Work in Mainland China
Rebuilding Children’s Life After Quake - School Social Worker Scheme Supports Left-behind Children
back
The devastating earthquake in 2008 destroyed countless families in Sichuan Province in the Mainland. Owing to the financial distress, the parents of Ling-ling (alias) were forced to make a living far away from home, leaving her behind to live with her grandparents in a poverty-stricken rural village. There are over 61 million “left-behind children” in rural villages of China, and Ling-ling is one of them. Without their parents’ care and protection, how do these children overcome life hurdles and move forward in their life?
 
Aloof And Passive
 
Ling-ling, a Primary 1 pupil at Wolong Primary School, Mianyang City, Sichuan Province, was accustomed to being alone. Her grandmother was always busy going out to play mahjong and claimed to have no time to take care of her, whereas her grandfather did not know how to communicate with his little granddaughter. As children in the neighbourhood were all in different age groups, Ling-ling simply had no one to mingle with. Silence became her only way of social interaction.
 
Even her parents could not make her talk. “Have you studied hard? Did you do better in your exams? Did you pass the exams?” Despite their long absence from home, her parents only asked about her academic achievement. Ling-ling could barely stand all the questions and scolding, so she simply hung up the phone. Was she lazy? No, she was attentive but couldn’t understand. When teachers asked her questions, there was no answer in her mind. She didn’t know how to do her homework, but no one could give her a hand. At last, she did her homework sloppily or would merely give up on it.
 
Her teachers told the school social worker about Ling-ling’s problems for a follow-up. Since February 2014, The Salvation Army and Wolong Primary School have jointly launched the “School Social Worker Scheme”, providing counselling for “left-behind children”. After learning about Ling-ling’s family background and the problems she was facing, the social worker realised that she was not good at communication. By using the “Children’s Tree of Hopes” picture book designed by The Salvation Army, the social worker helped Ling-ling understand her inner self. After counselling, Ling-ling set her study goals and plans with the help of the social worker. If her goals were achieved, she would be given a little token of encouragement.
 
Encouragement And Compliments
 
Nevertheless, when the mid-term exam results were released, Ling-ling failed to reach her goals. She was at a loss, but the social worker comforted her, “It’s okay. I can see you’ve already made a lot of progress. Just keep up your good work, and you’ll be a step closer to your goals.”
 
Such encouragement and recognition raised Ling-ling’s spirit and motivated her to keep on trying. Gradually, her teachers noticed that Ling-ling became more active in class. Now, Lingling tries to answer the teachers’ questions and do her best in her homework. She also takes the initiative in interacting with teachers and classmates, sharing her daily life. The encouragement of the social worker, praises from teachers and the assistance from her classmates have helped Ling-ling build up her self-confidence. She is now more cheerful and hopeful, and her school work is improving.
 
Indeed, 70% of pupils at Wolong Primary School are “left-behind children”. Cases similar to Ling-ling’s are not uncommon. Since the concept of school social worker system is not fully in place in mainland China, The Salvation Army scheme can help these vulnerable children through counselling to help them build self-esteem, guiding them to holistic development.
 

Don’t Leave Me, Mom And Dad
 
As parents move out of villages to work in cities, “left-behind children” in rural villages are mostly put in the hands of their grandparents or relatives. Without their parents’ care and concern, these children often feel abandoned, making them more eccentric and melancholic, which in turn affects their emotion and social life. Also, little support in managing personal hygiene and their studies results in their poor academic performances.
 

Set Up The School Social Worker System
 
Most schools in mainland China do not have a social worker system. In Sichuan Province, one of the rural areas with the largest number of “left-behind children”, The Salvation Army launched the school social worker scheme. From 2013 to 2015, Wolong Primary School and Shuangfeng Primary School in Sichuan Province collaborated with the Army to provide counselling, group activities and inter-class activities, which have alleviated the psychological and behavioural problems of the “left-behind children”. A healthy environment for their development has also been created. In future, The Salvation Army anticipates working with more schools to help pupils in need.
 

Please support The Salvation Army Education Programme for Children and Youth in China to meet the education needs of the children from poor families in rural China.
 
Ling-ling’s parents work in...
The 2008 Sichuan Earthquake...
The social worker (left) co...
After counselling, Ling-lin...
Most schools in mainland Ch...

救世軍在中國內地
地震碎了成長路 - 駐校社工計劃支援「留守兒童」
上一頁
2008年一場大地震,震碎了四川土壤,亦震碎了無數的家。經濟困難,迫使玲玲(化名)的父母離鄉別井打拚,把她留在貧瘠的農村與祖父母生活,令她成為全國6,100多萬名農村「留守兒童」的一員。失去庇蔭,面對一個又一個成長難關,「留守兒童」該如何走下去?
 
孤獨被動
 
玲玲在四川省綿陽市臥龍小學念小一,早已習慣獨來獨往。家中奶奶經常跑去打麻將,「沒空」管教;爺爺又不懂怎樣和孫女溝通。鄰家孩子的年紀不是太大就是太小,沒有一個圈子讓玲玲擠進去。沉默,漸漸成為玲玲的「社交」方法。
 
即使爸媽,也沒法令她開口。「最近有沒有用功讀書?考試有沒有進步?達到預定的成績嗎?」長年在外的爸媽,開口閉口都是成績。電話傳來一連串追問和責備,逼得玲玲受不了,馬上掛線。是疏懶的原故嗎?不,她認真上課,但聽不懂;老師提問,她答不上;不懂功課,又沒門路求教,只好亂做,甚至罷做。
 
老師向駐校社工反映玲玲的問題,跟進她的個案。2014年2月開始,救世軍與臥龍小學合作開展「駐校社工計劃」,為「留守兒童」提供輔導。社工嘗試了解玲玲的家庭背景和她所面對的困難,發現她不善溝通,便運用救世軍設計的「孩子生命樹聆聽畫冊」,幫助她了解自己的內心世界。經輔導後,玲玲與社工一同制訂了學習目標和實行計劃,如果達成目標,將獲得小獎勵。
 
鼓勵讚賞
 
可惜,期中考試出爐,玲玲的分數並未達到目標,神情落寞。社工對她說:「沒有關係,我知道你已經進步了很多,只要以後繼續努力就會離目標更進一步。」
 
鼓勵和認同激起了玲玲的鬥志,她決定繼續嘗試。慢慢地,老師發現玲玲比之前積極,上課嘗試回答提問,功課也盡量做好,還主動接觸老師、同學,互相交流,分享生活軼事。社工的鼓勵、老師的表揚和同學的幫忙,增加了玲玲的自信心,令她開朗起來,學業也漸見起色了。
 
其實,臥龍小學七成學生都是「留守兒童」,類似玲玲的個案並不罕見。因內地未全面推行駐校社工制度,救世軍的計劃正好扶助這群脆弱的兒童,透過輔導,引領他們健康成長。
 

爸媽,不要遺棄我
 
父母轉到城鎮工作,農村的「留守兒童」多由祖父母或親戚監管。缺乏父母的照顧和關懷,他們往往有被遺棄的感覺,性格較孤僻憂鬱,影響情緒和社交。另外,因個人衞生、學業等方面欠缺支援,他們在學校的表現通常欠佳。
 

建立駐校社工制度
 
內地大部份學校欠缺社工制度,而四川省是農村「留守兒童」重災區之一,救世軍因而開展駐校社工計劃。2013至2015年度,四川省臥龍小學和雙峰小學與救世軍合作,透過社工提供的個案輔導、小組活動、班際活動等,改善「留守兒童」的心理和行為問題,並營造健康的成長環境。未來,救世軍盼與更多學校合作,幫助有需要的學童。
 

請支持「救世軍中國兒童及青年教育計劃」,一起回應中國內地貧困兒童的教育需要。
 
玲玲父母到城裏打工,令她在...
2008 年四川大地震的破壞,令...
社工(左)輔導玲玲(右),...
經社工輔導後,玲玲(中)主...
內地大部份學校欠缺社工制度...