻找工作,有九年时间都是在家上网度日。 Kenny说:「天天上网漫无目的,很闷又没意义,家人间中也会冷言冷语,久不久又吵架,心情其实很低落。」可是一想到上班要面对陌生人,心里随即打了「退堂鼓」。后来虽然有朋友介绍工作,他却因无法适应与同事相处,在不足一个月内便自行离职。

重新探索自我

去年,Kenny从家人带回家的宣传单张接触到救世军「师徒计划」,令他萌生改变的念头,最后鼓起勇气报了名;意想不到地,这个决定为他带来全新的经历和视野!在培训课堂里,Kenny重新学习沟通技巧,认识如何跟不同性格的人相处;计划又安排了「生命导师」和社工,陪伴他从新认识自我,并协助他探索生涯规划,然后将所学知识于职场实践。经过面试和工作配对,他成功入职BreadTalk Concept Hong Kong Limited的佐敦分店任职「初级烘焙员」,跟「师傅」由零开始学做面包。

问到何以想做烘焙员,Kenny露出孩子般的笑容说:「因为我喜欢吃,自己做就更开心!」原来在自我探索过程中,他记起以前在家做蛋糕的愉快经验,发现很享受亲手制作的满足感。当然,在现实职场里,有热诚只是基本条件,Kenny还要跟足「师傅」要求,学习准时、整洁兼眼明手快,早上「密密手」完成百多盆面包后,下午随即要准备翌日所需馅料,放工前还要抓紧时间清洁好厨房,几乎每分钟都没有浪费。

于职场重建人际关系

上述这位贴身指导Kenny的「师傅」,正是BreadTalk佐敦店铺高级烘焙员陈骏威(Vincent)。在Kenny入职至今近两年里,Vincent循循善诱,耐心指导他成为独当一面的专业烘焙员。看到他的转变,对Vincent来说是参与计划的最大得着:「记得他刚入职时,只会用单字回应别人,甚至几乎不说话,对于他能否明白我的意思,我只能『估估吓』;及后我清楚向他指出应有的应对技巧,他也愿意改变。」

更令Vincent欣慰的是,Kenny日渐敞开心窗,与同事打成一片,下班一起吃饭,谈打机、谈喜欢的动画,人际关系有了180度转变! Kenny也感受到「师傅」给予的无比耐心,故愿意认真学习。现在每当遇到工作上的难题,都会想办法自己解决,让Vincent很放心把工作交给他。因为在工作上有良好表现,今年7月他更获得晋升,基本工作以外更担当小师傅指导新人!

成就生命转变

不只协助弱势青年寻找工作机会,更重要是为他们带来生命转变,所以计划会邀请富经验人士担当生命导师,麦仲威(Alex) 是其中一位合作无间的伙伴。于贸易市场拼搏多年,深明沟通之道的Alex乐于向Kenny及其他青年学员分享箇中秘诀,他坦言:「协助青年人改善沟通能力是重要一环,沟通不是Common sense(常识),要有良好的沟通是需要学习的;许多青年人与Kenny一样, 他们需要学习和实践的机会。」

关心有助建立良好沟通关系,Kenny接纳了Alex建议,现在会关心家人,又主动找聊天话题,家庭成员间的关系变得紧密了。 Kenny珍惜这份喜欢又稳定的工作,能够「自给自足」之余,又能回馈家人,「会请他们饮茶,又会给家用,这也是我的动力,亦代表着我有承担。」Kenny满足地说。

关于救世军「E.A.S.Y. Job青年师徒计划」

对象为15至29岁在过去一年没有全职工作经验超过3个月的青年人。透过一星期职前启导课程及3个月有薪全职见习就业工作,由三方面专业人士为青年人提供支援:富有经验的公司资深职员会担任师傅,在工作上作出指导;生命导师会扩阔他们的视野,带领青年人探索生涯规划;救世军社工的专业辅导及一系列职前启导课程,助提升他们的就业力和自信心。三方携手,让青年人能装备自己,达至持续就业,自力更生的目标。

Go to Top