Media Centre
The Salvation Army Hong Kong Staff Band,
A Decade of Music Together
Brass music ignites spiritual passion
back

(30 September 2019, Hong Kong) Music forms an integral part of Salvation Army evangelism. William Booth, the Army’s Founder said, ‘Music moves our hearts, just like wind propelling a boat forward.’ The Salvation Army Hong Kong Staff Band (hereinafter known as ‘Staff Band’) spreads the Good News of Christ through music. This month (15 September), the Staff Band held the 10th Anniversary Concert, marking its 10 years’ milestone as it spreads the Gospel message to people in need through beautiful brass music and hymns, so that they may live an abundant life because of the love of God.


Music ministry in the community
Re-established in 2008, the Staff Band serves with the mission to ‘expand the kingdom of God through outstanding musical performances’. Every year, the Staff Band gives over 10 performances. Apart from supporting the Army meetings and events, the Staff Band also actively takes part in outreach ministries and community activities such as prison visits, Brands and Products Expo and outdoor concerts, reaching out to and serving people from all walks of life through Christian brass music. The Staff Band is not only actively serving in Hong Kong, but also living up Salvationism in the mainland China, Macau, Korea, the USA and Australia.

Bandmaster Joshua Yip had many unforgettable experiences over the past decade of ministries, among which was a visit to Tai Lam Correctional Institution. As it was a men’s prison, at first the band members were worried whether it would be inappropriate for female bandmembers to attend. ‘Later, we found that the inmates were more friendly than we thought. Some of them even came forward and asked us about our Band and the music we performed during their free time after our performance, giving us an opportunity to share with them the mission of the Staff Band.’ Music opens the heart of prisoners to let the Holy Spirit in. It is a witness of God’s amazing deeds.


Tradition of Brass Music
Brass instrument performance is a recognised feature of the Staff Band and a long tradition of The Salvation Army. When William Booth first founded The Salvation Army in the 19th century, once he was preaching at Hyde Park in London. There was a father who was good at playing brass instrument identified with his ideology, insomuch that he offered to perform brass music to attract more passersby and help Booth to preach the gospels. Since the sound of the brass instruments is so loud and bright, performing outdoors can easily draw a crowd of passersby to stay and watch. Later, more and more Salvationists and musicians started writing music and giving performances, making it possible for The Salvation Army to reach out to more communities.

The Staff Band was first established in 1967. With members of different cultural backgrounds, the band ministries facilitated cultural exchanges among band members. Back then, when brass music was not very popular in Hong Kong, The Salvation Army brass band was already quite well developed. Very often the Staff Band was invited to perform in many different occasions and has been well received. The Staff Band also regularly visits disadvantaged groups in the society and spreading the truth and salvation of God. Reestablished in 2008 until now, the Staff Band has always been performing inspiring music with all their hearts and striving to expand the Kingdom of God.

新闻中心
救世军香港总部乐队与神「铜行」十载
铜管乐章助重拾心灵动力
上一页

(2019年9月30日,香港)音乐是救世军传讲福音时不可或缺的一环;救世军创办人卜维廉曾说:「音乐是心灵的动力,正如风推动船只一般。」隶属救世军的香港总部乐队(下称「总部乐队」)以音乐传扬基督福音,于本月(9月15日)举办十周年音乐会,除了标志着乐队的十年里程,亦透过悠扬的铜管乐章和诗歌,把福音讯息带给社会上有需要的人,让他们因着神的爱而得着丰盛生命。


于社会作音乐事奉
于2008年重组成立的总部乐队,有着「透过卓越的音乐演绎,来扩展上帝的国度为己任。」之使命,每年举办十多场演出,除了于救世军的聚会及活动作献乐,亦积极参与外展工作和小区活动,如监狱探访、工展会、大型户外音乐会等,以基督教铜管音乐接触并服侍社会各阶层大众。总部乐队不但活跃于香港,更会前往中国内地、澳门、韩国、美国和澳洲等地事奉,发挥救世军的精神。

队长叶文臻说,这十年的事奉中有不少深刻经历,探访大榄监狱是其中一次。当时乐队探访的是男性监狱,起初他们曾担心女队员会否不适合出席,「但后来发现,囚友原来比想象中友善,更有囚友于献奏后的空档时间,主动走上前向我们了解团队及乐曲,让我们有机会向他们分享乐队的使命。」音乐让囚友们敞开心窗,圣灵进入心坎,见证了神的奇妙作为。


铜管乐的传统
运用铜管乐器献奏是总部乐队一大特色,也是救世军由来已久的传统。在19世纪卜维廉创立救世军初期,一次于伦敦海德公园传道期间,来自某个家庭的父亲十分认同他的理念,便提议吹奏自己最擅长的铜管乐来吸引途人,协助卜维廉传扬福音。由于乐器声音洪亮,在户外吹奏时很容易招聚人们驻足欣赏,及后越来越多救世军人与乐手参与撰写曲谱及献奏,令救世军得以进入更多群体。

第一代总部乐队于1967年成立,成员来自五湖四海,乐队事工促进了成员间的文化交流。当年香港的铜管乐发展还未普及之际,救世军铜管乐队已发展得非常成熟,并经常受邀在不同场合中献奏,大受欢迎,更会定期探访弱势社群,向他们宣扬神的真理及救恩;至2008年重组至今,总部乐队依然不变,尽心吹奏带动心灵之乐章,竭力扩展神的国度。