Soar high

Home>Soar high

Soar high

‘Welcome to the Salvation Army Family Store.’ Whenever there is someone walking in the Tuen Mun Family Store, Ka-man will greet them cordially. She has been serving in the store for a long time, and despite mild intellectual disability and speech impediment, everyone in the store thinks that she is a competent colleague with perfect working attitude. Customers find it so warm and welcoming when they are greeted by her. This year (2022), she was recognised by Vocational Training Council as one of the best employees of the year. Her colleagues, who have been supporting her and witnessing how she overcame her limitations and achieved growth, were all moved to see that her efforts paid off.

Overcoming the anxiety of greeting customers

8 years ago, Ka-man finished her training in a vocational training center of other organization and became a trainee of Tuen Mun Family Store. Joyce Ho, Marketing and Development Manager of The Army’s Social Services Department, remembered that in the job interview Ka-man was very shy because she was not good at expressing herself. Now Ka-man actively handles store duties and she always greets customers cordially; her cheerful “welcomes” enliven the atmosphere of the store. Ling, Assistant Shop Supervisor of the Family Store and a long-time colleague of Ka-man, said that whenever Ka-man takes leave, the store will become quieter, and some customers could even ask if she is on leave.

Regarding how Ka-man overcame her communication difficulties, Ling said that although Ka-man was too timid to answer customer inquiries at the beginning, she was encouraged and supported by other colleagues to communicate more with people. Ling assigned different job duties for Ka-man to try, hoping she could build up confidence in her own ability and find the way to bring her strengths into full play. ‘Her transformation relied on her own efforts. The encouragement of colleagues gave her courage to try, and by trying more she has found the store duties less intimidating.’ Nowadays, customer communication has become Ka-man’s strong point, ‘You can feel the happiness in her greetings.’

Every child is unique and gifted

Among all the Family Stores, Tuen Mun and Shatin stores are special stores ran by Social Services Department with approximately 20 disabled employees, including part-time store assistants of persons with autism, intellectual disability or history of mental illness and trainees. Trainees in the stores are referred by the Rehabilitation Services under Social Services of The Army or by other organizations, followed up by social workers. Trainees will receive training on store duties, and have the chance to become a part-time store assistant if their performance is good.

Joyce added that during the training period the Family Store staff will evaluate the performance of disabled employees, observe what they are good at and provide trainings accordingly. ‘We give a lot of thoughts on job arrangement. We do not want to mould them into one certain type, and there is no competition of who works better. We just hope that they can express their strengths in positions that suit them best.’ Store staff encourage disabled employees and provide them opportunities to try; Ka Man successfully overcome difficulties with her perseverance, and her improvement is well recognized. Joyce thinks that every child is very gifted, ‘we should appreciate them and provide them chances to shine.’

The outstanding performance of Ka-man is the proof of her abilities. Joyce pointed out that people with disabilities can perform just as well as those without, or even better, and she hope the training programme can increase social awareness on this. “It is not out of sympathy that we hire them; we want to show people that these trainees are capable.”

Not just a job but a way of gaining confidence

After these years, Ka Man has become an experienced teammate of the store. She is capable of doing most of the job duties, and she substitutes for other colleagues if they are not available. She also assists in the training of other new disabled employees. This year, Ka Man received a certificate of appreciation from Vocational Training Council in a Recognition Programme for Distinguished Disabled Employees for her distinguished performance. Ling, who has been in the workplace with Ka Man over the years, was moved to see Ka Man’s achievement being recognized. “I am glad we can help them and witness their growth over the years. Their achievements are the fruits of their efforts.”

Ka-man has transformed from a shy little girl to a Family Store assistant of her own. Joyce hoped that trainees can gain confidence from the programme, not just simply being an employee in the store. ‘They are very gifted, just that we might not see in the past. We want to see them to build the confidence that they deserve.’ Soon there will be full-time posts for people with disabilities available in Family Stores. “We hope that this can encourage other corporates to offer opportunities for their disabled employees to express their talents on jobs. This is our mission as a social enterprise.”

Go to Top

伴你高飛

主頁>伴你高飛

伴你高飛

「歡迎光臨救世軍。」每當有人走進救世軍屯門家品店,嘉敏都會主動熱情歡迎顧客。服務多年的嘉敏雖是輕度智障及有語言障礙,但她在同事眼中,是一名稱職、工作態度一流的好員工,她的一句歡迎光臨更讓「熟客」倍感親切。她更於今年(2022年)獲職業訓練局嘉許為優秀殘疾員工,在旁協助她的同事一直見證她克服自身困難、不斷進步,她的努力無不讓他們感動。

克服「歡迎光臨」背後的困難

嘉敏約8年前於其他團體的職業訓練中心畢業,加入屯門家品店成為實習學員。救世軍社會服務部市場及業務發展經理何美儀(Joyce)還記得當年與嘉敏面試時,嘉敏因自身表達能力欠佳而十分害羞。現時的她除了積極處理店務外,也會熱情地招呼顧客,一聲聲的「歡迎光臨」令她成為店內的開心果。跟嘉敏合作多年的家品店副店長Ling說,每當嘉敏休假不在的時候,店舖會變得較冷清,有顧客還會詢問店員她是不是休假了。

究竟嘉敏是如何克服困難, Ling指嘉敏初時不敢解答顧客問題,但她與同事在旁鼓勵她如何跟人溝通,透過委派不同工作為她建立信心,希望嘉敏可以發揮到自己的優點,「都要靠她自己努力,同事在後面推動,讓她放膽去做,嘗試得多就不會怕。」現時跟客人溝通已成為嘉敏的強項,「她說句歡迎光臨都好開心。」

每個孩子都是獨當一面

眾多救世軍家品店中,屯門及沙田店是由社會服務部營運的特約店,現時有約20名殘疾人士,包括自閉症患者、智障人士、精神復康者任兼職店員及實習學員。實習學員經救世軍社會服務復康單位或不同團體轉介,並由社工跟進。他們會接受店務細項工作培訓,表現優秀則有機會成為兼職店務員。

Joyce補充說,家品店職員會在培訓過程中評估殘疾員工的表現,觀察其長處及提供相應訓練,「花心思安排分工,不是要他們一模一樣,也不是比較誰更能幹,只是希望每人的優點可放在適當的位置」,職員亦會給予殘疾員工機會與鼓勵,加上嘉敏充滿毅力克服困難,所以進步有目共睹。她認為每個孩子都有很好的天份,「我們要懂得欣賞之餘,也要提供機會讓他們發揮。」

嘉敏優秀的表現證明了她的能力,Joyce指殘疾人士的能力是有機會與平常人一樣、甚至更加好,她希望透過培訓可讓社會看到這點,「我們聘請他們不是因為我們特別好,只是希望告訴別人他們都做得到。」

不是虛耗光陰 而是尋找自信

經過多年成長,嘉敏已成為店內大師姐,在店內勝任大部分工作,若有同事臨時不能上班,她都願意即時頂替協助教導其他新晉殘疾員工工作。 今年,嘉敏更獲職業訓練局頒發嘉許狀,成為「展程優秀殘疾僱員嘉許計劃」的優秀員工。見到嘉敏得到別人肯定,令與她相處多年的Ling覺得感動,「開心幫到他們,見到他們慢慢一年年成長,成功都要靠自己付出。」

今日嘉敏已由之前害羞的女孩,變成家品店內獨當一面的店員。Joyce希望學員可以建立自信,不只是在工作付出時間,「他們很叻,只是我們以往看不見,更希望見到的是他們建立到自信。」救世軍將在家品店開設為殘疾人士而設的全職員工職位,「希望讓其他公司都可讓殘疾人士僱員發揮他們的工作才能,這是作為社企的使命。」

Go to Top