Media Centre
The Salvation Army Strength-based Approach
Help SEN Students Achieve Success beyond Studies
back
The society focuses mainly on students’ academic performance. Hence SEN students are often stereotyped as losers and suffer on their growth path. Therefore, The Salvation Army has tried to cultivate an environment filled with acceptance, assurance and care in community, in order to develop the children’s potential, build up their sense of accomplishment and encourage their positive behaviours. 
 
Art is one of the most effective ways to raise the self-esteem of SEN students. The Salvation Army has used Djembe to stimulate the senses of students and to improve their attention spans. Their cooperation and social skills with other children were also strengthened.
 
Evaluative Result
 
This evaluative study consisted of two parts. The first part was a quasi-experimental pre-test and post-test control and experimental groups design. SEN students were divided into experimental and control groups based on their initial assessment. Self-administered questionnaires were responded by the social workers and parents at the beginning and the end of the Djembe classes. The experimental group consisted of 32 SEN students from four different schools and centres. 31 SEN students with a similar background formed the control group. The second part was the observation record with a content analysis assessment of all the SEN students participating in the Djembe classes in the first, middle and last sessions. Social workers used a unified record sheet to mark the frequencies of the SEN students’ behaviours shown in videos.
 
“Attentiveness”, “Self-esteem” and “Social Skills” are three main services outcomes and evaluation domains of the Djembe class. The survey findings suggested that after the SEN students with Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) joined the Djembe class, their performance in the aforementioned three domains has improved, while those with similar background who did not join the class had no improvement or even worse performance in the three domains. Based on a more in-depth statistical analysis, those joining the class increased their "Self-esteem" by 0.32, while those who did not join the class decreased their "Self-esteem" by 0.23. The difference was statistically significant (p <0.01). Moreover, those SEN students who joined the class improved their "social skills" by 0.33, and those SEN students who did not join the class diminished their "Social Skills" by 0.03, the difference was also statistical significant (p <0.01) (From table 1 to table 3).
 
In the "Attentiveness" assessment, an in-depth content analysis was introduced in four Djembe groups. 12 video recordings in the first, middle and last sessions were analysed. Four types of behaviour were marked case by case. There was a significant difference in the indicator: “He/She seems to have not heard when being talked to” (p<0.05) (Table 4). The result reflected that the Djembe class helped the SEN students improve their performance on “Attentiveness”, “Self-esteem” and “Social Skills”, which was initially validated after careful and scientific assessment.
 
Through this rigorous evaluation of the Djembe classes, The Salvation Army is more convinced that developing multiple talents is a way to provide SEN students with services in community level. It would allow them to experience accomplishments outside school, achieve success through their efforts and self-assurance by these personal successful experiences.
 
Conclusions and Recommendations
 
1. Strength-based training helps SEN students build up their self-esteem
SEN students find it difficult to overcome academic difficulties. Frustration and the social label of “a complete failure" result in their low self-esteem, lack of successful experience and low development momentum. Through the strength-based approach, we are devoted to helping SEN students develop their talent outside school, so as to rebuild their confidence and improve their abilities and attitude on attentiveness and responsibility. Putting academic competition aside, they had a positive change in re-activating their growth momentum. Parents and teachers also noticed their obvious improvements and gave different comments. We hope that SEN students would not lose their developmental opportunities merely due to less satisfactory academic performances.
 
2. Cultivate an environment of acceptance, autonomy, care and assurance
Social workers and instructors cultivated the above-mentioned environment for SEN students to practise and make progress. With more encouragement, the SEN students were more motivated to participate in class. They were able to learn various interpersonal skills, such as cooperation, mutual encouragement, and dispute resolution, etc. It also helped them earn positive growth experience by making more friends.
 
3. Provide opportunities for the public to recognise the ability of SEN students
In order to enhance public understanding of SEN students and the students’ confidence, we suggest different organisations provide performance opportunities for them. The public can rediscover SEN students’ abilities and strengths, while the students can rebuild a positive identity and values through others’ assurance and support.
 
4. Community-level support can help children build self-esteem and expand their interpersonal networks
Besides academic difficulties, SEN students also encounter different challenges in daily lives. They need to connect, communicate and interact with the society. However, due to the concern about the children's embarrassing behaviour in public areas, some parents would go out less with them. In this way, the children failed to gain sufficient community life experiences, resulting in more problems, such as social alienation. Yet, youth centres in the community can play a supporting role in linking different groups in the community to create a community of acceptance, autonomy, care and assurance for the growth of SEN students.
 
Case Sharing: Matthew, Wallace and their parents
Theme: Music enhanced kid’s motivation, self-esteem and interpersonal relationship
 
The boys joined different activities in the centre in 2016. On discovering their musical talent, The Salvation Army encouraged their parents to develop their potential. Despite all the worries, their parents found that their behaviour have improved after joining the Djembe class. They showed great interest in music and received appreciation for their sense of rhythm from social workers and instructors. Now they also join the Ukulele class and practise at home. Their parents feel relieved.
 
Professional Sharing (1): Psychiatrist – Dr Tin Ngai-wa
 (Dr Tin cooperates with The Salvation Army Tuen Mun Integrated Service for Young People to hold seminars to explain the needs of SEN children, and also provides professional advice for our SEN services.)
Theme: Non-pharmaceutical treatment – how sense of accomplishment / competence helps SEN students
 
Besides professional treatments from occupational therapists, physical therapists and speech therapists, SEN students also need the support from their parents, teachers and social workers. Medication may assist children to improve their attention spans in a period of time. But apart from the focus on schoolwork, other aspects of personal development should also be encouraged. By finding their interests and developing their abilities, SEN students would have improvements in many other aspects.
 
Professional Sharing (2): Student Supporting Officer of Toi Shan Association Primary School - Ms Choi Choo Ying
Theme: Helping SEN students create a sense of accomplishment outside school and discover their unknown side
 
Toi Shan Association Primary School is one of the schools participating in this Djembe Study. After seeing the students’ first show, Ms Choi was deeply impressed and arranged them to perform at the school’s graduation ceremony. Ms Choi agrees that, whether at school or community centres, the strength-based model can create a sense of accomplishment for SEN students. Parents have also identified improvements of their SEN children. Ms Choi believes that the experience of collaborating with youth centres provides an alternative environment for SEN students to strengthen their attentiveness and social skills.
 
About Djembe Class
 
The Salvation Army Youth, Family and Community Services provide a range of art related supporting programmes for the students with Attention Deficit / Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). The Djembe class is one of the art trainings which provides a platform for the SEN students to demonstrate their talents. Through public performances, their ability can be widely recognised, so that their sense of accomplishment and self-esteem will be increased. On 20 May 2017, nearly 50 students from Tuen Mun District will have a Djembe performance at Tuen Mun Town Hall, delivering to the public a message that SEN students can shine on their own stages.
The Salvation Army collabor...
Matthew (left) and Wallace ...
Dr Tin Ngai-wa, Psychiatrist
Ms Choi Choo Ying, Student ...

新聞中心
救世軍「強項為本」策略
為特殊學習需要(SEN)學童建立學業以外的成就
上一頁
當社會推崇學業成績時,有特殊學習需要(SEN)學童往往因成績欠佳,被定型為失敗者,大大影響他們的發展。因此,救世軍認為,除了在學校,社區應該營造一個關愛的環境,幫助他們發展潛能,建立學業以外的成就感,增強他們的正面行為。
 
藝術是其中一門有效的手法,透過社工與藝術導師的協助,在練習及表演的過程中,增強他們的自尊感。現時,救世軍以非洲鼓班刺激學童的感官,幫助他們專注練習,他們亦需要和其他學童合作,從而增加社交經歷。
 
經評估證實成效
 
是次評估分為兩個部份。第一部份是以實驗組及控制組作事前及事後評估,由負責同工及家長回應問卷。實驗組對象參與四個不同學校及中心的非洲鼓班,共32名有特殊學習需要的學童;而控制組則是配對相同背景、同樣有特殊學習需要的31名學童。第二部份是觀察紀錄,以「內容分析」方法評估四個小組所有參與學童,在第一節、中期及最後一節共三次,研究員透過統一的紀錄表單,根據所有學童在課堂中的錄影作分析。
 
就學童的「專注力」、「自尊感」及「社交能力」作為三個研究重點,評估發現有參與計劃的專注力不足/過度活躍(ADHD)學童在這三方面的表現上均有進步,而沒有參與計劃、背景相似的學童,在三方面的表現均沒有進步甚至變差。根據統計分析,將有及沒有參與計劃的學童作比較,發現他們在「自尊感」(有參與計劃進步0.32分,沒有參與計劃減少 0.23分,p<0.01) 及「社交能力」(有參與計劃進步0.33分,沒有參與計劃減少 0.03分,p<0.01) 兩個方面,其數字上的變化有着統計學上明顯的分別 (表一至表三)。
 
而在「專注力」方面,我們就四個非洲鼓班進行更深入的「內容分析」,紀錄及統計了四組的前、中、後期共12次小組的錄影片段,所有學童在四個行為指標接受評估,「當對其說話時似乎沒聽見」在前期 (1.42次)、中期 (0.90次) 和後期 (0.96次) 兩組平均數比較,在統計學上有明顯的差別 (p<0.05)(表四)。由此證明,有特殊學習需要學童在參與非洲鼓班之後,在改善「專注力」、「自尊感」及「社交能力」三個方面均有成效,這在仔細和科學化評估後得到初步的驗證。
 
透過是次嚴謹的非洲鼓班評估,救世軍更加相信發展多元才能的理念,在社區為SEN學童提供服務,能讓他們在學業以外,體驗自身努力換來的成果,獲得肯定。
 
總結和建議
 
1. 「強項為本」的訓練有助SEN學童建立自尊感
SEN學童在學業上的困難和挑戰使他們感到挫敗,社會主流文化往往把學童成績差等同於「完全失敗」,SEN學童因此自尊感低、缺乏成功經驗,發展動力弱。透過「強項為本」的策略,我們協助SEN學童發掘學業以外的才能,讓他們重新建立信心和能力感,使他們出現認真、專注、責任感等表現及態度;相比只追求學業成績的「弱項比拼」,他們有著飛躍式的正面轉變,重新激活成長動力。父母及師長也能看到這些明顯的轉變,而對這些孩子有不一樣的評價,透過這過程,我們希望這些SEN學童不要因學業成績不佳/稍遜而失去發展及成長的機會。 
 
2. 建立接納、自主、關愛及受肯定的課堂培育環境
社工和導師在課堂中建立上述的培育環境,讓學童能在受鼓勵的環境下練習和進步,在能力獲肯定後,學童更有動力投入參與課堂;此外,學童在其中能體驗各種人際關係,包括:合作、互相鼓勵、紛爭解決等,也能認識一羣朋友,獲得正面的成長經驗。
 
3. 提供機會讓社區人士認識SEN學童的能力
為了提升社區人士對SEN學童的了解及提升他們的能力感,建議不同的團體可以提供表演機會,讓SEN學童展現才能,更重要是讓更多社區人士看到SEN學童在舞台上專注認真的一面,重新發現他們的能力和長處,學童因而得到肯定和支持,重塑正面的身份及價值觀。
 
4. 社區層面支援可以幫助學童建立自尊心和擴展人際網絡
SEN學童除了學業上遇到困難,在日常生活中也會遇到不同的挑戰,他們需與社會接觸、交流、互助,以增加社區對他們的支援。有些家長因擔心子女在公開場合的過動行為會引起尷尬,而選擇減少外出,久而久之,學童因未能建立足夠的社區生活經驗而出現更多問題,更導致出現社交疏離的情況。因此,地區的青少年中心也可以扮演支援角色,聯繫社區上不同的羣組,動員不同的社區人士為學童締造具接納、自主、關愛和受肯定的成長環境,同建共融的社區。
 
個案分享:卓為、仲言及其家長
主題:音樂怎樣提升孩子的動力、自尊感及人際關係
 
二人於2016年參加中心的不同活動,從中發現了他們的音樂天份,因此救世軍建議家長可多從音樂方面培養孩子。從前家長很擔心孩子的專注力問題會影響學習,但自從他們參加了非洲鼓班後,行為問題減少了,對音樂很有興趣,社工和導師也讚賞他們很有節奏感。後來他們更參加了小結他班,平時在家也會拿起小結他練習,更會自己上網找曲譜嘗試彈奏。家長看到兒子主動學習的一面後,把之前的擔憂都放下了。
 
專業分享1:精神科醫生 ─ 田毅華醫生 
(過往與救世軍屯門青少年綜合服務合作舉辦講座,向社區人士講解特殊學習需要學童的特徵和需要,也為中心的服務提供參考意見。)
主題:非藥物治療 ─ 成就/能力感如何幫助有特殊學習需要學童
 
有特殊學習需要的學童除了接受藥物治療和其他專業治療 (如職業治療師、物理治療師及言語治療師) 外,還需要父母、老師和社工等身邊人的支援才能得到最大進步。服食藥物或能協助學童一段時間內改善專注的表現,但除了做功課外,我們更應鼓勵他們在其他方面發展,如果能讓學童找到興趣及能力,建立其成功感,他們在各方面也會有改善。
 
專業分享2:台山商會學校學生支援主任 ─ 蔡楚英老師 
主題:協助有特殊學習需要的學童建立學業以外的成就感,看到他們專注和認真的一面
 
台山商會學校是參與非洲鼓班研究的其中一間學校,蔡主任第一次看到學童表演後,被他們的專注和認真打動,因而讓他們在畢業禮上作開幕表演。蔡主任認為在中心及學校中運用「強項為本」模式能為學童建立成就感,而家長亦肯定學童建立成就感後出現的變化。最後,蔡主任認為和救世軍的青少年綜合服務協作,提供了另一個環境進行訓練,能強化學生的專注和社交能力。
 
關於非洲鼓班
 
救世軍青年、家庭及社區服務為一羣專注力不足/過度活躍的學童提供以藝術手法為主的多元化支援服務。非洲鼓班是其中一種藝術手法,希望能為上述學童搭建展示才能的平台,提升他們的成就和自尊感,透過不同的表演機會,讓更多社區人士認同和肯定他們的能力。計劃將於2017年5月20日,在屯門大會堂舉辦一場非洲鼓音樂劇,來自區內學校近50位學生將參與演出,向大眾傳達SEN學童只要找到他們的舞台也可以成功的信息。
救世軍與學校和專業人士合作...
卓為(左)和仲言(右)參加...
精神科醫生田毅華
台山商會學校學生支援主任蔡楚英