Our Stories

Home>Heartfelt support for the autistic community

Heartfelt support for the autistic community

“In those days, I often asked myself ‘why I have so many social communication issues that others don’t seem to have? Am I abnormal?’” In his 40s, Fishball (alias) talked with us causally with a smile on his face. It seems incredible that 4 years ago he was completely different. “I was diagnosed with autism after the assessment”.

Fishball recalled that he had not been able to interpret accurately what the others were trying to say. “They felt my speech disorganised. I didn’t get what they said, and they didn’t get what I said.” As an autistic person, interpreting tones and implications is a big problem. “It was impossible for me to understand things that are implied but not stated.”

The dark and confused days
Being autistic greatly affected Fishball’s job and emotions. At that time his job required him to handle customer phone calls, but he was at a loss understanding what customers wanted to say. “I simply didn’t get why I was complained after I helped customers to solve their issues.” Later he lost his job – his living standard dropped and social interactions decrease. “Years ago, I visited a friend who was jobless for a long time. From the condition of his home, it seemed that he has lost the ability to take care of himself. I didn’t expect that one day I would find myself in the same plight.”

Fishball contacted The Salvation Army PATH Centre by himself in the end of 2020 and became a member. Yvonne, Fishball’s social worker, recalled that Fishball was despair and felt hopeless. His thoughts were negative due to the social communication failures in the past and he had difficulties getting into the social circles which affected his emotions a lot. After knowing about Fishball’s situation, the team from the Centre came up with activity plans and goals for him, e.g., providing emotional support and seeking chances for him to express his talents.

Rediscovering true self in photography
Photography has been a great passion of Fishball. “I can express my thoughts and potentials through images”. His talents show in his works. Macy, the occupational therapist that supported Fishball, felt that Fishball had the motivation to return to workplace after meeting him. She then arranged him to try working in various simulated workplaces in order to train his work capability. Fishball’s performance was excellent – he took up the post of volunteer photographer for Centre’s events, and he has hosted photography events and 4 photo classes when he was a trainee in The Salvation Army Citizens Talent Advancement Project Kwun Tong Centre.

Macy said being in a working mode allowed Fishball to enhance communication ability, and helped him to re-build his life. The recognition of his talents from others also improved his emotional health.

See the light of hope together
Fishball has now return to workplace as he was employed by an external organisation. He is also working on his plan to turn his photo works into merchandise. Yvonne thinks that the bigger change of Fishball is that he now has a clear vision and positive outlook on his life. To help friends with autism transit from despair help-seekers to active helpers, Yvonne believes the key is to find a communication approach that they can feel comfortable. “It does not necessarily need a lot of techniques. What’s important is to find their way of communication.”

She attributed the achievement of Fishball to himself. “This nice journey and great transition is possible because he came to us at the first place and took the opportunities that we offered.”

In fact, Fishball had joined programmes of other organisations, but he was unable to find a sense of belonging there. He can feel that the staff of PATH Centre really get to know about the needs of autistic persons and they give support with heart and sincerity, and this makes him want to contribute back to the Centre. “They have taken good care of me; they were there for me every time when I needed them,” Fishball is grateful for the help he received from the staff.

The Salvation Army PATH Centre

The Salvation Army PATH Centre is a supporting centre for people with autism subvented by the Social Welfare Department. The Centre mainly provides services to persons with autism spectrum disorder and their families, and provides autism-related professional support and consulting services to subvented rehabilitation and social welfare service units. The Centre is named “Tin-Hey” in Chinese, with the meaning of fostering natural talents and a life with hope. The name PATH is an acronym for “Pathway of Talent and Hope”.

The Centre serves with a people-oriented approach. We believe each person with autism has his/her unlimited potentials. We respect their rights of making choices for their lives and together we work towards a community environment where they enjoy equal opportunities and participation.

Go to Top

我們的故事

主頁>真誠陪伴 啟迪天賦

真誠陪伴 啟迪天賦

「當時會想為什麼會有如此多社交問題,別人沒有的問題我卻有,我是否是個不正常的人?」四十出頭的「魚蛋」(化名)今日可以談笑風生,但沒想到約四年前的他卻是完全不一樣,「當時做評估後發現原來自己是有自閉症。」

魚蛋憶述,當時自己沒辦法很準確拿捏到別人說話的意思,「別人會覺得我說話『一舊舊』,對方說話給我聽,我又聽不懂,我說話給對方聽,他又聽不懂」,魚蛋又說,對自閉症患者如他而言,理解別人語氣更是死穴,「我根本沒有辦法分辨別人說話背後的真正意思。」

跌入自閉症的深淵
自閉症帶來的障礙影響了魚蛋的工作、以至情緒。他當時的工作需要接聽顧客的電話,但魚蛋根本聽不懂顧客的意思,「會不明白為什麼幫他解決問題後還要被罵。」魚蛋說失去工作除了令生活水平下降,同時也會失去社交機會,「很多年前曾探望一個長年無工作的朋友,從他的家居是看不到他有個人自理能力,誰料多年後自己也是這狀況。」

輾轉間魚蛋在2020年尾主動成為救世軍天希中心會員,負責魚蛋個案的社工Yvonne憶述當時的魚蛋很灰心、很絕望,很多時想法都傾向比較負面,也因為過往社交的情況,令他很難跟人融入群體,從而影響到情緒。Yvonne說中心團隊接觸會員後,會為其構思活動方向與目標,如為魚蛋提供社交情緒上的支援,及為他找機會展才能。

光與影間尋回自我
魚蛋一直酷愛攝影,「視覺的世界可以發揮自己的小宇宙」,從其作品中也見到他的才華。有份協助的職業治療師Macy說,認識魚蛋後感受到他有股動力想重投社會,於是安排不同的模擬工作環境,訓練他的工作能力。魚蛋表現優秀,除了協助中心活動擔任義務攝影,更在救世軍耆才拓展觀塘中心工作實習,當中曾主持攝影活動及四節攝影課程。

Macy說工作除了加強了魚蛋跟別人的溝通能力,也有助重建他的生活,同時讓他的能力得到肯定,對他的情緒起了支援作用。

伴你再望晨曦
魚蛋現獲外間機構聘用,重投職場,更計劃將自己的攝影作品製成產品。Yvonne認為魚蛋最大的轉變除了是人生方向更清晰外,也對生活積極了,從之前心灰的求助到現在積極的幫忙與貢獻,要成功協助自閉症朋友,她認為要知道如何與他們溝通會令他們舒服,「與他們溝通未必需要很多技巧,而是要認識跟他們溝通的模式。」

她也覺得成功的元素很在乎魚蛋自己,「若他不找我們、不接受這些機會,都不會有如此順利與精彩的經歷。」

魚蛋坦言曾參與過其他機構的活動,卻難以找到歸屬感,但認為天希中心的職員真的了解到自閉者患者的需要,給予的陪伴都見到他們的用心和真誠,令他也希望在中心回饋更多。魚蛋感謝天希中心職員的協助,「他們照顧得我很好,起碼我有事時他們都在。」

救世軍天希中心簡介

救世軍天希中心為社會福利署資助的自閉人士支援中心,主要為自閉症譜系障礙人士及其家屬提供支援服務,以及為受資助康復服務及社會福利服務單位提供自閉人士專業支援及諮詢服務。中心命名為「天希」,意即啟廸天賦,建立正向有希望的人生,英文名為“PATH”,即Pathway of Talent and Hope。

中心本著「以人為本」的服務理念,相信每一位自閉人士都擁有無限潛能,並且尊重他們在人生中作出選擇的權利,並能實踐平等參與的生活。

Go to Top