Media Centre
Symposium on Medical-Social Partnership
in Promoting Palliative & End-of-life Care in Residential Settings
back
It is foreseeable that the population of elderly will increase and people’s lifespan will be extended in the coming two decades. As the population is aging, the need of long-term care services for the weak elders rises. The residential services for senior citizens are required not only to develop a system for service quality management and upgrade facilities, but also to take good care of the elderly residents in the late stage with palliative care.
 
As tomorrow is the World Hospice and Palliative Care Day (10 October), The Salvation Army and the Hong Kong Association of Gerontology held a Symposium on Medical-Social Partnership in Promoting Palliative & End-of-life Care in Residential Settings this afternoon (9 October). We are honoured to have Mr Richard Yuen, JP, Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health), to officiate at the opening ceremony. The Salvation Army hopes to raise public concern for the terminally ill elderly and their families, as well as foster cooperation between the medical and social welfare sectors, so as to provide a more comprehensive palliative and end-of-life care service.
 
Lieut-Colonel Ian Swan, Officer Commanding of The Salvation Army, said that the Army and the Hong Kong Association of Gerontology recognised the importance of cooperation from various sectors to promote the palliative and end-of-life care service to the elderly and their families. This symposium could help facilitate the communication between the medical and social welfare sectors, hence improving elderly’s quality of life together.
 
Professor Christine Fang, the host of the discussion section, said that Hong Kong ranked 22 in the latest Quality of Death Index, lagging behind Taiwan and other developed countries. It was probably because palliative and end-of-life care has not yet been included in public policies. She suggested policy makers, management staff of public sector services and leaders of various sectors explore related strategies and resources to address this issue.
 
With funding support by ”la Caixa” Foundation and The Bank of East Asia Charitable Foundation, The Salvation Army and the Hong Kong Association of Gerontology launched the “Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly” (or PC Project) in 2010. It provides a new option for the residents of elderly homes to stay in the homes, a familiar environment, in the last stage of their lives. At least 10 elderly homes have joined the project. More than 300 people from medical, social welfare and academic circles took part in today’s symposium, where care workers and medical partners from four participating elderly homes shared the successful cases and their practical experiences.
 
At the symposium, the publication of “The Palliative and End-of-life Care in Residential Care Homes Practice Manual” was announced. Staff of elderly homes will be given a comprehensive guideline and useful forms regarding the preparation process, case selection and other related services for reference. The information on the handbook is based on the practical and clinical experiences of the participating elderly homes in the past five years.
 
To know more about the PC Project, please visit our Facebook fan page.
Symposium on Medical-Social...
Mr Richard Yuen, JP, Perman...

新聞中心
「醫社協作推動院舍臨終照顧」研討會
推動多方關注 建構完備安老院舍臨終照顧服務
上一頁
香港的長者人口及壽命,在未來20年將不斷增加及延長,體弱長者亦會越來越多,而他們對長期照顧服務的需求亦會因疾病或家庭狀况而增加,院舍照顧在本港安老服務的角色將更加重要。對於要提供長期照顧的安老院舍服務來說,除了擁有優良的服務質素管理措施,令長者生活質素受到保障外,完善院舍設施配套,妥善照顧晚期病患長者,使其減少進出醫院,以及提供臨終照顧服務,都是院舍需要關注及考慮的課題。
 
適逢明天 (10月10日) 是世界紓緩關懷日,救世軍及香港老年學會今午(10月9日)舉辦「醫社協作推動院舍臨終照顧」研討會,由食物及衞生局常任秘書長(衞生)袁銘輝先生主持開幕禮。救世軍盼藉此喚起大眾對末期病患長者及其家屬的關注,並建議加強醫護界及社福界的合作,於安老院舍提供更全面的紓緩護理及臨終照顧服務,以締造更佳的發展水平。
 
救世軍總指揮施宏恩上校表示,救世軍與香港老年學會作為推廣院舍臨終照顧的計劃機構,體會到關顧臨終病人及其家人是需要多個界別的配合,因此期望是次研討會能加強醫護界及社福界的交流和溝通,提升臨終長者的生活質素。
 
主持研討會「專題討論」的方敏生教授指出,剛剛公佈的「死亡質量指數」(Quality of Death Index),香港排名22,遠遠落後於台灣及其他發達國家,主因可見是與本地仍未就臨終照顧服務納入為公共政策有關,建議政策制訂者、公營服務管理人員和各界領袖,是時候需要探索相應策略及資源,應付當中的挑戰。
 
隨着本港人口平均壽命的增長,社會大眾逐漸關注末期病患長者的照顧需要。就此,救世軍和香港老年學會因應社會需要,以及承蒙 ”la Caixa” 基金会和東亞銀行慈善基金有限公司的撥款支持,於2010年開展「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」,為居於院舍的末期病患長者提供新的選擇,讓他們在自己熟悉的環境終老,本地至少10間安老院舍率先試行此項模式。是次會議超過300位醫護界、社福界及學術界人士參與,大會安排了其中四間院舍的照顧人員及醫療合作伙伴向業內人士分享成功個案及實務經驗。
 
會議同時宣佈出版「安老院舍臨終照顧實務手冊」,藉此優化並普及此項服務,給院舍員工一套較全面的參考手冊,從服務籌備、個案篩選,及至各項服務的指引和表格等,均有詳細列明。手冊是根據「香港安老院舍完善人生關顧計劃」過去五年參與院舍的實務和臨床經驗,加以整理及編寫的。
 
歡迎登入Facebook專頁了解計劃詳情。
「醫社協作推動院舍臨終照顧...
食物及衞生局常任秘書長(衞...