Media Centre
The Salvation Army Health & Care Express
The First Mobile Service Station for Street Sleepers in Hong Kong
In a prosperous city like Hong Kong, we can still find homeless people living in dark corners. They are struggling with continuous unemployment, physical or mental illness. To help the homeless in the entire territory, The Salvation Army set up the first-ever mobile service station for street sleepers – “Health & Care Express” – in Hong Kong in September 2014, providing them with on-site health check-ups, nutrient food, employment information and support, etc. After a year of operation, The Salvation Army held a ceremony today (28 November) at Soccer Field, Macpherson Playground, Mongkok to thank for the support of The Community Chest of Hong Kong and the commitment of volunteers.
Since the 1980s, The Salvation Army has been serving the homeless in Hong Kong. The “Integrated Service for Street Sleepers” was formed in 2004 to provide a one-stop service to the homeless, including emergency assistance, temporary shelter, counselling, job referral, life transition support, etc. Between 2010 and 2012, The Salvation Army gained financial support from The Community Chest of Hong Kong to launch the “Strong As You Are” Project, which was newly designed for helping middle-aged single male street sleepers to build and develop a healthy lifestyle to avoid repeated street sleeping.
With the funding of The Community Chest of Hong Kong, The Salvation Army commenced the three-year project “Health & Care Express” – Mobile Service Station for Street Sleepers in 2014. This is the first-ever mobile station to spot and care for the homeless people suffering from physical or mental health problems, or long-term unemployment in the entire territory of Hong Kong. Voluntary programmes like “Cure Angels” Community Health Service Spots, “Night Guardians” and “A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhancement Volunteerism help consolidate individual’s efforts to give the street sleepers a greater support. 
Cure Angels
A team of medical professionals and medical students volunteer to pay regular visits to the homeless, monitoring their physical and mental health conditions by on-site health examinations, basic medical treatment, escorting services for medical consultations and medical referrals. “Cure Angels” has helped Ah Kuen, a street sleeper with mental illness, to receive treatment. Two years ago, Kuen left home and disappeared. Although she was later found on the street, she suffered from mental disorder and refused to return home with her family. The Salvation Army social workers and “Cure Angels” then gave a helping hand to Kuen’s family. Observing the abnormal expression and behaviour of Ah Kuen, Dr Larina Yim Chi-lap, a psychiatrist, confirmed that Kuen had mental problem and lacked self-care ability. A health report was written for policemen and ambulance workers to send Ah Kuen to hospital for mental treatment.
Night Guardians
Volunteers receive training and pay regular visits to the street sleepers. Volunteer Toey said that the “Night Guardians” Programme helped her understand the importance of “love and respect”. The homeless need “love and respect” to find hope and their own value. 
“A.C.T.I.O.N.” Work Enhancement Volunteerism
Ex-street sleepers and other people from the community provide domestic cleansing, home relocation or small-scale renovation services to grassroots families. The volunteer team has helped a weak and poor lady to lay plastic floor tiles and conduct cleansing before she moves in her public rental housing flat, so that she needed not worry about the renovation cost.
In the following two years, The Salvation Army Health & Care Express will move on. Please join us to care for the homeless. You are welcome to contact us at 3188 5646 or
Officiating guests apprecia...
Cure Angels: psychiatrist D...
Ms Carol Yip Man-kuen, Dire...
"Night Guardian" Toey pays...

新聞中心
救世軍無「窮」健康列車
全港首個露宿者流動服務站
上一頁
在繁華的背後,有不少露宿者隱藏在香港的街角,他們因為身、心健康問題或持續失業而淪落街頭,亟待援手。為了發現那些已經與外界隔絕的露宿者,救世軍於2014年9月成立全港首個露宿者流動服務站 — 「無『窮』健康列車」,主動接觸各區的露宿者,為他們提供即時身體檢查、傷口處理、營養膳食、就業及資訊支援等服務。計劃運作一年後,今天(11月28日)於旺角麥花臣遊樂場足球場舉行典禮,感謝香港公益金的資助和義工對無家者服務的支持。
 
救世軍於八十年代正式開展本港的露宿者服務;2004年轉型為「露宿者綜合服務」,提供一站式支援,服務包括緊急支援、臨時住宿、心理輔導、工作轉介、生活適應支援等。於2010年至2012年,救世軍獲香港公益金資助推行《城中漢子》計劃,開拓單身中年男性露宿者服務,強化他們的生活技能及身心健康,減少重覆露宿街頭的情況。
 
在香港公益金的支持下,救世軍於2014年推行為期三年的「無『窮』健康列車 — 露宿者流動服務站」,成為全港首個以「外展車形式」,無分區域地主動探訪全港露宿者的服務計劃;再配合針對性的項目:「醫護天使」、「夜行守護者」、「動漢子義工隊」,令工作更全面關心露宿者的需要。
 
醫護天使
由醫護人員和醫護學生組成義工隊,定期探訪露宿者及跟進其身心健康需要,並提供身體檢查、基本治療、護送就診及轉介服務。「醫護天使」曾經協助有精神問題的露宿者阿娟得到醫治。患有精神病的阿娟,兩年前失蹤;後來,家人發現她在街頭露宿,雖然用盡方法說服她離開街頭,無奈精神錯亂的她不肯聽從。直至救世軍社工和「醫護天使」義工介入,精神科醫生義工嚴始立將阿娟胡言亂語、把街市的生肉直接放進口的怪異行為撰寫在健康評估報告上,才可以聯絡救護員和警察將阿娟送到醫院,接受強制治療。雖然幫助阿娟的過程非一帆風順,但最終她得到治療,不再露宿街頭。
 
阿娟的外甥女表示:「『醫護天使』確實令到好似阿姨一樣,有嚴重精神病的露宿者得到治療。沒有救世軍社工和醫護義工的幫助,我哋根本睇唔到希望。」
 
夜行守護者
由社區人士組成義工隊,接受不同訓練,定期探訪露宿者,紓緩他們的各種需要。義工Toey表示,「夜行守護者」義工計劃令她明白「愛與尊重」的重要。無家者需要「愛與尊重」,讓他們知道自己是有價值的人,重燃他們對生命的盼望。
 
動漢子義工隊
由前露宿者與社區人士組成義工隊,受訓後協助基層家庭提供家居清潔、搬遷或小型裝修服務。「動漢子義工」曾經幫助一位健康欠佳的女士鋪膠地板和作入伙前清潔,他們的付出令女士愉快地遷入苦候多年的公屋,免卻籌措裝修費的煩惱。
 
在未來兩年,救世軍「無『窮』健康列車」將繼續出發,期望有更多有義工參與,讓更多有需要的人士受惠。查詢電話3188 5646,電郵tl-isss@ssd.salvation.org.hk。
主禮嘉賓欣賞流動服務站關注...
「醫護天使」:精神科醫生嚴...
社會福利署署長葉文娟(中)...
「夜行守護者」Toey定期探訪...