Parents worry about their children no matter how old their children get. They can be too absorbed in worries and neglect their own physical and mental wellbeing, overlooking the stress they bear and ending up feeling burnt out and exhausted. The Salvation Army walks with caregivers, shares their worries and embraces their worn-out souls, helping them to release their stress, put down their worries and love themselves again. The worries experienced by the 3 Caregivers might be your stories as well.

I just want my sons to be happy and healthy

‘I hope my two sons get along. I just want them to be happy, healthy and independent,’ that’s the greatest wish of Yin (alias)’s mom. For Yin, a 24-year-old with autism and a mild intellectual disability, every day was an emotional rollercoaster ride. His younger brother, who is dyslexic, was struggling with his schoolwork and was bullied at school, getting so distressed that he has thought about changing school. Striving to take care of her two sons every day, Yin’s mother was overwhelmed by worries over them and disheartened towards life. Just when they needed help most, the mother and sons received support and help from The Salvation Army ‘Share-care’ Parents Resources Centre. Whenever Yin threw a tantrum fit on the street, his mother would get instant help by simply calling the social worker and receive guidance through the phone on how to calm Yin down. For Yin’s younger brother, social worker from the Centre had multiple conversations with him and found that he was interested in cookery; they then helped him change to a western culinary institute and the younger brother has brightened up since then.

All the support has lifted the weight off the shoulder of Yin’s mother, who can now take more time for herself, gather herself up and find hope again.

I want to be stronger

For Ah Ching, her kids always come first. In the past she was busy with all the chores at home. She singlehandedly took care everything for her kids and could spare no time to care for herself. A few years ago, Ah Ching suffered from an illness in her throat, which had damaged her vocal cord and resulted in slurred and slowed speech. Meanwhile, the stress of taking care of her children continued, making Ah Ching lose her confidence and sense of self-worth. When she was at a loss, Ah Ching came across The Salvation Army ‘Tuen Mun Caring Handicraft’, a workshop where she and other women expressed their handicraft talents and creativity once subdued by their daily chores. Thanks to the care and encouragement from the social workers and fellow team members, Ah Ching gradually became more cheerful and positive. She is now willing to share her feelings.

She realizes that she is not alone as her companions are there for her and together they support one another during the difficult times.

I want to share love and my experience with others

Bonnie’s two children have ADHD and autistic spectrum disorder respectively. Her elder son in Primary 2 had been avoiding doing his homework through many ways, while her 4-year-old younger son was emotional and had language delay which caused him problem of expressing himself. It was draining and frustrating for Bonnie to take care of her kids around the clock. High rent and high costs of raising children also gave her considerable financial burdens, driving her to the verge of despair. Bonnie made contact with The Salvation Army ‘Care About You’ Family Support Project. Through the Project her younger son received training support and has gradually improved his ability of expression. For Bonnie’s older son, the social worker specially gave him individual learning support at their home and encourage him to finish his homework. ‘In the past, I could only eat something simple at home before bringing the kids out, but now I can eat out in a restaurant and relax a bit while the kids are having training with the social workers.’ The breaks that Bonnie managed to take has brought her a more positive outlook in life.

All these experiences have inspired her to receive volunteer training of the Project, hoping to help more parents in similar situations.

Your donation can empower us to help the Caregivers and disadvantaged communities to tide over their difficulties.

Download Donation Form
Online Donation
Learn More about Our Stories

Join us as our Monthly Donor now in support of our services. Give all people in need a boost!

Become Monthly Donor

「养儿一百岁,长忧九十九」,这份「忧」往往让照顾者忘记了自身的身心健康,未能适当地处理压力,导致耗尽精力、身心早已伤痕累累。救世军愿意与照顾者同行分忧,拥抱他们疲累的身心,让他们释放压力,放下担忧,重新学习爱自己。我们的3位照顾者在照顾路上的「忧」,也许您也曾经经历过。

我期望孩子健康快乐成长

「两兄弟相亲相爱,开心、独立、健康就足够了。」这是彦仔(化名)妈妈最大的愿望。

彦仔24岁,患有自闭症及轻度智障,情绪容易起伏不停;患有读写障碍的弟弟追不上课业,又在学校被欺凌,情绪受到困扰,更面临是否该转校的抉择。每天,彦仔妈妈与两名孩子角力,为他们担忧,终令她情绪濒临崩溃边缘,对生活心灰意冷。在最无助之际,三母子得到救世军「结伴行」家长资源中心的陪伴。当哥哥躺在街上闹情绪时,彦仔妈妈只要拨通电话,社工就实时提供适切帮助,教导她如何安抚哥哥的情绪。社工又多次与弟弟倾谈,发掘到他在厨艺方面的兴趣,安排他转学至西厨学校,弟弟亦因而变得开朗起来。

这些支援让彦仔妈妈放下心头大石,从而得以「唞唞气」,找回了自己,重拾盼望。

我希望让自己更坚强

阿清的世界总是以子女为先,每天埋首于家中大小事务,独力打点他们的一切,无暇照顾自己。数年前一次咽喉疾病令阿清的声带受损,说话缓慢、声线不清,加上照顾子女的压力,令她失去自信,找不到自己的价值。在迷茫之际,阿清认识了救世军「屯爱手艺坊」,与其他妇女透过手艺创作发挥原本被生活所局限着的才能和创意。得到社工和组员们的关心和鼓励,阿清渐渐变得开朗、积极,愿意分享自己的感受。

她明白到自己并不孤单,因为有同路人共同扶持面对困难。

我盼望将爱与经验分享

Bonnie两位年幼的小朋友分别有专注力不足及自闭症。就读小二的哥哥经常以各种方法逃避功课;4岁的弟弟除了闹情绪,语言能力也发展迟缓。24小时的照顾让她身心俱疲,高昂的租金及照顾两个孩子的费用带来经济的重担,令她身心透支,非常气馁。一次偶然机会下,Bonnie接触救世军「在乎你」家庭支持计划。弟弟参与计划提供的训练支持,慢慢改善他的表达能力;社工也特别上门为哥哥提供个别学习支持,鼓励他做功课。「以前我只能在家随便吃一点就与孩子出门,现在在社工为小朋友提供支持的时间,我可以去餐厅吃点东西,『Hea』一下。」Bonnie得以喘息,开始变得正面。

这些经历也感动她接受计划的义工训练,盼望成为义工,帮助更多与自己一样的同路人。

你的捐助能有效让我们发挥作用,帮助照顾者,以至各个弱势社群跨越一个个难关

下载捐款表格
网上捐款
我们更多的故事

您也可成为我们的每月捐助者,支持我们的服务,为每一位有需要的人加油打气

成为每月捐助者