Declaration of The Founder of The Salvation Army:

“While women weep, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While little children go hungry, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While men go to prison, in and out, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While there is a drunkard left,
While there is a poor lost girl upon the streets,
While there remains one dark soul without the light of God,
I’ll fight –
I’ll fight to the very end!”

William Booth (1829-1912)

History of The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army was founded in 1865 in London, England by William Booth and Catherine Booth. In response to a strong calling from God, the Booths reached out to the poor, the homeless, the hungry and the destitute, and proclaimed the gospel of the Christ.

William Booth’s original aim was to send the new converts to established churches, but he soon realised that the regular churchgoers did not feel comfortable to worship with the new converts. He thus founded East London Christian Mission for these people in the slums of East London. The converts spread out of the East End of London into neighbouring areas and then to other cities.

Booth was reading the 1878 Christian Mission Magazine when he noticed the statement ‘The Christian Mission is a volunteer army.’ Crossing out the words ‘volunteer army’, he penned in ‘Salvation Army’. The name ‘The Salvation Army’ was then adopted. From that point, William Booth was known as ‘General’ by his followers, converts became soldiers of Christ and were also known then as Salvationists. The ‘Army’ was furnished with uniforms, a flag, a brass band and martial music.

The Booths and other officers of the Army endeavoured to expand the kingdom of God through the two-pillar directions of evangelical ministry and social service ministry. Today, the work of The Salvation Army has expanded to 132 countries and areas, meeting human needs in the name of God without discrimination.

The Salvation Army in Hong Kong

In 1930, by invitation of the Hong Kong Government, The Salvation Army started its ministry in Hong Kong by providing residential care to underprivileged young girls and women. The Salvation Army provides social services and fulfills the mission of proclaiming the Gospel. In the early days, church gatherings were held in open areas. The first corps (church) of The Salvation Army was established in 1937 in Kowloon City.

Affected by the war in the early 1940s, thousands of refugees emerged in the city. The Salvation Army set up a food kitchen to feed the hungry refugees daily. The social environment in Hong Kong became stable in the 1950s. The Salvation Army established schools and provided social services to cope with the increasing welfare demands of the community.

In the following decades, The Salvation Army continued to expand its community services, with schools opened and Corps (Churches) set up. Recycling Programme and Family Stores also operated to promote green living and recycling for charity. Emergency relief programmes were carried out in different countries in need.

In 2020, The Salvation Army celebrated its 90 years of services in Hong Kong. Over nearly a century, The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command has grown from a small group ministering to vulnerable women and girls, to a multi-dimensional service organisation giving hope and support to all those in need.

The Salvation Army in Macau

The Salvation Army commenced its services in Macau in 1999 with the setting up of Iao Hon Corps and Community Service Centre. The Corps was officially opened in 2000, and the first Family Store started operations in Macau in the same year. The second store was opened in 2018. Apart from resale of used materials, selected items are delivered to the needy. The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre, the first social services unit of the Salvation Army in Macau, was established in 2014 with the aim of providing services to the local young people and families. In 2017, The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre, the Army’s first educational services unit in Macau, was commenced, serving children with special educational needs and their families.

The Salvation Army in Mainland China

As early as 1916, The Salvation Army commenced its services in Beijing, providing assistance to people suffering in wars. During the following decades, hospitals and orphanages were set up in Beijing, Shijiazhuang, Tianjin and other areas, taking care of the countless poor and orphans. In 1988, when a strong earthquake occurred in Gengma County of Yunnan, The Salvation Army started to engage in emergency relief, post-disaster reconstruction and social assistance work. On 1 January 2017, after the official implementation of the Law of the People’s Republic of China on Administration of Activities of Overseas Nongovernmental Organizations in the Mainland of China, The Salvation Army (Hong Kong) Yunnan Office and The Salvation Army (Hong Kong) Sichuan Office were registered in compliance with the law.

Key Milestones

1930-40s

22/01/2020
  • By invitation of the Hong Kong Government, a Girls’ Home was set up in 1930 to provide residential care to underprivileged young girls and women.
  • A food kitchen was set up in Wanchai, giving out free meals to children and refugees. Activities such as literacy classes and worship were also organised for the comers. After the war, the Army was allowed to use the old Wanchai Police Station as a school and kitchen. The place was used for Corps meetings in the evenings and during the weekends.

1950-60s

22/01/2020
  • In 1951, the Headquarters of The Salvation Army was erected at 547-555 Nathan Road. The Government allocated a piece of land in Wanchai for The Salvation Army to build welfare centre and school. Also, a street was named ‘Salvation Army Street’ in recognition of the Army’s contribution to the society.
  • During the 60s, The Salvation Army ran vocational training classes, such as haircutting, woodwork, tailoring and sewing for refugees. The Army also built roof-top schools to meet the needs of school-age children.

1970-80s

22/01/2020
  • There was an influx of the Vietnamese refugees into Hong Kong during the 70s. The Salvation Army provided education, social welfare and religious services in two Vietnamese refugee camps.
  • The Salvation Army William Booth Secondary School was completed and commenced in 1973 and kicked off a new page for the Army’s education service.
  • The Salvation Army headquarters was moved to Wing Sing Lane, Yaumatei in 1985.

1990s

22/01/2020
  • The Salvation Army commenced poverty alleviation programmes and participated in flood relief works in mainland China in the 1990s. The China Development Department was officially established in 1994. The Army actively took part in emergency relief efforts, giving a helping hand to people affected by the earthquake in Taiwan and the typhoon disaster in The Philippines.
  • The opening ceremony of Shek Wu School, the first Salvation Army special school was held in May 1996.
  • The Army was one of the first NGOs in Hong Kong that introduced SAORI weaving in its vocational rehabilitation service in 1998.

2000s

22/01/2020
  • Iao Hon Corps (church) officially opened and commenced community services in Macau in 2000. The Command was renamed at the same time as ‘The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command’.
  • An amount of over HK$60 million was raised to respond to the emergency and rehabilitation needs in Indonesia and Sri Lanka during the South Asian Tsunami in 2004.
  • After the Sichuan earthquake on 12 May 2008, The Salvation Army was among the first organisations to arrive and provide assistance at the scene. A 4-year relief and rehabilitation programme was carried out.

2010s

22/01/2020
  • The Army launched a groundbreaking pilot project of hospice and palliative care – ‘Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly’ – in Hong Kong in 2010 and pioneered medical-social joint service for street-sleepers in Hong Kong and launched the first outreach vehicle for the street-sleepers service in 2015.
  • The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre, the first social services unit of the Salvation Army in Macau and The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre, the first educational services unit of the Army in Macau, commenced services in 2014 and 2017 respectively.
  • In compliance with the new policy of the mainland China, the Army has officially registered as an international NGO in Sichuan and Yunnan provinces in 2017.

2020s

23/09/2020
  • Entering the 90th anniversary, The Salvation Army continues to walk with you and proactively serves the community.
  • The novel coronavirus has been raging in Hong Kong and Macau. All this while, our social services units and corps (churches) continue to serve those in need, distributing materials such as surgical masks, anti-epidemic kits, daily necessities and food items to meet their urgent needs.
  • As classes in schools were suspended, during this period, our schools in Hong Kong and the Macau Education Centre prepared different e-learning materials and conducted online classes to support children’s at-home learning. In this difficult time, all our units have been doing everything possible to bring love, care and encouragement to everyone in the community.

救世军创办人宣言:

「当女人仍在哭泣,如现在一样,我要战斗;
当孩子仍然挨饿,如现在一样,我要战斗;
当男人仍旧进出监狱,如现在一样,我要战斗;
当仍有一个醉汉,
当仍有一个可怜少女,迷失于街头,
当仍有一个黑暗灵魂,缺乏上帝之光,
我要战斗 ──
我要战斗到底! 」

卜维廉 (1829-1912)

我们的历史

救世军于1865年在英国伦敦由卜维廉及卜凯赛琳创立。基于强烈的感召,卜氏夫妇向贫困、无家可归、饥饿和被遗弃的人传扬基督的福音。

卜维廉原本打算安排这些初信的教徒于各教会参与聚会,可是他渐渐意识到当时恒常出席教会聚会的人并不适应与这群新信徒一同崇拜,便于伦敦东部的贫民区创立东伦敦基督徒布道团,福音事工迅速由伦敦东陲扩展至邻近城市。

「救世军」名称的由来源于卜维廉在1878年的基督徒会年报中,读到一句「基督徒布道团是一支志愿军队」。他遂把「志愿军」删去,再写上「救世军」一词,「救世军」之名自此被采用。卜维廉被追随者称为「大将」,信徒被称为救世军军兵,整支「军队」配备制服、旗帜、铜管乐队及军歌。

卜氏夫妇及其他军官以福音事工和社会服务事工的整全路线,竭力扩展神的国度。发展至今,救世军已遍及全球132个国家及地区,并奉耶稣的名在不分彼此的原则下帮助有需要的人。

救世军在香港

1930年,救世军应香港政府邀请,在香港开设宿舍照顾妇人和女童。救世军正式展开在香港的服务。救世军在提供社会关怀服务的同时,亦继续履行传扬福音的使命。救世军早期的教会聚会是在户外进行,直至1937年,首个部队(教会)于九龙城成立。

1940年代初,受战争影响社会涌现大批难民。救世军开设施食厂,每日为饥饿的难民提供食物。 1950年代,香港社会环境日趋稳定。救世军于是设立学校并开展社会服务,以迎合社会上日渐增加的社会福利需要。

往后数十年,救世军配合社会转变,继续扩展多元化的社区服务、开设学校、设立部队、营办循环再用计划及家品店以推广良心消费,并在有需要的国家进行紧急救援项目。

2020年,救世军庆祝服务香港90年。在过去接近一个世纪,救世军港澳军区由一个服务被遗弃妇女的小团体,发展成为一个提供多元化服务的机构,为有需要的人带来希望与支援。

救世军在澳门

于1999年设立救世军佑汉堂暨社区服务中心,并于2000年正式开幕,开启了救世军在澳门的服务。同年救世军在澳门开设第一间家品店,2018年开设第二间,售卖所收集的捐赠物品,部份物品会转赠予有需要人士。 2014年,救世军在澳门首个社会服务单位 — 救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心正式投入服务,照顾青少年及家庭的需要。 2017年,救世军在澳门首个教育服务单位 - 救世军(澳门)教育中心 - 正式投入服务,为有特殊学习需要孩子及家庭提供支援。

救世军在中国内地

救世军于1916年在中国北京开展工作,为因战乱而无家可归的难民提供援助。随后数十年,救世军先后在北京、石家庄及天津等地设立医院及孤儿院,照顾无数贫苦大众及孤儿。 1988年云南省耿马地区发生7.2级强烈地震,救世军更进一步投入了紧急救援、灾后重建及社会救助服务。 2017年1月1日《中华人民共和国境外非政府组织境内活动管理法》正式实施后,救世军(香港)云南办事处和救世军(香港)四川办事处相继按规定进行了登记。

里程碑

1930-40s

12/08/1930
  • 1930年应香港政府邀请开设宿舍培德院,照顾贫困女童及妇女。
  • 在湾仔搭建施食厂,为儿童及难民派发免费食物,又举办识字班、崇拜聚会等。战后向政府借用湾仔二号警署作为学校及施饭堂之用,晩上及周末用作部队聚会。

1950-60s

12/08/1950
  • 政府拨出在弥敦道547-555号予本军兴建的总部于1951年落成,另在湾仔拨地为救世军兴建福利中心和学校,并把一街道命名为「救世军街」,表扬本军对社会的贡献。
  • 面对当时大量内地移民,救世军于60年代提供理发、木工、裁剪及缝纫等职业训练,又为在职妇女安排托儿服务,减轻她们照顾子女的负担。

1970-80s

12/08/1960
  • 70年代香港爆发越南难民潮,救世军在两个难民营提供教育、福利及宗教服务。
  • 1973年救世军卜维廉中学落成及开课,为本军教育服务揭开新一页。
  • 救世军总部于1985年迁往油麻地永星里现址。

1990s

12/08/2019
  • 1990年代,救世军于中国内地开展扶贫发展工作,又多次参与国内水灾的救援工作,并于1994年正式成立中国事务部。本军积极参与紧急救援工作,向台湾地震及菲律宾风灾的灾民伸出援手。
  • 1996年5月救世军石湖学校举行开幕礼。
  • 于1998年本军成为全港首批引入SAORI纱织技术发展职业复康服务的非政府组织。

2000s

12/08/2019
  • 2000年在澳门开办的佑汉堂暨社区服务中心正式开幕,同时改称为「救世军港澳军区」。
  • 2004年南亚大海啸,军区筹募超过六千万港元,协助印尼及斯里兰卡的灾后重建工作。
  • 2008年5月12日四川发生大地震,救世军是最先抵达灾区,提供救援的机构之一,之后更开展一项为期四年的救援及重建项目。

2010s

12/08/2019
  • 2010年在本港安老院舍推行崭新的纾缓及临终照顾先导计划- 「香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划」及于2015年首推医社合作露宿者服务,并设全港首架露宿者服务外展车。
  • 救世军在澳门首个社会服务单位 — 救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心及首个教育服务单位 - 救世军(澳门)教育中心分别于2014年及2017年正式投入服务。
  • 为配合内地新政策,本军2017年在四川省和云南省注册为境外非政府组织

2020s

23/09/2020
  • 救世军踏入90周年,继续积极服务社会,伴你同行。
  • 新型冠状病毒肆虐,救世军社会服务各单位、部队(教会)继续为有需要的人服务,包括派发口罩、防疫包、日用品及食物等,解决他们的燃眉之急。
  • 学校停课,小朋友只能留在家中学习,我们香港的学校单位及澳门教育中心制作不同的网上学习材料、开设网上课室,让小朋友在任何时候也能学习知识,停课不停学。各单位在疫情期间所做的林林总总,为社区带来爱与关怀,为所有人打气。