Our Stories

Home>My Another Home

My Another Home

‘It is not easy to describe my feelings towards the Corps (Church), because it has always been a part of my life.’ In 1956, the young Law So-fong moved to Chuk Yuen resettlement area with her family after their home experienced typhoon and fire. The Salvation Army Chuk Yuen Corps reached the Law’s family while doing relief work in the area, and it was the beginning of the lifelong connection between So-fong and the Corps. Not only in the Corps So-fong learnt about God, but also with the Corps she created many treasured moments and memories.

Growing up in the Corps

When So-fong, a soldier of William Booth Corps, looked back, she found her life filling with memories with the Corps. Since she was young, the officers of Chuk Yuen Corps have been very kind to her family; when the family was short of food, the officers even bought food at own expense for them. In addition, the Corps was the place where the young So-fong would go to take refuge whenever there was typhoon and the family feared their squatter hut would be damaged. At that time, So-fong went to the Corps with her mother and attended Sunday School, but as she did not know much about God, she only experienced the presence of God for the first time when she was in P.6. ‘My father just passed away at that time, and soon after my mother’s health suddenly made a bad turn, her weight dropped drastically from 120 pounds to 60 pounds. One day, after visiting her in the hospital, on the way home when I was waiting for a signal to cross a road, and I felt a surge of fear. I looked up to the sky and said, ‘God, I already lost my father, I do not want to be an orphan that soon, please cure my mother.’ Later, my mother recovered gradually and her weight returned to normal. I realised God really listens!’

The Corps has been with So-fong all her life. From becoming Junior Soldiers, joining the youth fellowship and songster brigade, distributing leaflets with other brothers and sisters on Lung Cheung Road, inviting passers-by to evangelical meetings, amalgamation of Chuk Yuen Corps and Tsz Wan Shan Corps and setting up of William Booth Corps, serve in the church… all these are important memories for her. In the Corps she has built up faith and connection with God, so she grew up with an optimistic attitude, ## for she knows she can seek God when she faces difficulties in daily life or at work (as a social worker). The caring from Corps members has also been her great source of support over the years.

Walking with cancer

So-fong was diagnosed with breast cancer while she was just about to retire after decades of busy work. When doctor brought her the bad news, her reaction was so calm that it surprised the doctor. She was calm because she knows life is in good hands with God. After knowing the news, Major Alice Tam, Corps Officer of William Booth Corps, has stayed in touch with So-fong closely and offered her consolation. To treat the cancer, So-fong first received targeted therapy, then chemotherapy and later electrotherapy. During chemotherapy, due to low immunity level and medicine effects So-fong had many side effects such as diarrhoea, itching skin and skin irritation, and the serious oedema in her left arm and tense shoulder muscles confined her movements so much that it gave her an intense feeling of helplessness. After the chemotherapy, So-fong’s doctor suggested her to have a breast removal surgery, but she was hesitated about such suggestion. Major Tam and Auxiliary-Captain Jeanette Chan (R) encouraged her to seek guidance from God so she asked God to guide her to a veteran doctor. Later she was able to find a senior consultant doctor and received a clear answer from that doctor whose diagnosis was that there was no need to do the removal in her case.

Since So-fong has opted not to do the removal surgery, she was scheduled to do radiation therapy (electrotherapy). She listened to the advice from Major Tam and a sister in the Corps who is a nurse to apply aloe vera and lotions to the area receiving the treatment, and kept skin intact during the course of treatment. However, the diarrhoea that she had every time before the therapy session has made her nervous and worried. To relieve her tensed emotions, she would sing hymns, pray and recite scriptures during every session and she kept a grateful heart for each successful treatment. For all that time she was grateful for God’s keeping and often counted the unlimited grace of God, giving thanks to God for His healing, caring and keeping.

Like being at home

Currently, to suppress the cancer, So-fong still needs to go to hospital for targeted therapy once every three weeks. Knowing she needs to visit hospital regularly during the pandemic, pastors of the Corps sent her high protection masks and reminded her to keep mask on during the hospital visits. So-fong has never stopped attending church meetings even during her treatment. Every time she attends the Sunday Holiness Meeting, Major Tam will prepare a seat with soft cushion for her, which warms her heart so much. Brothers and sisters in the fellowship and Corps often send her care and encouragement, and they also pray for her health. So-fong feels they are like family and she is never alone in her journey of fighting cancer.

For So-fong, knowing God and growing up in the church matter a lot to her. She cannot imagine what her life would be without God and her church life. She guessed she might become a pessimistic person filled with anger and without a direction. Without life in the Corps, she would not have so many people who give her warmth, care, support and love, something would be amiss in her life. ‘That’s why I’m really thankful for God has chosen me when I was in my mother’s womb. Knowing God is my lifelong blessing, whereas life in the Corps is part of my life. This connection is truly a blessing to me.’

More stories: https://salvationarmy.org.hk/information-centre/publications/army-scene/?lang=en

Go to Top

我們的故事

主頁>我在地上第二個家

我在地上第二個家

「我很難以筆墨形容對部隊(教會)的感覺,因為已融入我的成長中。」1956年,年幼的羅素芳因經歷風災和火災,與家人搬到竹園徙置區。當時,救世軍竹園隊在那裡進行救濟工作,因而接觸到素芳一家,素芳從此與部隊結下不解緣,不但從中認識神,更開始與部隊一起編織她生命中一個個小片段。

在部隊成長

現為卜維廉隊軍兵的羅素芳回憶從前,發現與部隊有關的片段充斥在她回憶的每一個角落。小時候,竹園隊的軍官對她與家人關懷備至,會從自己的薪金中掏出部份金錢,給他們買食物充饑。年幼的她每逢打風時,家人都擔心颱風會損毀木屋,故會到教會棲身,躲避風災。當時,素芳雖然已跟隨母親返部隊和上主日學,但對神認識有限,直至小學六年級,她第一次真正經歷神:「當時爸爸逝世,媽媽身體突然出現問題,體重從120磅暴跌至60磅。那天,我探望完媽媽,從醫院出來,站在馬路旁等待交通燈轉燈時,我突然害怕起來。於是,向天說:『神啊,爸爸過身了,我不想這麼快變成孤兒,求祢醫治她吧。』後來,媽媽慢慢好起來,媽媽身體漸漸康復,原來神真是聽禱告的!」

部隊一直陪伴她成長,從青年兵、青年團契、參加詩歌班、與弟兄姊妹在龍翔道派傳單,邀請途人去佈道會、竹園隊與慈雲山隊合併,卜維廉隊成立,在教會事奉等,都是她重要的回憶。因從小在部隊建立信仰,認識神,故她性格也較樂天,無論在生活和在工作(社工)上,遇到困難時,都曉得尋求神,而部隊上下亦不時關心她,成為她的扶持。

與病同行

勞碌一生,本準備安然退休,素芳於2018年證實患上乳癌。當醫生告知此噩耗時,她表現平靜,就連醫生都感到詫異,因為她知道生命掌握在神手中。而知道她患病後,卜維廉隊部隊軍官羅惠芳少校也密切留意她的狀況,經常慰問她。治療過程中,她先後接受標靶治療、化療和電療。化療期間,她因為免疫力低及受藥物副作用影響,身體出現肚瀉、皮膚痕癢及發炎等情況;左手水腫厲害及肩頸肌肉繃緊等,那種「有心無力」的感覺十分強烈。完成化療後,醫生建議素芳做切除乳房的手術。但素芳心中出現疑問,對於醫生的建議猶疑不決。此時,羅少校及陳燕萍輔助上尉鼓勵她尋求神的印證。於是她求神讓她遇到一位資深的醫生,結果,她真的遇到一位資深顧問醫生,她的診斷是不用切除,讓素芳取得明確的確據。

由於不需做切除手術,醫生也安排了素芳做放射性治療(電療)。羅少校及任職護士的教會姊妹建議她使用蘆薈和潤膚膏並塗在要電療的部位上。結果在整個電療過程中,她的皮膚沒有損傷。 然而,每次電療前她都會出現肚瀉,令她緊張和擔心,故做電療時,她會唱詩歌、祈禱和背誦經文讓自己放鬆,感恩每次電療都能順利完成。 在這段時間,她感謝神對她的看顧和保守,經常數算神在她身上賜予的無盡恩典,感謝神對她的醫治、看顧和保守。

如置身家中

現時,素芳每隔三星期仍要回醫院打一次標靶藥,以便控制病情。在新冠肺炎疫情期間,部隊牧者知道她需要經常進出醫院,除了為她送上防護能力較強、適合往醫院使用的口罩外,又提醒她去醫院時記得配戴。 治療期間,她並沒有停止聚會。每次返主日聖潔會,羅少校都會為她預備一張有軟墊的椅子,令她感到特別窩心。團契及部隊的弟兄姊妹經常給予關心和鼓勵,又為她代禱,就像家人般陪伴著,令她在面對疾病的過程中從不感到孤單。

對素芳而言,在生命中能認識神和在教會中成長,對她十分重要。她很難想像若沒有認識神和教會生活,她會變成怎樣。她推測若沒有認識神,她會是個悲觀、充滿怒氣和失去方向的人; 若少了部隊生活,她會少了很多溫暖、關心、支持和愛護她的人,生活上會有所欠缺:「所以我很感恩,讓神在母腹中已揀選了我。認識神是我一生的福氣;而部隊生活已融入我日常生活中,這份親情對我是一份祝福。」

更多故事:https://salvationarmy.org.hk/information-centre/publications/army-scene/

Go to Top