Media Centre
The Salvation Army ‘Community Housing Movement - To Kwa Wan Project’ (Home Plus)
Enhances community connection and cultivates mutual help through co-living
back

(16 Mar 2019, Hong Kong) The Salvation Army and the Hong Kong Council of Social Service (HKCSS) held the ‘Community Housing Movement - To Kwa Wan Project (Home Plus) ’ Launching Ceremony on 16 March 2019, an occasion for tenants to share their co-living stories and for expressing gratitude to the Government and the commercial sector for their support in creating a caring society. Dr Raymond So Wai-man BBS JP, Under Secretary for Transport and Housing, General Secretary, Major Tommy Chan of The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command, and Mr Chua Hoi-wai, Chief Executive, HKCSS were the officiating guests.

Transitional housing has become a new way out for relieving grassroots housing problems. The Salvation Army launched the To Kwa Wan (Ha Heung Road) Project last year. The project provides a total of 53 dignified, hygienic and safe living units for co-living at affordable rents for grass-roots families and low-income young people. Over 200 persons have benefited from the Project.

‘This Project is tripartite collaboration among the Government, the business sector and the community put into practice that helps the grassroots people regain hope for the future. The Army will make various arrangements for the tenants, such as orientation classes and co-housing planning, to help them fit into the new environment and enhance their problem-solving skills to deal with challenges in future,’ said Major Tommy Chan, General Secretary of The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command.

Reignite hope for the grassroots 
The Salvation Army ‘Home Plus’ Project not only aims to provide a livable environment for its tenants. By incorporating the Army’s concept of holistic ministry, our Family Support Centre of Social Services Department, church and Family Store join forces in providing services and support to the tenants helping the tenants to build a mutually supportive network. The Project also connects people with the community and invites tenants to offer their skills and abilities back to the community.

‘Work Exchange’ and Serve the community
Through the concept of  ‘Work Exchange’, young tenants of the ‘Home Plus’ project living with other grassroots families can serve the community in exchange for affordable rental. They are invited to join the house management team to come up with new ideas for improving their co-living space. By taking part in the preparation of other activities, the young tenants may build a sense of belonging to their community.

新闻中心
救世军「住+」土瓜湾社会房屋共享计划 住客共生守望 连结小区邻里
上一页

(2019年3月16日,香港)救世军与香港社会服务联会(社联)今天(16日)举行了「『住+』土瓜湾下乡道社会房屋共享计划」起动礼,邀请住客分享共居互助的生活点滴,同时感谢政府及商界支持,共同缔造关爱社会。运输及房屋局副局长苏伟文博士、救世军港澳军区秘书长陈喜威少校及社联行政总裁蔡海伟先生出席主礼。

过渡性房屋成为纾缓基层住屋困难的新出路。去年救世军透过土瓜湾下乡道项目,在推出的53个单位内加入「共居」元素,积极招募基层家庭及低收入年青人共住,以合理租金为他们提供一个有尊严、卫生和安全的生活环境;计划至今共200多人受惠。

救世军港澳军区秘书长陈喜威少校表示:「计划体现了民、商、官三方协作,令基层人士重拾对未来的盼望;本军将积极为住客安排如新生活预备班、共住空间规划等各种活动,协助他们适应新环境,同时提升他们在生活解难及规划的能力,迎接未来挑战。」


助基层重拾希望
救世军把计划命名为「住+」,强调不仅为住客提供一个可安居的生活环境,更以本军整全事工的概念,透过社会服务部家庭支持中心、教会、救世军家品店等各方面为街坊提供服务及支持,帮助住客建立守望相助的邻里网络及提升他们的解难能力,也连结人与小区的关系,住客也可运用自身能力贡献小区。


打工换宿 服务社群
入住房屋的年青人透过「打工换宿」,与基层家庭共同生活,并以服务社群来换取租金相宜的住所;而每一位入住青年都获邀加入房屋管理团队,共同构思新意念,令居住环境更为完善;年青人亦可参与活动的筹备工作,增加对社群的归属感。