Publications
Cover Story
back

Retirees to be online influencers

We are now in the era that everyone can become an influencer on internet. Some young-old retirees are also interested in this trend. They are serious about making videos and hope to turn themselves into influencers, sharing their experiences and knowledge to the world. One of them is Toby, who is in his 50s and was one of the first batch of students who finished the course of The Salvation Army's 'Knowledge Influencer Training Programme'. Outgoing and creative, Toby has created humorous videos that introduce the profession of interior design. His works show that retirees can also be full of energy and well connected with the society.

Expressing ideas on videos
Video making is an essential skill for online influencers. This is also a fun challenge for retirees. Toby was not a beginner of video making; every year for different  festivals he would make some fun videos with his family and send them to their relatives as festival greetings.

'Before the class I would only do some low-tech special effects, but after the class I have learnt that filming and
editing can be done so professionally. We learnt script writing, directing, filming, editing and how to create and
execute the whole production, which allow us to fully present our ideas. We also learnt many practical skills.
This class was a learning opportunity and challenge and I was so happy to see my achievements.'

Inspirations usually come from daily life. Toby's first creation was about interior design – the profession in which he had engaged in for over 30 years. Since this area involves a very wide range of professional knowledge, Toby understood that it was quite impossible to catch viewers' attention in the vast internet if he just presents the content in a straight forward way. He decided to twist it a bit and just be playful. He let go of the image of a professional interior designer and presented the content in a humorous way. 'The video tries to bring out, in a way with humour and easy to  understand, some practical issues people may encounter when they do interior decoration or renovation, such as things to pay attention when choosing materials. I hope it can provide some useful information for the viewers.'

Many retirees would find themselves at a loss after retirement. Before they were so committed to their work, that once they stopped working they might feel a great sense of emptiness and boredom. Toby has also gone through that stage, so he knows about the importance of continuous learning. Participating in the Programme allowed him to learn something new and re-connect with society or even the globe, making it easier for him to pursue his dreams.

'With internet, it is now much easier and simpler to start one's career and  business, or create one's own brand.'

Purposeful retirement life
The 'Knowledge Influencer Training Programme' of The Salvation Army aims to train retirees to be influencers. That means, instead of sharing personal thoughts or daily life happenings, they share with viewers informative knowledge such as their professional knowledge, or useful techniques that can be used in daily life. As retirees have rich life experience and a wide range of knowledge, they have great advantages in sharing those assets online, which may help them to create more opportunities or even new careers. At the same time their know-how can be passed on to the next generation.

Ms. Joyce Ho, the marketing and development manager of the Programme said,

'After the retirement, retirees can still be active and stay connected with the society. In the Programmer, retirees learn
how to create and produce a 3-minute short film, putting their ideas on screen. Our next step will be co-operating
with enterprises and innovation and technology companies to help these retirees to run a subscription service,
allowing them to have a source of income and a channel to create a new career.'


About 'Knowledge Influencer Training Programme'
The programme aims to inspire young-old retirees to share with young people and incorporates through online platforms their working experiences, daily life techniques or personal insights, Passing on these intellectual Assets and at the same time earning income. The course of the programme will teach retirees how to build up personal image and run their personal brands, helping them to live with confidence and be active in the society and in their lives.

Course information Smartphone videography for beginners
To teach students how to take a video with mobile phones from beginning and  provide trainings during lessons.

Details: Basics for videography, composition skills, angle for filming, lighting, operating boom mics, and more

Applicants: Aged 45 or above; people who would like to record their lives through mobile phones, love to travel but not eager to carry a heavy camera, or share travel and daily lives through vlogs

Lesson format: In centre or online broadcast

Venue: Unit 1-3, G/F Yat Tung House, Tung Tau Estate, Wong Tai Sin (The Salvation Army Senior Citizens Talent Advancement Project Tung Tau Centre)

Enquiry and Applications: 2340 0266/ 5448 6377 (WhatsApp)

 

 

Toby, who is in his 50s and...
Participants of the Program...
Toby shares his experience ...
Some graphic design techniq...
Some graphic design techniq...

出版刊物
封面故事
上一页

培训退休人士做网红

在这个人人都有机会成为「网络红人(网红)」的年代,一群退而不休的年轻长者也不输蚀,他们正认真学习拍片,期望投身「知识型网红」行列,向人分享累积多年的丰富经验和知识。50 多岁的Toby 是救世军「知识型网红培育计划」的首届毕业生,性格外向又谂头多的他,制作幽默贴地的短片向人介绍室内设计这门专业,展现出退休人士也能充满活力,与社会接轨。

创作影片实践想法
制作短片是「网红」不可或缺的一项技能,对退休人士而言,更是一个好玩的挑战。Toby 并非拍片初哥,平时每逢过时过节他都会与家人一起构思搞笑的影片,向亲朋戚友送上祝福。当时他对拍片和剪接其实没多大概念,也没想过原来寻常事也可以认真做,他说:

「以前最多会玩玩土炮特技,上完堂才知道,拍片剪片可以好专业,在课程里,我们学习编剧、导演、
拍摄、剪接,一手一脚构思和完成整个制作,可以将自己的想法实践之余,又学到许多实用的技巧。
这是一个学习和挑战的过程,见到成果会觉得很满足。」

意念取材自日常生活,Toby 创作的第一条影片,就是关于他从事30 多年的室内设计。由于这是个非常专业的范畴,加上网络世界资讯泛滥,Toby 明白到假如用平铺直叙的方法去介绍,根本不会令人产生兴趣。他脑筋一转,想到不如「玩得放啲」,抛开室内设计师的专业形象,用幽默方式向观众介绍,「影片用轻松和贴地的手法带出一般人在室内设计和装修上一些实在的问题,例如选料要注意的事项,希望可以为观众提供一些实用知识。」

很多退休人士在退休后会觉得突然失去了寄托,空虚感来袭,昔日寄情工作,现在无需再在工作岗位上打拼,会感到百无聊赖。经历过这种空虚感,Toby 更感到不断学习的重要性;计划让他接触到全新的领域,与社会,甚至世界接轨,而且更容易实践理想。

「网上平台令开拓个人事业或做生意的门槛低了很多,更容易建立属于自己的品牌。」

充实人生下半场
救世军这个计划培训退休人士成为「知识型网红」,与一般分享个人想法或生活逸事的「网红」的分别,在于前者着重带给观众知识性的资讯,例如职业上的专业知识、生活智慧等;而退休人士正好具备这方面的优势,他们经历多、知识广,透过科技和社交平台,让他们也可以为自己创造机会,在人生下半场开拓新事业,与此同时将知识传承。

计划的市场及业务发展经理何美仪表示:

「退休人士在退休后,仍然可以活跃于社会,与时并进。计划会教授退休人士构思和制作分钟的短片,
将想法实践。下一步我们将与企业和创科公司合作,以付费观看影片的方式,令退休人士可以赚取收入,开展新事业。」


关于「知识型网红培育计划」
让退休的年轻长者透过网络平台,向年轻人及企业分享工作经验、生活智慧及品味等,藉此将知识传承,同时赚取收入。培训课程会教授退休人士如何建立形象及经营个人品牌,让他们活出自信,也继续活跃于社会,充实人生。

【课程推介】手机拍摄入门班
课堂上即时实战,教学员由零开始拍摄影片!内容:拍摄基础知识、构图技巧、拍摄角度、灯光配合及收音等

对象:45 岁以上;想尝试用手机拍片记录生活片段、喜欢旅行却不想带笨重相机,或想拍Vlog 分享旅游或生活资讯的人士

上课形式:于中心上堂或以进行网上直播

上课形式:于中心上堂或以进行网上直播

中心地址:黄大仙东头村逸东楼地下1-3 号(救世军耆才拓展计划东头中心)

查询及报名2340 0266 / 5448 6377 (WhatsApp)

 

 

 

50 多岁的Toby 是救世军「知...
参加计划的退休人士在课堂上...
Toby 与其他学员交流拍摄心得。
参加者亦会涉猎图像设计,为...
参加者亦会涉猎图像设计,为...