Our Stories

Home>People-oriented holistic education builds loving culture

People-oriented holistic education builds loving culture

School is not just a building but a cradle that educates students, supports teachers and inspires parents. The mission of a school is not just passing knowledge but cultivating students in way that suit them best. As an educator with a career of over 35 years, the principal of The Salvation Army Centaline Charity Fund Queen’s Hill School (Queen’s Hill School) Mr Daniel Lo Yiu-kei believes strongly that a school should connect with teachers, students and parents with love and respect, and it is the role of a school to nurture student growth and teach them to love themselves and others. Over all these years, he has put these ideas on education in his work in The Salvation Army schools.

Supporting every student

Over the course of his long career, Principal Lo had participated in the start-up of two schools, and one of them was The Salvation Army Lam Butt Chung Memorial School (Lam Butt Chung School) in Tung Chung. In those days, most students in Tung Chung were from grassroots families, so the first thing the school did was arranging support for each student’s basic needs. Lo, who acted as the discipline officer at that time, recalled, ‘We reached for different sources to get resources and subsidies for students, and we did home visits. We also gradually upgraded the school facilities, trying to provide various learning opportunities for our students.’

Every student is unique and Principal Lo has guided them using various approaches. ‘In those days, I shared with students bible stories and life lessons in every morning assembly and recess through broadcasting, reminding them that only if they finish small things well they can achieve big things. If there were students being good in class, I would take a note of their names; I appreciated and recognised our students whenever they did well, even for small things like wearing uniforms tidily. Over time it built up students’ awareness to motivate themselves.’

Love and care that stay forever

Yip Man-wa, who is now a solicitor in an international law firm, joined P.4 class of Lam Butt Chung School as one of the first group of students and she has kept in contact with Principal Lo since her graduation. In her two-year studies, the school has given her great support in many ways. ‘My family environment was rather bad. My parents are not well educated and worked all day till the night. The school understood our financial difficulties, and they arranged extra-curricular activities, subsidies and travelling allowance for us.  The young me did not think it was something special, not until when I went to secondary school I realised such help was not something that can be taken for granted.’

‘I was not old enough to understand, but we could always feel the sincere care given by the teachers,’ she continued. “They recognised students who got good grades and did well at sports, and they also respect the naughty ones. Every day Mr Lo greeted us at the front gate, said hi to us one by one when we lined up before and after classes. He would tell us to keep away from the traffic and be aware of the bugs and mosquitos in bushes. His thoughtful words adding up bit by bit and have anchored in my heart. All these episodes may seem weightless but they are treasure for students like me who are growing and need care most. It’s not easy for a school to nurture students who excel, but what’s even more challenging is for the students to feel loved. With Mr Lo and the other teachers’ endeavours, Lam Butt Chung School has achieved these goals.’

Multifaceted approach to bring loving culture to the community

Later, Principal Lo advocated a people-oriented approach in Lam Butt Chung School, focusing on building the characters and virtues of both students and teachers thought developing and nurturing their qualities and personality. He then brought the same education idea to the newly opened Queen’s Hill School. Attaching great value to people-oriented and positive education, the new school works on discovering and nurturing students’ strengths, building their resilience in adversity and encouraging personal growth, and nurturing good citizens dedicated to ‘Life Engagement, Pro-active Learners, Environmental Betterment and Community Enrichment’. The regular school curriculum, combining with Christianity-based spiritual education, guide students to have a loving attitude towards themselves and others. Pastor and school join hands together to support students, parents and school staff with spiritual, emotional and daily life needs.

Principal Lo shared his vision on the future development of Queen’s Hill School. ‘The top priority for now is to work with our teachers and parents so that we can have a good foundation. In the coming two years, we will provide positive education training across all our teaching staff and give them opportunity to develop their strengths. For parents, we will set up a ‘parenting workshop’ with lectures and trainings on disciplining and positive education, sharing the techniques of parenting. If our teachers and parents are not well prepared to work with us together, how can we set good role models for the students and help them to build their characters?’ Pastor of the school cares not only for teachers and students, he also joins the parenting workshop and Parent-Teacher Association to provide pastoral care for parents. Christianity theme can be found many places in the school – the main hall was designed with references to a church and there is a small stained glass chapel which serves as the venue for school activities, PTA meeting and spiritual education sessions.

Regardless of Queen’s Hill being a newly developed community full of challenges, Principal Lo is confident that the new school can grow well and set firmly in the community as a spot that spreads love and positivity. ‘Education is an important and influential task. I deeply believe that, if we do our work with heart, this new school can bring holistic development to our students. We look forward to passing the moral ‘Heart to God, Hand to Man.’ to all our students, parents and teachers, creating an environment that encourages both self-love and selfless love for others. It is more blessed to give than to receive, together we can create a momentum and spread love to everyone.’

To learn more and support our educational services, please click: https://salvationarmy.org.hk/fund_raising/the-salvation-army-queens-hill-school/?lang=en

More stories: https://salvationarmy.org.hk/information-centre/publications/army-scene/

Go to Top

我們的故事

主頁>以人為本 全人教育澤社群

以人為本 全人教育澤社群

學校不僅是一幢建築物,更是教育學生、支援老師及啟發家長的搖籃。在學校工作上,除了知識的教導外,以人為本才至為重要。從事教育工作達三十五年之久、現任救世軍中原慈善基金皇后山學校(下稱皇后山學校)校長的勞耀基一直堅信關愛與尊重師生及家長,培育學生發展及學懂愛人愛己,才是學校應該做的工作,這些信念可從他於救世軍學校的工作略見一斑。

支援每一個學生

勞校長經歷兩次新校開辦。2001年,位於東涌的救世軍林拔中紀念學校(下稱林拔中學校)開校。當年大部份於東涌居住的均是基層的家庭,有見及此,學校首先做的,是關顧每個學生的需要。當時身為訓育主任的勞校長憶述:「我們為學生張羅各種物資、津貼;又會進行家庭探訪,並逐步改善學校設施,務求為學生提供各種學習機會。」

面對每個獨特的學生,勞校長也特別運用一些小技巧去教導他們:「那時我每個早會、小息都會透過廣播向學生分享聖經故事及日常小道理,提醒他們小事做好,才能做好大事。上課時我會記下乖學生的名字,有時他們做好如校服穿著整齊這種小事情,我均會稱讚,久而久之,學生便會自覺做好自己。」

愛護之情  點滴在心頭

葉敏華是林拔中學校開校時的首屆四年級學生,現於國際律師事務所擔任律師。她畢業後一直與勞校長保持聯絡。林拔中學校在她短短兩年的學習中,給予她無微不至的照顧:「小時我的家庭環境差,父母教育水平不高,因工作早出晚歸。學校了解我們有經濟困難,會為我們安排課外活動、津貼及交通補貼等。小時候的我以為這些幫助是理所當然的,但離開林拔中學校後,才發現這些不是必然的。」

她續說:「那時我年紀雖小,卻能感受到老師真誠的關心。他們會稱讚成績好的學生,會大力表揚運動出色的學生,但同時也會尊重頑皮的學生。當時的勞主任每天會在校門迎接我們,在我們排隊上課室、下課時,又會逐個打招呼。在等候來往臨時校舍的校巴時,他會溫馨提醒我們不要站近馬路邊,小心花草有蚊蟲等。一字一句、一點一滴累積下來,都在我心中變得有份量。這些種種看似平常的舉動,對正在成長、需要關懷的我們,卻很珍貴。一所學校要培養出色的學生固然難,但更難的是讓學生感受到愛。在勞主任和一眾老師的努力下,林拔中學校兩件事都做到了。」

多管齊下   讓新校惠澤皇后山社區

後來,勞校長在校內推動以人為本,透過著重發掘、培育師生的優點及個人特質,建立他們的美善品格。這些教育理念亦被帶到剛於新學年開辦的皇后山學校。新校加強以人為本及正向教育,發掘及栽培學生的長處,訓練他們的抗逆力及個人成長,培養他們成為「愛生命、好學習、護環境、澤社區」的好公民;設立靈育課程,以基督教教育為基礎並配合正規校本課程,培育學生愛人愛己的生活態度;校牧與校方共同扶助心靈、情緒及生活上有需要的學生、家長及教職員。

對於皇后山學校,勞校長有這樣的目標:「現時首要做的事是從老師及家長入手,訓練老師及家長素質,打好學校基礎,故學校於未來兩年將為學校上下提供正向教育培訓,並提供機會讓他們發展自己所長。家長層面上,學校會成立家長學堂,為家長提供一些與管教及正向教育相關的講座培訓,分享管教子女技巧。如老師、家長的素質都未預備好,未能配合學校時,如何能為學生提供好的榜樣,成就他們的為人?」而牧養部份,校牧除了關顧師生外,也會與學校合力推動家長學堂及家教會方面的工作,藉此牧養關顧家長的需要。此外,學校處處都滲透基督教元素,如禮堂參考了教堂造型,而學校也建設一個鋪設採光落地彩色玻璃的小教堂,作學校活動、家教會會議及靈育學習之用等。

面對皇后山這個新發展又充滿挑戰的社區,勞校長坦言有信心皇后山學校未來能植根於該區,向社區傳遞愛與正能量:「教育從來任重道遠,我深信只要我們做好我們的工作,新校定能讓學生得到全人發展,長遠希望無論是學生、家長及老師都能『心向神 手助人』,能愛己之餘,也能以『施比受更有福』的精神去服務他人,以生命影響生命,惠澤每一個人。」

欲了解更多及支持我們的教育工作,請見:https://salvationarmy.org.hk/fund_raising/%e7%9a%87%e5%90%8e%e5%b1%b1%e5%ad%b8%e6%a0%a1/

更多故事:https://salvationarmy.org.hk/information-centre/publications/army-scene/

Go to Top