Media Centre
The Salvation Army x Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants & Related Trades
Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme Appreciation Ceremony
back

The Green plus Work Safety Chef Training Scheme organised by The Salvation Army and Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants & Related Trades Limited (HKFORT) is fully supported by Hong Kong Electric, with Labour Department, Occupational Safety & Health Council and Qualifications Framework Secretariat as supporting organisations. The two terms of training courses have been arranged for the middle-aged and the youth who are interested in becoming chefs and related professionals in the catering industry. Today (26 October 2017), the Appreciation Ceremony was held, with Mr Mak Ping-sang, Chief Occupational Safety Officer of Labour Department, Mr Lee Yuen-hong, Chairman of Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants and Related Trades, Mr Choi Wai-man, General Manager (Customer Services) of Hong Kong Electric and Mr Raymond Lai, Chief Manger, The Salvation Army Social Services Department (Youth, Family and Community Services) as the officiating guests.

 

The Scheme aims to boost the employability of the participants and to provide chefs and related professionals for corporates, creating a win-win situation. Through this Scheme, persons interested in the catering industry are provided with a two-week intensive training on knife skills, cooking techniques of Chinese and Western cuisine, usage of eco-friendly electrical cooking appliances and occupational health and safety. Upon completion of the training course, participants have the opportunities to seek apprenticeship in partnering restaurants, where senior staff will help them adapt to the working environment and on-the-job training will be provided, while Salvation Army social workers will be coordinating.

 

A total of 32 persons aged 17 to 62 have joined the two terms of training courses. 18 of them were employed by the supporting restaurants, including Tai Hing Catering Group, Sportful Garden Restaurant of Fulum Group and Congee House Management Holding Ltd,.

 

Case Sharing 1: Young dares to dream again

Tin-hoi, 20, stayed idle at home during his senior high school years. He worked in various industries temporarily, including wet market property management, supermarkets, and serving as a waiter in cha chaan teng (Hong Kong-style diners), but each time his employment only lasted a few months. Later, Tin-hoi enrolled in the Youth Employment and Training Programme and a chef training course organised by The Salvation Army. Within two weeks, he learnt about the production procedures in catering service, occupational safety and health, understanding of kitchen knives, knife skills, etc., and practised at the ‘electric commercial kitchen’ of Hong Kong Electric. During a recruitment session of partnering catering enterprises, Tin-hoi was hired by Tai Hing Catering Group for his good performance. He has been working in the Tokyo Tsukiji restaurant of the Group for half a year. Tin-hoi has gained a sense of satisfaction and developed an interest in cooking from his work. He was also commended by his co-workers, mentors and the executive chef. Now Tin-hoi aims to work hard and save up enough money to further study culinary art in Japan to equip himself.

 

Case Sharing 2: Street-sleepers rebuilds life

Yee, 56, has been sleeping in the streets and taking up odd-jobs for a living. He worked as a cross-border truck driver before, but he began living out in the streets after losing his job. The Salvation Army social worker reached out to Yee and encouraged him to join the training scheme. Now, Yee is working as a kitchen assistant at ‘Trusty Congee King’. Yee said the company uses semi-automatic frying pans. It helps middle-aged persons to get used to work sooner as the work is not as tough as one may have imagined. Yee now lives in a Salvation Army hostel. He aims to save up some money from his work in order to rent a place and rebuild his life in a stable home.

 

Case Sharing 3: Teenage life planning

19-year-old Leo lost the direction in his life when facing all sorts of problems and lacking support in life. Encouraged by the social worker, Leo joined the training scheme, and was hired by Sportful Garden Restaurant as a kitchen assistant after receiving the training. With the encouragement and support from social workers and his mentors, Leo now works and learns proactively, planning for his life.

 

There was also a session of on-site cooking demonstration by participants of the scheme and tasting with the guests.

 

 

About Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants & Related Trades

Hong Kong Federation of Restaurants & Related Trades (HKFORT) is a politically impartial and non-profit-making organisation jointly formed by management professionals of restaurants and related trades. Founded in 1999, HKFORT has been committed to uniting the industry, strengthening cohesion and promoting the development of the catering industry. Its members are among Chinese restaurants, western and special restaurants, chain eateries, cha chaan teng (Hong Kong-style diners) as well as corporates, owners and management from restaurants and related trades. Currently, HKFORT has over 1,000 corporate members, representing approximately over 6,000 catering enterprises.

 

About HK Electric

The Hongkong Electric Company, Limited (HK Electric) has been serving Hong Kong for over 125 years, providing a safe, reliable and clean electricity supply to both business and residential communities. HK Electric is committed to supporting sustainable development in Hong Kong. In addition to using cleaner energy to reduce emission, the Company is also committed to developing and using renewable energy. HK Electric is dedicated to promoting electric cooking and helping the catering industry to enhance work safety and health in order to improve working environments. The ‘electric commercial kitchen’ of HK Electric located in North Point showcases different types of electric cooking equipment and provides on-site cooking equipment demonstration.

Cooking demonstration by pa...
Officiating guests take a p...
A group photo of guests of ...
Participant Yee and his men...
Cooking demonstration by pa...

新聞中心
救世軍x餐飲聯
「環保 · 職安健廚師培育計劃」嘉許禮
上一頁

「環保 · 職安健廚師培育計劃」兩期課程由救世軍、香港餐飲聯業協會有限公司(餐飲聯)合辦,香港電燈有限公司全力支持,勞工處、職業安全健康局、資歷架構秘書處為支持機構,培育有志加入餐飲業的中年及年青人成為本地餐飲業專才。嘉許禮於今日(2017年10月26日)舉行,邀請到勞工處總職業安全主任麥平生先生、香港餐飲聯業協會主席李遠康先生、香港電燈有限公司客戶服務總經理蔡偉民先生和救世軍社會服務部(青年、家庭及社區服務)總經理賴君豪先生擔任主禮嘉賓。

 

計劃幫助學員提升就業力,同時為企業提供有潛質的廚務專才,建立雙贏局面。計劃向有意投身餐飲業的人士提供兩星期密集訓練,教授實務知識如刀法應用、中西烹調技巧、電能環保設備、職安健等。學員完成課程後有機會在合作企業實習,由資深同事協助適應和提供在職培訓,救世軍社工從中協調。

 

兩期課程共訓練了32名學員,年齡介乎17歲至62歲,其中18人獲聘進入餐飲行業,曾參與計劃的餐飲集團包括太興飲食集團、富臨集團陶源酒家、心粥館管理集團等。

 

個案分享(一):迷失青年重拾夢想


天海現年20歲,高中時隱蔽在家,曾在多個行業短暫工作,如街市物業管理、超市、茶餐廳侍應等,最長只維持數個月。他後來報讀展翅青見課程,參加了救世軍的廚師培育課程。兩星期內學習餐飲出品部流程、職安健、刀具認識及刀法應用等,並到港燈「商電廚房」實習。合作的餐飲企業前來招聘,天海表現良好獲聘於太興飲食集團旗下的「築地」工作,至今已半年。天海在工作中獲得滿足感,培養了煮食興趣,而且獲同事、師傅及總廚讚賞。他現在希望努力工作儲錢,一年後到日本讀書,繼續鑽研廚藝及裝備自己。

 

個案分享(二):露宿者重建生活

阿義現年56歲,一直露宿街頭,做散工維生,曾當中港貨車司機,後來失業露宿飄泊。救世軍社工主動接觸鼓勵,他參加了計劃接受培訓,現於「靠得住」擔任廚房助理。阿義表示公司使用半自動炒鑊,沒有想像中那麼辛苦,能夠幫助中年人士加快適應工作。現時阿義入住救世軍宿舍,目標透過工作儲錢租樓,覓得穩定居所重建生活。

 

個案分享(三):青年規劃生涯


Leo現年19歲,生活欠缺支援,面對重重困難,失去人生方向,在社工鼓勵下參加計劃,培訓後獲陶源酒家聘請做廚務助理,得到社工和師傅的鼓勵和支持,現積極工作和學習,規劃人生。

 

嘉許禮亦加入學員即場廚藝示範及嘉賓試食的環節。

 

 

關於餐飲聯

香港餐飲聯業協會(簡稱餐飲聯)是一個由餐飲業及有關聯業管理人士聯合組成的政治中立及非牟利團體。自1999年創會至今,均致力以團結業界、凝聚力量及推廣餐飲業務發展為宗旨,會員遍及中式酒樓、西式及特色餐廳、連鎖式食肆、茶餐廳及飲食聯業的公司、經營者、管理層等,現時會員機構超過1,000間,而會員代表餐飲企業約6,000間以上。

 

關於港燈

香港電燈有限公司(港燈)服務香港超過一百二十五年,一直致力為客戶提供安全、可靠和潔淨的電力。港燈承諾支持香港的可持續發展,除積極使用更潔淨的能源以減低排放外,亦致力開發及使用可再生能源。港燈亦致力推廣電能煮食,助餐飲業界提升職安健,並改善員工的工作環境。位於北角的港燈「商電廚房」,除展示不同類型的電能煮食設備,亦提供即席的廚具示範。

 

學員天海廚藝示範
主禮嘉賓與支持機構代表合照。
畢業學員與嘉賓大合照。
學員阿義與師傅分享經驗。
學員阿義廚藝示範