Our Stories

Home>Promoting social inclusion

Promoting social inclusion

In an activity room at The Salvation Army Yaumatei Integrated Service for Young People, a group of children are doing Pastel Nagomi Art that helps to express their feelings and they have a jovial time drawing and playing around. These children are labelled ‘ethnic minorities’, or more commonly ‘South Asian’, by the mainstream society in Hong Kong, simply because of their different appearances, skin colors and ethnic backgrounds.

Ethnic minorities in Hong Kong

Aged between 10 to 12, Manish, Afifa, Sabah, Prames, Buddha and Debta are raised in Hong Kong and speak fluent Cantonese. Nevertheless, because their parents are Nepalese, Indian or Pakistani, and they look different from most people in Hong Kong and they are often labelled as ‘ethnic minorities’ or ‘South Asian’. ‘“Ethnic minorities” are referring to people like us,’ said Manish.

According to the demographics of Hong Kong in 2016, approximately 80,000 people of ethnic groups are South Asian, consisting mainly of Indian, Nepalese and Pakistani. Although many ethnic minorities people are born and raised in Hong Kong and speak fluent Cantonese, the mainstream society still holds a different view on them. They are not very good at reading and writing Chinese, and sometimes they may get teased by their classmates because of their skin colours. Afifa shared her experience, ‘Once when Manish and I were going home by MTR, a lady whom we didn’t know pointed at us, saying we were dirty as she thought we don’t clean ourselves nor wash our hands.’ Manish added, ‘She didn’t even know us. How could she say we are dirty? Anyone who walks on the street will get dusty somehow. Everyone’s just the same. We decided to ignore her and not to give her any response.’

We are all the same

These children, just like we all/all of us, are concerned about things happening in Hong Kong and would walk into the community. Led by Ms Che, social worker from The Salvation Army Yaumatei Integrated Service for Young People, they volunteered to pick up litter on Tung Lung Island, had the cardboard picking-up experience in Yaumatei, and conducted interviews with electioneering team members of Legislative Council by-election candidates. Through these activities, they get in touch with the community and get a better understanding of social issues in Hong Kong. These children also keep abreast of the recent social controversies – they discuss the issues and are saddened by some scenes on the news clips. Trying to learn more about the current situation, they also went out, accompanied by social workers, to see for themselves what happens around.

Who would have thought that these ethnic minority children, who felt alienated in the city a few years ago, would become so enthusiastic about Hong Kong? ‘These children were born and raised in Hong Kong, but at the beginning they didn’t consider themselves Hongkongers. They were reluctant to speak as they were not good in Chinese. Through the services of our Centre, Chinese training and identity recognition activities, they have a better understanding about Hong Kong and develop a sense of belonging to the city. Now they are willing to take the initiative to pay attention to things about Hong Kong, acknowledging that they have the same obligations and rights like others. For example, after Typhoon Mangkhut ripped through Hong Kong last year, they suggested going out to clear up the streets. I was deeply touched by this,’ said Ms Che.

These children regard themselves as true Hongkongers. They love the city, they like the food here, they like McDonald’s and they like the country parks. They hope Hong Kong will continue to be a nice place with beautiful nature environment. ‘We hope people in Hong Kong will stop damaging the environment, and that they will stop discriminating us, because we are just the same as them. We hope that together we can safeguard the things that we have in Hong Kong, making it a better place.’

Ethnic minorities demographics

According to the 2016 Population By-census of Hong Kong, approximately 92% of the population is Chinese (ethnically speaking, Han Chinese). About 584,383 people, accounting for about 8% of the population, identified themselves as non-Chinese, among which they are mainly Indians, Pakistanis and Nepalese, whose population has increased by over 70% over the past 10 years. Today, many ethnic minorities people are born and raised in Hong Kong and speak fluent Cantonese. However, they are still given the labels of ‘ethnic minorities’ or ‘South Asian’ and are not getting enough support from the community.

The Salvation Army support services

The Salvation Army Yaumatei Integrated Service for Young People and Tuen Mun East Integrated Service for Young People provide assistance to the ethnic minorities. The former focuses on growth and counselling, fostering a sense of belonging to Hong Kong among the ethnic minority group and helping them adapt the life in Hong Kong. The Centre offers trainings on Cantonese and Chinese, guiding them to better understand the Hong Kong society and explore with them their personal and social identities. Tuen Mun East Integrated Service for Young People focuses on community education. By exploring and developing the talents of ethnic minority teenagers and providing them with performance opportunities, the Service facilitates their inclusion in the community and allows opportunities for community to better understand of them. Life planning service is also provided to help them find their way ahead.

Go to Top

我们的故事

主页>共倡社会共融

共倡社会共融

在救世军油麻地青少年综合服务中心的一个活动室中,一班小朋友正在画和谐粉彩画,抒发自己的心情,画画之余还互相「打闹」、嬉戏,气氛融洽。这班小朋友被香港主流社会标签为「少数族裔」,更普遍的是「南亚裔」,只因为他们的外观、肤色及所属族群跟香港主流社会的人不同。

少数族裔在香港

Manish、Afifa、Sabah、Prames、Buddha及Debta的年龄介乎10至12岁,虽然从小在香港长大,说流利的广东话,但因为他们的父母是尼泊尔人、印尼人或巴基斯坦人,外表上与香港主流社会的人不同,所以他们很多时被挂上「少数族裔」、「南亚裔」的标签。 「『少数族裔』就是指我们这种人。」Manish说。

根据2016年香港人口统计,香港约有8万名少数族裔是属南亚裔人士,主要为印度、尼泊尔及巴基斯坦。虽然很多少数族裔的小朋友都是在香港出生及成长,但主流社会却对他们有另一套看法。他们的中文书写能力不好,有时会被同学取笑皮肤黑。 Afifa更分享了一个经历:「有一次我跟Manish坐地铁回家时,有位不认识的姨姨指着我们喊脏,觉得我们没有洗澡、没有洗手。」Manish补充道:「那位姨姨根本不认识我们,又怎可以说我们脏呢?任谁到街上走一圈,也会沾满尘埃,大家是一样的。我们最后选择不给任何反应,不理她了。」

你我都一样

这班小朋友同样关心香港发生的大小事,更会走进社区。在救世军油麻地青少年综合服务中心社工车姑娘的带领下,他们到东龙岛做义工清理垃圾;到油麻地体验拾纸皮;访问立法会补选候选人的助选团等,透过不同活动走进社区,深入认识香港议题。好像近期发生的社会争议,这班小朋友也会讨论,对新闻片段所呈现的画面感到痛心,更在社工陪同下走到街上,了解社会状况。

谁又会想到对香港这么热心的少数族裔小朋友,在两、三年前竟然觉得对香港陌生。 「这班小朋友最初觉得自己就算是在香港出生、长大,都不会认为自己是香港人,也碍于中文不灵光,而不肯开口说话。我们透过中心的服务、中文训练及身份认同等活动,让他们多了解香港,培养对香港的归属感。现在,他们会主动留意香港的事情,觉得自己在这个地方有义务、有权利去做不同事情。好像去年台风山竹袭港,风暴过后主动提出要到街上帮忙清理,让我十分感动。」车姑娘说。

这班小朋友认为自己是个不折不扣的香港人,喜欢香港这个地方,喜欢香港的食物、喜欢吃McDonald,喜欢郊外公园等。他们期盼香港继续成为一个好地方,有美丽的自然环境。 「我们希望香港人别再破坏环境,希望他们别再歧视我们,因为大家都是一样的。我们希望能一起保护香港现在所拥有的,让这个地方变得更美好。」

少数族裔人口统计

根据2016年的香港人口统计,约92%的人口都是华裔人士(种族属汉族华人),约有584,383人报称为非华裔人士,这类人士约占人口的8%,当中以印度、尼泊尔及巴基斯坦为主,过去十年人口增长已超过70%。时至今天,不少少数族裔在香港出生及长大,操得一口流利广东话,却依然要被挂上「少数族裔」、「南亚裔」的标签,得到的社区支援依旧不足。

救世军支援服务

救世军油麻地青少年综合服务及屯门东青少年综合服务提供少数族裔支援。其中,前者着重成长辅导,集中提高少数族裔对香港的归属感,帮助他们适应香港的生活,包括提供广东话及中文的训练,带他们深入认识香港社区、探讨自我及身份认同等。屯门东青少年综合服务着重提供社区教育,以发掘及发展少数族裔的才能,并提供表演机会,助他们融入社区之余,也让社区更认识他们,同时亦提供生涯规划服务,助他们寻找出路。

Go to Top