Who Stole Good Health from Children living in Sub-divided Flats?

A Christmas Blessing to Grassroot Families

Hong Kong has been the least affordable major housing market for the past 10 years. For people living in Hong Kong, we need to stop spending on food and entertainment for almost 21 years before we could afford a flat. The flats we are living are getting smaller and smaller, with an average of 56.5 sq.ft., even tinier than a prison cell.

Now there are approximately 200,000 people living in sub-divided flats, children aged under 15 takes up a fifth of the figure. According to statistics, children’s academic performance and self-esteem are greatly affected due to long period of living in cramped environment.

In Shamshuipo, there are nearly 15,400 sub-divided flats, second to Yau Tsim Mong area only. The Salvation Army Shamshuipo Family Support Networking Team is now serving families with low income and single parent through active outreaching hoping to offer timely support and assistance as early as possible.

This Christmas, we sincerely ask for your support and donation so that children living in sub-divided flats could experience warmth and fullness from you. All funds raised will go to support the community care services of The Salvation Army, sending care and love to people in need.

Have a wonderful Christmas.

誰偷走了劏房小孩的健康   為基層家庭送上聖誕祝福

香港連續十年成為全球樓價最難負擔的城市,港人需要接近21年不吃不喝不消費才可買樓。付出高昂費用只求一個安樂窩,港人居所卻愈縮愈小,人均居住面積平均只有56.5平方呎,甚至比赤柱監獄的單人囚室還要小。

現時全港約有20萬人居於劏房,當中近4萬名為15歲以下的兒童。據研究顯示,兒童長期處於狹隘的居住環境,會較難專注及學習,或會影響成績及建立自尊感。

深水埗約有15,400個劏房單位,僅次於排名全港第一的油尖旺區。救世軍深水埗家庭支援網絡隊主要服務區內的低收入或單親家庭,透過重點及主動式的外展服務,及早辨識及介入有需要的家庭。

期盼您在歡慶聖誕佳節的同時,也顧念眾多劏房家庭中的兒童;您的一個行動,足以讓他渡過一個飽足又溫暖的聖誕。請即捐款支持救世軍社會關懷服務,讓有需要的人得到適切的幫助和關愛。