Media Centre
Opinion Poll of The Salvation Army Joint Committee for Senior Citizens
Voice of the Elderly to Chief Executive Candidates
back
As the elderly population continues to grow, the needs and views of senior citizens are important to the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government. The coming election of the HKSAR Chief Executive offers an opportunity for the senior citizens served by The Salvation Army to reflect their opinions. Therefore, a press conference was held today (17 March 2017) to announce the nine priority concerns of the elderly people to be addressed by the Chief Executive candidates.
 
The Salvation Army continually cares for people in need and employs its influence at every level of society and government so as to transform their lives. In December 2016, the Army’s Joint Committee for Senior Citizens conducted the project “Users’ Views on Age-friendly Policy Measures for Candidates of HKSAR Chief Executive”. By the end of January 2017, a total of 1,429 elderly people participated in an opinion poll. Based on the eight topic areas of “Age-friendly City of World Health Organization” and the issue of retirement protection, the participating elders selected the top nine areas of concern which are expected to be addressed by the new-term Government.
 
Users’ View
 
  1. Housing: Provide more residential places of subvented homes
  2. Social participation: Increase the number of elderly centres to provide easier access to elderly services
  3. Respect and social inclusion: The Government should take a leading role to promote respect and social inclusion to the elderly when making elderly related policies
  4. Civic participation and employment: Extend the retirement age and retain the young-old in the labour market
  5. Communication and information exchange: Increase the number of elderly centres as a platform to help senior citizens effectively acquire information 
  6. Transportation: Strengthen the training of public transport drivers to deepen their understanding of the elders’ needs for them to provide support to the elderly on their journeys
  7. Outdoor spaces and buildings: Increase the number of road safety facilities to ensure the safety of elderly road users
  8. Community support and health services: Increase medical resources and manpower of public hospitals, so as to improve service quality and patient wait times.
  9. Retirement protection: Elders shall enjoy the basic right to a non-means tested retirement protection scheme.
 
Case: Elders Affected by Chronic Disease (community and health services)
 
Ms Ho Kong-kei, aged 68, mainly relies on her own savings for living. In October 2016, she had fallen over twice and injured the bones of her knees. With doctor’s referral, she sought specialist treatments. However, her consultation appointment date in public hospital was arranged to be 1 November 2019. The pain was too unbearable that she went to see a Chinese bone-setter, planning to receive five times of treatment at a cost of $300 each. Due to financial difficulty, she only received the treatment twice and bought over-the-counter medicated oil to relieve her pain.
 
Ms Ho hopes that the government will increase medical resources to improve the services of public hospitals, reduce the patient waiting time for specialist treatment, or even let patients receive medical assessments upon presentation of a doctor’s referral letter.
 
Case: Elders Living Alone (retirement protection)
 
Ms Ho Lai-bing, aged 86, is living in an old apartment in Yaumatei. The job of selling dim sum in a restaurant and the medical expenses on her late husband made her savings limited. Currently, she relies on the government’s Old Age Living Allowance which is about $2,000 per month and her meager savings. To cope with daily expenses, she leads a frugal life. She goes to the market just before it closes and takes a long walk to the market in Mongkok to buy cheaper food. For social and leisure activities, she always participates in the low-cost and free ones organised by elderly centres but rarely joins the outdoor activities with a higher fee. Ms Ho hopes that the government will launch a non-means tested retirement protection scheme so that the elderly need not worry about their daily expenses.

 

About The Salvation Army Joint Committee for Senior Citizens

Since 1970s, The Salvation Army has been fostering mutual help among the elderly and raising their attention to the elderly policies, so as to strengthen their role and participation in society. The Salvation Army Joint Committee for Senior Citizens is a voluntary group formed by the elected members of The Salvation Army Elder Committees and representatives of Salvation Army elderly service units/ groups.

The Committee helps to strengthen the connection between different Elder Committees and the development of the committee members. The Committee, as one of the active elderly groups, is concerned about social policies related to the elderly and helps to reflect the elders’ opinions.

 

Ms Lo Yuk-ping, Chairperson...
The participants show the n...
A senior citizen is enthusi...

新聞中心
救世軍長者聯席委員會意見調查
長者最想向特首候選人說的話
上一頁
隨着高齡人口持續增長,長者的需要及意見值得特區政府的關注。救世軍有見香港特別行政區行政長官選舉在即,於今日(2017年3月17日)舉行發佈會,列舉九項長者認為候任特首需要優先回應的長者政策,向行政長官候選人提出意見。
 
救世軍一直關懷有需要的人士,並在政府及社會各個階層中,運用我們的力量,讓生命得到改變。因此救世軍協助屬下的長者聯席委員會,於2016年12月至2017年1月推行「長者最想向候任特首說的話」活動計劃,藉焦點小組討論收集長者意見後,根據世界衛生組織提出的八項「長者友善社區」主題,並「長者退休後的經濟保障」作議題,由1,429位長者投票選出九項應得到新一屆政府優先回應的長者政策。
 
長者意見
 
  1. 住屋:應提供更多津助院舍宿位
  2. 社會參與:增加長者中心數目,便利長者使用服務
  3. 尊重和包容:政府應帶頭肯定、尊重及包容長者,並將之視為制訂安老政策的方向
  4. 公民參與和就業:延遲長者退休年齡,讓有能力之長者繼續在勞工市場中就業
  5. 信息交流:增加長者中心數量,讓長者更有效獲取資訊
  6. 交通:關注各類公共交通工具司機的態度,要加強業界培訓,認識長者的需要,因應情況為乘車長者提供支援
  7. 室外空間和建築:增加道路安全設備,以保障長者安全使用道路
  8. 社區支援及健康服務:投放更多醫療資源,增加醫管局醫院人手,縮短輪候時間,提升服務質素
  9. 退休保障:長者應享有一個免審查的退休保障,作為基本權利

個案:受長期病患困擾的長者(社區支援及健康服務)
 
賀岡禧女士,68歲,主要靠個人積蓄生活。她於2016年10月曾跌倒兩次,膝蓋骨受傷疼痛,經醫生轉介到專科求診。但賀女士獲公立醫院編配的診症期為2019年11月1日,因痛楚難當,她便前往跌打館求診。原訂進行五次各收費300元的跌打療程,但因財政緊絀,她只接受了兩次。賀女士現仍時常感到痛楚,只在坊間購買藥油緩和痛感。
 
賀女士期望政府可增加醫療開支,改善公營醫院的服務,縮短專科覆診的輪候時間,甚或在提交轉介信時可接受醫生評估,加快輪候速度。
 
個案:有經濟困難的獨居長者(退休保障)
 
何麗冰女士,86歲,獨居於油麻地的舊樓單位,每月靠政府二千多元的「長者生活津貼」和有限的積蓄來生活。何女士退休前在酒樓賣點心,丈夫則患病多年後去世;面對各種的生活開支,何女士日常生活非常節儉。她為了購買廉宜的餸菜,經常趁菜市場關門前才購買;亦會長途跋涉地到較遠的旺角街市買菜。社交康樂活動方面,她主要參與中心舉辦的免費或價格低廉的活動,而收費較高的戶外活動則不會參加。何女士希望政府推行免審查全民退休保障,讓長者不需要為應付日常生活支出而憂慮。
 
關於救世軍長者聯席委員會
 
救世軍自七十年代起,致力倡導長者互助和積極關注長者政策,藉此讓長者體驗社會充權及用者參與的力量和樂趣。而「救世軍長者聯席委員會」是由本軍屬下長者服務單位的互委會推選或由單位/羣組主管委派代表產生的自務組織。
 
聯委會不單能促進機構內不同互委會之間的聯繫及強化其委員的發展,更關注與長者生活息息相關的各項社會政策,積極反映長者的訴求,成為同類長者組織的中流砥柱。
救世軍長者聯席委員會主席盧...
長者列出九項下屆政府需要優...
出席長者積極發表意見。