Media Centre
General Brian Peddle Presents Easter Message 2020
back

So here's the question: What have you given up?

As Easter approaches, many people will be looking forward to the end of Lent so they can give up giving up! As is the custom in many parts of the world, some will have stopped eating cakes or chocolate, while others have stepped back from their use of social media. In the midst of all of this, there is a danger that our actions become trivial, yet millions of believers use the act of giving up as a spiritual discipline. This practice heightens our awareness of a holy time. I thought I could give up coffee - but I’m not sure that would do much good to me or, perhaps even more so, for the people around me! I have decided to track the value of my coffee and I'll make that an extra gift to my self-denial.

The act of giving up, sacrificing something, is at the very heart of the Easter story. Those of you who have read my Easter message will recall that I explored the links between the ultimate sacrifice made by Christ on the Cross and the benefits brought about by this utterly selfless act. ‘The punishment that brought us peace was on him,’ as we read in Isaiah, ‘and by his wounds we are healed.’ It is amazing that we can have peace because of Christ’s punishment; that his injuries bring us healing. It doesn’t even seem fair!

The world understands the idea of sacrifice that leads to our own benefits - people work hard so they can play hard; they scrimp and they save so they can buy something important; those who work out in the gym go through pain so they can gain better health and the feeling of wellbeing. But great sacrifice in order that others can benefit? Well, who would really do that?

I have led a blessed life, but not without sacrifice. Like all Salvation Army officers, I have given up control of where I live and what my role might be; I've given that into the hands of The Salvation Army. I don’t lack for essentials, but my giving up of control has led to one significant sacrifice - I live thousands of miles away from my family and along with my children and grandchildren we live in three different parts of the world. That separation sometimes creates some hurt and longing, and sometimes a deep heartache and yearning. When things go wrong or, equally, when there are times of celebration, I really do want to be there. I don’t just want to be aware!

Yes there are times, when I am aware of my physical separation from my loved ones, but nothing could compare to the dynamic of separation that helps me focus on Jesus crying out on the Cross – ‘My God, why have you forsaken me?’ If I feel the pain of being separated from my family, how much more did God experience pain in being separated from his Son, with whom he has shared a deep intimacy for all of eternity. The ultimate sacrifice was made and, amazingly - heartbreakingly - it was made for me. It was made for you, whoever and wherever you are. In comparison, there is surely nothing we could give up to make things square with our Creator.

The joyful reality, of course, is that he doesn’t ask us to make a great, painful, significant sacrifice. Instead, he asks us to follow his simple instructions - to love God and to love one other. Doing this fully will involve sacrifices on our part. We can’t ever ignore the appeal to ‘take up our cross and follow him’ So we give of our time, our wealth, our talents. We explore what it means to surrender to him knowing that we will give, and he will use what we give.

In the parable of the sheep and the goats, Jesus explains to his followers that when they give food and drink to the hungry and thirsty, when they take in the stranger or clothe the destitute, when they look after the sick or visit the prisoner, they are doing all these small acts of sacrifice for the one who gave up everything for them. Because each of these endeavours has a cost for the person giving help, whether that is through giving up of time or attention or through paying for food, drink or clothing. It’s crystal clear that this is God’s way’s selfless giving in order that others can benefit.

So I’m asking you. I’m asking you again - what have you given up? And what will you give, so that God’s way can be followed?

My Salvation Army uniform, like that worn by hundreds of thousands of Salvationists around the world, has an ‘S’ on each lapel. These letters remind me every time I put on my tunic that we who follow Christ through The Salvation Army are called to ‘Save to Serve’ Recently, while traversing a border entry into a country, the attendant shared with his colleague for all to hear...’Salvation Army - Saved to Serve.’ Upon inquiry he noted his ignorance about us but knew we were a ‘Serving’ Army. Saved, Serving and familiar with Sacrifice.

This Easter Sunday, as you celebrate the glorious victory over death of our risen Saviour; as you emerge from your Lenten life adjustments and happily dive back into the cake and the chocolate, or log back into your social media, I pray that this spirit of sacrifice will stay with you. And as Christ calls us again to give of ourselves to help what he called ‘the least of our brothers and sisters of mine’, I pray that you will follow his lead in selfless giving and living so that others may have life in all its fullness every day.

May God bless you.

新闻中心
大将复活节文告2020
上一页

想想这问题:你付出了甚么?

复活节将至,很多人期待预苦期的结束,好让他们不用再付出!世界各地都有这样的风俗,有人会暂停吃蛋糕或朱古力等甜品,有人会稍为减少使用社交媒体。在这一切当中 ,我们的行动或会过于琐细,但数以百万计的信徒仍以牺牲作属灵操练,这项操练增加我们对圣洁的意识。我想放弃喝咖啡,但我不太确定这举动对于我,以至身边的人有何好处。我决定计算咖啡的价值,并以该价值作额外的克己礼物。

舍弃和牺牲的行动就是复活节故事的核心。如你读过我的复活节文告,会记得当中曾经探讨,基督在十架上终极牺牲的无私行动及其带来的好处,两者有何关连。在以赛亚书,我们读到「因祂受的惩罚,我们得平安……」 ;「因祂受的鞭伤,我们得医治。」因基督受罚,我们得平安;因祂受的伤,我们得医治。这是多么神奇,却多么不公平!

世人认为,我们的牺牲对我们自己有好处。人们努力工作,好能尽情玩乐;他们省吃俭用,然后买重要的东西;在健身室辛辛苦苦运动,好叫体格强健、身心健康。可是,作出重大牺牲为了让别人得到好处?有谁会这样做?

我的生命满有祝福,却也有所牺牲。跟所有救世军军官一样,对于在哪里生活,担当甚么角色,我放弃了自主权,全都交由救世军决定。我不缺必需品,但放弃自主权,也带来一项重大牺牲,就是要跟家人相距十万百千里。我跟我的子女和孙儿,分别生活在世界上三个不同地方。分隔两地有时会使我难过,渴望相见,有时会感到心痛和相思之苦。当他们出了岔子或有甚么值得庆祝,我不想单单知道,而是想跟他们在一起!

的确,有时我会在意自己和挚爱分隔两地,但都比不上那一次的分离令我动容。我专注思想耶稣在十架上高呼:「我的神!我的神!为甚么离弃我?」若我为着和家人分离而感到痛苦,那么,神要跟祂的儿子,永恒地深爱的儿子分开,必定感到更加痛苦。祂已作出终极的牺牲,奇妙却又令人心碎的是,那牺牲是为了我,为了你和任何地方的所有人而作。相比之下,我们放弃的一切,跟造物主的牺牲实在无可比拟。

当然,我们可幸的是, 祂没有要求我们作出痛苦的重大牺牲;反之,祂只叫我们遵从简单的命令:爱主和彼此相爱。要完全做到这一点,我们需要作出牺牲。我们不可忽视这呼召:背起自己的十字架来跟从祂。我们因而付上时间、财富和才能。我们探讨给祂奉献是甚么意思。我们知道,只要我们付出,祂就会使用我们所献。

在绵羊与山羊的比喻中,耶稣向门徒解释,当他们给饿的饭吃,渴的水喝;当他们照顾陌生人,给赤贫的衣服;当他们照顾病患或探访被囚的人,他们所做的这些小小牺牲,都是为了为他们牺牲一切的那位而作。因为提供帮助者所作的每项努力,都要付出代价。可能是付上时间、给予关注,或是支付食物、饮品或衣物。这显然就是神的方式:无私的付出,为了使别人得到好处。

因此我再次问你: 你付出了甚么?你愿意付出甚么去跟随神的方式?

我的救世军制服跟全球数十万救世军人穿的一样,肩章上有「救」字(英文是‘S’),提醒我每次穿上制服,我们作为救世军跟随基督,都是蒙召「得救而服侍」。最近,我过境到另一国家时,服务员跟他的同工分享「救世军 — 得救而服侍」,大声得让所有人都听见。细问之下,他表示对我们不认识,只知我们是「服侍」的军队,得救、服侍,惯于牺牲。

这个复活节主日,在你庆祝复活救主光荣胜过死亡时,从预苦期作出的种种生活调节欣然重投蛋糕、朱古力的怀抱,或重新登入你的社交媒体,我祷告这份牺牲的精神仍存在你心。待基督再次呼召我们付出自己,帮助祂称为「我弟兄中一个最小的」,祷告你会跟从祂的带领,好使别人也能每天活出丰盛的生命。

愿神赐福你们!