Our Stories

Home>A loving heart can change your life

A loving heart can change your life

Children’s health and happiness seem to be something we take for granted. However, because of family financial difficulties or other reasons, for some children in mainland China, their parents cannot be around them when they grow up. The children are dealing with overwhelming economic and emotional stress all by themselves. By providing sponsorship and conducting projects locally, The Salvation Army not only helps these children with their studies but also provides all kinds of activities and social visits to relieve their mental stress.

Helps a young soul fulfil his dream
The Army has been conducting poverty alleviation and education sponsorship projects in Longchuan County of Dehong Prefecture, Yunnan Province for almost 20 years. During all these years, thousands of students have been able to finish their studies. And make use of their knowledge to change their lives for the better and create their future with hope. Influenced by the Army, these children also learned to be grateful and pass on their passion and kindness to others in need. Xiaoyang is one of these students.

Xiaoyang came from a very poor family in the cold, remote highland of Bangdong Village, Wangzishu Township of Longchuan County. His father was badly injured during a work accident and was hospitalised for over a month. The tuition fee for Xiaoyang and his little brother and the living expenses of his family came from their mother’s slender wages. Sometimes, they have to borrow from neighbours to live through the tough days.

Xiaoyang has been a hard-working and straight-A student since primary school. During his high school years, he got a scholarship from the Army. In 2021, he entered his dream college, Yunnan Agricultural University. With the 3000-Yuan scholarship from the Army, he could pay his travel fees and the first few months’ living expense which helped him start his college life much easier.

As a beneficiary of the Army’s sponsorship programme for many years, Xiaoyang learned that the only reason that he could go this far is because of the support from many kind people. So, he is determined to study hard and become a trustworthy young man who is useful to his community and the nation.

Story of Uncle Long and Xiaotao
Xiaotao is a 12-year-old boy studying in Secondary 1. His dad was sent to prison when Xiaotao was 8 and his mum couldn’t face the harshness, so she left. Since then, Xiaotao was left alone with his grandparents. Despite the veteran pension and minimum social welfare support, his grandpa has to work here and there to pay the bills. Xiaotao has been an inferior boy since he was small, and as he grew older and hit puberty, he became more and more withdrawn. His grandparents didn’t get much education themselves; it seems impossible for them to communicate with Xiaotao at all and they didn’t know how to deal with Xiaotao’s rebellious behaviours no matter how worried they were.

The terrible situation lasted for a few years until one day when Uncle Long, a volunteer of the  ‘Qingshen County Disadvantaged Children Project (Phase 2)’ came into Xiaotao’s life. Every month, Uncle Long pays a visit to Xiaotao’s home and hands over the subsidy to him. Sometimes, he would stay longer to play games with Xiaotao or drive him around in Qingshen County. Xiaotao was so reluctant to hang out with Uncle Long at first, but as Long visited more and more, Xiaotao started to open up to him and even look forward to meeting him.

At the same time, the Army conducted a prisoner visitation and support activity called ‘Bring Hope to Reunion’. Xiaotao and his grandmother signed up right away. Xiaotao hadn’t seen his dad for years and he couldn’t even recall what his father looks like. On the special day of visit, Uncle Long gave Xiaotao and his grandma a ride to the jail. Xiaotao prepared so many things that he wanted to share with his dad, but the second he saw his dad, he couldn’t speak a word but cry, so were his father and grandma. The tears spoke for themselves.

The Project also offers a training activity for guardians. Grandma joined these training sessions as well. She could not catch every detail in the classes, but she learnt ways to communicate and get along better with Xiaotao.

‘And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.’ (Colossians 3:14)

Go to Top

我们的故事

主页>爱心带来生命转变

爱心带来生命转变

让孩子健康快乐成长似是理所当然的事,但在内地有学童因为家境较困难,甚或因为种种原因,以至成长阶段父母不在身边,他们都承受着经济及情绪方面的压力。救世军在当地提供资助和推行项目,帮助他们无顾虑地读书升学,并透过义工探访和活动纾解他们的压抑及情绪。

助学子圆大学梦
救世军在云南省德宏州陇川县开展贫困助学活动已有近20年,在这期间,成百上千的当地学子得到救世军资助并顺利完成学业,进而用知识改变他们的人生,让他们充满希望地去创造未来;这些学子也从救世军的善举中感悟到感恩之心,将爱心与奉献精神传递下去,小杨同学就是一个例子。

小杨同学来自陇川县最高寒的山区王子树乡邦东村,家庭经济困难,加上其父因在工作中不慎受伤,住院治疗了一个多月。家庭经济情况因父亲的意外更是雪上加霜,只有靠妈妈一人工作来支撑家庭生计。小杨和弟弟上学的学费和生活费只能靠全家人省吃俭用或东拼西凑地借款而得。

小杨从小学习用功、有吃苦耐劳精神,在高中阶段因学习成绩优秀一直获得救世军资助的高中奖学金,2021年他如愿以偿地考入了云南农业大学,并获得本军应届高中毕业生的奖学金3000元,及时帮他解决了上学路费和部分生活费的困难,让他圆了大学梦。

因一直受到救世军捐资助学的帮助,小杨对社会和爱心人士心怀感激,表示将在未来的人生道路上不断地努力学习,增加知识才干,做一个对国家、社会有用的人才,更好地报答关心过他的各位爱心人士。

小涛与龙叔叔的故事
小涛今年12岁,刚上初一。爸爸在他8岁时就入狱服刑,妈妈也因承受不了生活的压力而离开了,从此小涛与祖父母相依为命。家里主要依靠爷爷打散工的收入、老兵补贴、低保金维持基本生活,日子过得很是困窘。小涛从小很自卑,随着年龄的增长,他也渐渐变得沉默。在祖父母眼里,他进入了叛逆期,因为代沟,也因为自己没文化,祖父母对孙子的变化既担心又束手无策。

随着救世军支持「青神县困境儿童帮扶项目(二期)」义工龙叔叔一行的到来,这灰暗的一切渐渐发生了改变。每个月,龙叔叔都会来到小涛家里探访及送上生活资助金,有时还和小涛一起玩游戏或开车带小涛去县城玩耍。随着龙叔叔走入小涛家的次数增加,小涛从最开始的沉默排斥,渐渐变得接受和期待。

项目又精心协调组织「等你,团聚应可期」的监舍探访活动,小涛和祖母第一个报名参加,他已经几年没有探望过爸爸,都快记不起爸爸的样子了。探监那天,又是龙叔叔开车来接送小涛和祖母。探监的现场,小涛本准备了很多话想跟爸爸说,但是未语泪先流,祖母先哭,小涛和爸爸也随之泪流不止。

项目还设计了组织监护人的培训活动,小涛的祖母也报名参加,虽然很多培训内容听得不太懂,但收获也很多,特别是隔代教育及如何与孙子正确相处方面,祖母听得特别认真,也在学习后改变了一些教育方法,与孙子的沟通也更加顺畅了。

「除此以外,还要穿上爱心,因为爱心是贯穿全德的。」(歌罗西书3章14节,[和合本修订版])

Go to Top