Our Stories

Home>Christian and Good Steward of the Earth

Christian and Good Steward of the Earth

Sister Kaki Au
TSA Hong Kong Island East Corps

It is already the third year since I started running my wedding supplies rental shop. Compared with a kid, a 3-year-old will be an adorable child who keeps jumping around. I am so thankful for this ‘kid’, for in him I find countless blessings.

Stepping outside my comfort zone
Early 2019, I quitted my day job and took up a small shop for eco-friendly wedding supplies rental. This shop promotes green wedding and the concept of renting instead of buying. Reused and recycled wedding supplies are rented, a way that extends their lives and the items are used to their fullest extent in order to reduce waste. At that time I was already operating a vintage select shop. I had struggles making the decision to get out of my comfort zone. It has always been my dream to engage in a green business, but in fact this is not a stable and easy path.  I quietly prayed to God, ‘Father, if this is your will, please open the way for me and grant me strength!’

A good steward pleasing to God
Our Heavenly Father grants us the earth, this lovely place, so I always think environmental protection is closely related to us Christians. From the time we are entrusted with the stewardship of the earth, we are responsible for treasuring our environment and everything in it and managing it wisely. That is why the concept of green wedding really got to me. I could tell from the market that this business would only be making meagre profits, but I was prepared to pay for the loss with the profits I would make from my vintage shop and finally decided to take up the green wedding supplies shop, with the hope of promoting the concept and work of green wedding with my sheer enthusiasm and sincerity.

Meeting an angel on a rough road
We all have our own mission, whether in the job market or any other positions. People may think I am rather naïve and impulsive to engage in the green wedding business, but I believe this is an alternative mission God has given me. As expected, starting a green wedding business from scratch took me extra efforts in operation, and practically I spent the profits generated from my vintage shop to subsidise the wedding supplies shop.

Despite a rough journey, our Heavenly Father is always there to help and bring wonderful angels to my life. There was a time when a customer of my vintage shop showed interest in promoting green wedding with me. As we talked, I found that she was also a Christian. We encouraged and walked with each other. It was just a short period of time, but I am grateful to God for He has given me an angel and companion who brought blessings to my life when I was lonely.

Persistence, Perseverance, Conviction
The wedding supplies shop experienced the social movement and COVID-19 pandemic shortly after its opening. During that time, God granted me and my husband a new baby, and meanwhile the shop business was gradually growing. I remember once when I attended church, a bible verse from a sermon struck me hard, ‘But remember the Lord your God, for it is he who gives you the ability to produce wealth, and so confirms his covenant, which he swore to your ancestors, as it is today.’ (Deuteronomy 8:18) There have been frustrating and upsetting moments over the past years, but every time God was my ever-present help. I thank God for my landlord agreed to lower the rent (be it a small amount), for the supplies donated by my friends and customers, for the recommendation and support from my friends… These are all the grace of God!

In March 2021, I had a media interview. At that time the pandemic was slowing down as well, and my shop’s turnover of that month hit a record high. Hallelujah! I did not make a fortune, nor am I rich, but my heart is full of God’s grace and blessings, for which I am content and thankful!

Go to Top

我们的故事

主页>基督徒和地球的好管家

基督徒和地球的好管家

区嘉倩姊妹
救世军港岛东队

屈指一算,我经营的「婚礼物资租用店」不经不觉快要踏入三岁了,如果以人作为比喻,这间店铺已成为蹦蹦跳跳,活泼可爱的「小孩子」了。这「小孩子」让我的感恩,让我想数算,也恐怕数不尽!

踏出安舒区
2019 年初,我辞掉了正职,接手经营一家环保婚礼物资租用小店,这家店提倡环保婚礼,以租代买,透过租用形式,循环再用并有效分配婚礼物资,希望能够延续物资的寿命,物尽其用,减少浪费。当时我同时经营古着选物店。要走出安舒区,做这个决定时,心中出现很大的挣扎,纵然从事环保行业一直是我的梦想,但事实告诉我这不是一条稳定又易走的路。心里悄悄地和天父诉心声:「天父,如果这想法合祢的心意,请为我开路并加我勇气!」

作神心意的好管家
天父赐我们地球,就是这美好的地方,所以我一直认为环保跟我们作为基督徒是息息相关的。由我们被托付作为地(球)上的管家开始,我们理应对身处的环境和事物都有爱惜的责任,更应该有智慧地去好好管理它。我亦因而对于环保婚礼这行业的概念,特别有感动。虽然市场明明告诉我从事这行业的利润将会少得可怜,我还是带着用古着店盈利倒贴的预算,最终决定接手经营环保婚礼物资店,希望可以凭着一股傻劲和诚意来推广绿色婚礼概念及工作。

逆路上遇上天使
其实我们每位弟兄姊妹都有各自的使命,在职场工作也好,任何岗位也好。在别人眼里,踏足绿色婚礼行业可能是不知从何而来的傻劲和冲动,但我心里相信,这也算得上是神给我的另类使命。一如所料,环保婚礼由零开始出发,再次踏上经营的路,实在很花心力,实际营运时,的确每个月都需要动用古着店的收入去补贴。

路虽难行,但天父总有祂的帮助和安排,让我遇上生命中美好的天使。当中有一段时间,一位古着店的客人有兴趣和我一起推广环保婚礼,言谈间发现原来她也是一位基督徒,我们彼此鼓励同行。虽然只是一段短时间,但当我感到孤单的日子,感谢主赐给我一位同行天使,祝福了我的生命。

坚持、坚定、坚信
开业后不久,经历社会运动和新冠疫情,此时天父赐给我们两口子家庭一个小生命,而婚礼物资店总算在缓慢地成长。记得有一次崇拜证道,有一句经文狠狠地打进我心里:「你要记念耶和华你的神,因为得货财的力量是祂给你的,为要坚定祂向你的列祖起誓所立的约,像今日一样。」(申命记 8章18节)数年来虽然有难过、灰心沮丧的时候,但每次天父都作我随时的帮助。也感谢主让业主愿意减租(虽然只是细小金额)、朋友和客人捐赠的物资、各方好友推介和支持……等等。一切只能说是神的恩典!

2021 年 3 月,感恩在传媒访问的带动和疫情放缓的缘故,当月的生意额可算是历史性新高,哈利路亚!虽然绝对算不上赚甚么大钱,我亦毫不富贵,但心里却满有神的恩惠祝福,神在我心里已让我满足,为此而献上感谢!

Go to Top