Our Stories

Home>Dancing nurtures confidence and sense of achievement

Dancing nurtures confidence and sense of achievement

After school, a group of primary school students practise dancing in the dancing room of The Salvation Army Tin Ka Ping School. Divided into two groups, Lower Primary Dance Group (LPDG) and Upper Primary Dance Group (UPDG), the students are doing joyful Chinese dance in their gorgeous costumes. If you look carefully, you will notice these groups, unlike the usual all-girl dance groups, consist of both boys and girls.

Strive for perfection

On the day of the interview, members of both LPDG and UPDG were busy rehearsing for the upcoming Sha Tin District Dance Competition, where the LPDG was to perform an energetic Jingpo dance, and the UPDG an elegant Yi dance. These two dances are so choreographed that they demand high levels of cooperation and understanding among the dancers. ‘Because it’s a large-scale dance that we all have to work together, stage positioning and coordination is challenging. We need to make room for one another as we move around and be in the right position at the right timing, all these require tacit connection among dancers, so now we will practise and practise so as to achieve flawless cooperation among us,’ four members of the UPDG, Alyssia Lee, Zoe Chan, Yuki Chung and Castor Wong, agreed.

Moreover, Chinese dance involves many highly difficult moves that take time to practise, such as sweeping turns and windmills. These four members not only rehearse for the dance at school, but they also practice each move at home by breaking it down to details. Yuki Chung even asks her parents to watch her dance and give her feedbacks, ‘If there’s any move I didn’t do well during the practice, I’ll ask my parents to watch me do it once more at home and give me some comments. Very often they remind me to smile more when I dance, which is helpful as in the past I was arranged to dance upstage because I lacked smile or facial expression.’

A mixed-gender dance group

It is common to think that mainly girls would be participating in traditional dances like Chinese dance, and boys will instantly draw more attention when they join the group. Castor Wong said, ‘I was invited by our teacher Ms Chan to join the dance group when I was in Primary 2. At that time, few boys would do Chinese dance, so I wanted to challenge myself in that.’ Both boy and girl members of the groups have a great time together even during their practices. They practice seriously, but they also play hard and joke around with each other without any embarrassment.

Ms Chan admits that one of the biggest characteristics of The Salvation Army Tin Ka Ping School dance groups is their mixed gender composition. ‘Many Chinese dance repertoires are themed on joyful festivities or abundant harvest, and the music is usually rather lively and vigorous. That’s why we need both boys and girls in the group to deliver an energetic performance. It also allows more variety to the dance. Therefore, I’ll recruit any students I find suitable. Sometimes, some boys may think doing Chinese dance is just too feminine and I’ll tell them boys can also do handsome and bold moves, and they will look dashing in costumes.’

Benefited from dancing and stage performances

Parents with traditional perceptions may think learning traditional dance may make boys become ‘sissy’ – Has it been a hindrance for recruiting boy members to the dance groups? Not from Ms Chan’s observation. In fact, she thinks parents are in general supportive of the idea, ‘Our recruitment is usually arranged some time after the School Open Day, by the time many parents would have seen our performances and impressed by the handsome moves our boy dancers can do, such as sweeping turns and wind-and-fire wheels. That’s why they are fine with their kids joining us.’ Understandably, many boys thought they would have to do rather feminine moves when Ms Chan first invited them to join the groups. ‘I will explain to them it is not so actually. Later, after taking part in a competition, very often they’ll have a boost of confidence and become more interested in and devoted to dancing.’

Thankfully, the dance groups have been widely supported since they were established. They have won numerous awards over the years and performed in Sha Tin Town Hall from time to time. Ms Chan remembered that she was more concern about winning in the first few years, but now she would rather see students gaining confidence and widening their horizons from dancing and performing on stage. ‘After performing on stage, many students who used to be shy have become bolder and confident. The dance groups’ practice is also a training for the body, concentration and memory.’

Go to Top

我们的故事

主页>舞出自信与成就

舞出自信与成就

每逢下课后,一班小学生在救世军田家炳学校的舞蹈室排练。他们分成两组 – 低年级舞蹈组(低舞组)及高年级舞蹈组(高舞组),穿着华丽的衣服,跳着喜气洋洋的中国舞。细心留意,会发现这班舞蹈组成员有男有女,与一般学校传统的全女班不同。

反覆练习 力求完美

访问当日,低舞组及高舞组的成员正积极地为即将举行的沙田区舞蹈比赛作准备。低舞组跳朝气勃勃的景颇族舞蹈;而高舞组则跳华丽的彝族舞。两支舞蹈的编排皆要求成员高度配合,默契十足。 「因为是与同学合作的大型舞蹈,所以在走位及配合上会有困难,需要互相迁就,在走位上要预留空间及『度位』,很讲求默契。这时候,我们会多加练习,务求彼此能准确无误地互相配合。」高舞组的四位成员李海悠、陈思睿、钟苑棋及王元哲不约而同道。

此外,中国舞蹈有很多高难度动作,如扫膛腿、翻身等,均要不少时间去练习。四位成员除了在学校排舞外,也会在家中练习动作,再反覆检视及练习每一个舞蹈细节。钟苑棋更会找父母看她跳一遍,再让他们给意见:「练习时做不好的地方,我会回家跳一次给父母看,让他们给意见。很多时,他们会提醒我跳时要多点笑容,以前也曾经因为较少笑容或表情不到位而被安排到较后位置跳。」

舞蹈组成员有男有女

很多人认为传统舞蹈,尤其是中国舞,较多是女孩子参与,所以舞蹈组的男成员便特别耀眼。王元哲说:「我是受陈老师邀请,于二年级时加入舞蹈组的。当时好少男生跳中国舞,所以想挑战一下自己。」就算是一起练习,男女成员打成一片,一起认真排练之余,有时更会互相开玩笑,没有一点尴尬。

陈老师坦言,救世军田家炳学校舞蹈组的其中一大特色是成员有女有男:「不少中国舞都是以喜庆、丰收等为主题,音乐比较热闹及有气势,故需要有男有女,才能跳出力量,也可以做更多的舞蹈变化。所以,我只要见到适合的学生,就会招募。有时,有些男孩子会觉得跳中国舞特别娇柔,我会告诉他们,其实男成员跳的动作也可以很潇洒豪迈,衣服也很帅气。」

从舞蹈及舞台得益

传统观念下,家长或会觉得学习传统舞蹈会让儿子变得很「娘」,这会否对舞蹈组招收成员产生阻力?以陈老师所见,普遍家长是支持的:「我们的招募多数安排在学校开放日后,而很多家长都会看过我们的演出,知道男成员也会跳出如扫堂腿、风火轮等帅气动作,所以他们都很欣赏我们舞蹈组的表演,不会反对孩子加入。」此外,她发现很多男成员最初被邀请加入时,可能会怕要做较女性化的动作。 「我也会解释给他们。而且,很多时他们在比赛后,会建立自信及加深兴趣,更投入于排练。」

犹幸舞蹈组成立至今,一直获得不少支持,也屡获奖项,更不时于沙田大会堂表演。陈老师记起成立舞蹈组首数年,曾着紧要于比赛夺奖,现在反而希望学生能从跳舞及舞台中培训出自信,及增广见闻。 「好多以前比较『惊青』的学生自从踏过舞台后,变得大胆、有自信,而且在舞蹈组排练,也能训练手脚、专注力及记忆力等。」

Go to Top