Media Centre
General Brian Peddle, International leader of The Salvation Army, addresses on Covid-19
back

Greetings to you from International Headquarters in London. Many people are using phrases like: We are living in uncertain times, or we’re facing uncharted waters. Like many of you, we’ve all been watching and praying as Covid-19 has spread to numerous countries, and various governments continue to make responses. Certainly, we are praying for all who are personally and adversely affected. The Salvation Army is an international movement and we serve in 131 countries across the world. In each country while maintaining our Christian service. We remain vigilant in our self-care and compliant with the advice that we are being given.

As a part of our response here at the International Headquarters, we have had to take the difficult decision to postpone our International Conference of Leaders. It is not wise to gather our Salvation Army leaders from across the world, just now. For the next weeks we have placed the moratorium of our travel for all of our staff. I have also postponed my international travel and visits over the next month. All the while regretting not being able to greet Salvationists in the eastern territory, Singapore, Malaysia and Myanmar.

The other part of our responses is the way that we care for each other. And depending upon where you are in the world, it’s already a reality that you are not able to meet together for worship, or prayer, or enjoy the usual programmes. This should not mean that we disappear from each other’s lives. During these days, check on each other. Make a phone call to see how someone is doing. Drop some good stuff at somebody’s door. Find ways to demonstrate care, concern and love, and still be The Salvation Army who serves.

If you follow my social media feeds, you will have seen already a previous call for prayer. Prayer works, and it is important. The children’s song says, ‘He’s got the whole world in His hands’. I want to encourage you to pray and act. Confident of that reality. May God bless you during these days. And may God continue to bless The Salvation Army.

新闻中心
救世军国际领袖柏培恩大将:新型冠状病毒疫情信息
上一页

伦敦国际总部向你们问好。很多人这样说:我们正处于不确定的时代,或是未知的领域。跟你们很多人一样,随着疫情扩展多国,多国政府继续作出回应,我们一直密切留意和祷告。当然,我们也为所有受感染和受影响的人祷告。救世军是国际运动,服务全球131个国家和地区。我们致力在各国维持本军的宗教服务,同时提高警觉,照顾自己,并遵守相关的建议。

国际总部回应的一部份,就是作出艰难的决定,押后举行国际领袖会议。此时此刻,实在不应该让全球救世军领袖聚首一堂。在未来数星期,所有职员将暂停出游,而我自己未来数月的国际行程和外访也会延后。遗憾未能与新加坡、马来西亚和缅甸地域的救世军人见面。

我们作出另一项回应,就是彼此关怀。因应不同地区的状况,我们未能相聚参与崇拜、祈祷会,甚至参与日常活动,已成为事实,但并不代表我们从彼此的生命里消失。在这段日子,要互相关心。打电话送上问候,给朋友送上有用物资,用各种方法展现照顾、关怀和爱,继续以救世军精神事奉。

如你有追踪我的社交媒体,大概也留意到早前的祷告呼吁。祷告是有效的,而且很重要。一首儿童诗歌说:「祂手中握有全世界」。我鼓励你们祷告和行动,对祷告怀着信心。愿神在这段日子赐福你们。愿神继续赐福救世军。