Media Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre and City University of Macau Joint Training for Social Workers and Teachers to Address Social Issues through Micro-movies
back

(1 August 2018, Macau) The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre (Education Centre) leads over 20 youth, social workers and teachers from Macau to a service experience and training in Hong Kong during 28-30 July. The youth learn how to display social problems such as poverty, aging population and education by making micro-movies as a way to drive young people who will soon enter the real world to address social issues from a daily life perspective. With sponsorship from the Education and Youth Affairs Bureau of the Macau government, the Education Centre co-organises the activity with Department of Innovative Social Work of the City University of Macau. Participants get in touch with poor people in Hong Kong. Apart from giving out daily necessities to the community in need, they also talk to people living in poverty to understand their stories.

Care about the Society through Cameras
In the 3-day camp, training instructor Mr Yeung Chin-keung, multi-media artist, taught participants the principles and skills of making micro-movies and inspired their creativity. The instructor guided the young participants to express their views by storytelling, sound effect, lighting and motion graphic. ‘This activity gives me an opportunity to work with a group of prospective social workers and teachers. With their experience and feelings about the society, we want to show our care for the community in need through the cameras,’ said Mr Yeung.

From Creativity to Empathy
A participant shared that the training and service experience had not only enriched his knowledge on filmmaking but also deepened his understanding on the things he had taken for granted. ‘An old man sitting on the street has his own story. His encounters may even reflect some social problems.’ This activity provides new insights to future leaders of Macau. Through discussion and brainstorming together, participants tried to understand the needs of different people from a first-person point of view. When a sense of empathy advances to a sense of mission, they will help more people in need in the future. According to Dr Carl Cheng, Educational Services Director of The Salvation Army, ‘The Salvation Army provides educational and social services in Macau with an aim to take care of those in need. But most of all, we equip the next generation so that they may respond to social needs by methods that keep pace with social trends and development.’

Last year, The Salvation Army set up ‘The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre’. Apart from providing appropriate support to SEN students and their parents, school-based support is also introduced to local primary schools. The Army also promotes integrated education or even community integration from different aspects of the society, creating a better environment for the development of children.

With sponsorship from the E...
The participants learn how ...

新闻中心
培训社工及老师 透过微电影透视社会问题
救世军(澳门)教育中心与澳门城市大学合作
上一页

(二零一八年八月一日,澳门)救世军(澳门)教育中心于7月28至30日期间,带领20多名澳门青年人、现职社工及老师到香港进行服务体验及培训,并学习以微电影之手法透视贫穷、人口老化及教育问题,带动即将进入社会之青年人,从生活角度探讨社会问题。活动获得教育暨青年局资助,并与澳门城市大学创新社会工作系合办,参加者亲身接触香港的贫穷人口,除了将生活日用品送到有需要的群体外,更透过对话了解受访者背后的故事。

借着镜头关心社会
培训活动邀请跨媒体艺术工作者杨展强先生作培训导师,于3天的营会中,教授拍摄微电影的原理及技巧,并启发青年人的创意,引导他们透过故事、音效、灯光及动态影像,将个人的想法表达出来。导师杨展强先生表示:「是次活动有机会与一班未来社工及老师合作,希望能透过镜头,结合青年人对社会的体会,表达对身边有需要群体的关怀。」

借着创作培养同理心
其中一位参加者表示透过培训及服务体验,不但加强了对拍摄及创作的认识,也令自己对每日看见似是理所当然的事情,有更深体会。他说:「即使是一个坐在街上的老伯伯也会有不少经历和故事,他的遭遇甚至反映出社会问题。」参与是次活动不单为澳门的未来领袖带来新视野,更令参加者透过讨论及共同创作,以第一身的角度感受社会上不同人士的需要,由「同理心」推展至「使命感」,于日后帮助更多有需要的人。救世军教育服务总监郑启员博士称:「救世军于澳门提供教育及社会服务的目的,并不局限于照顾有需要的群体,更重要是培训下一代,以配合社会趋势及时代发展的手法响应社会需要。」

救世军于去年在澳门成立「救世军(澳门)教育中心」,除了为特殊学习需要的学生及家长提供适切支持,及为本地的小学提供入校支持外,更积极从社会不同层面推动融合教育,甚至小区融合,令孩子有一个更好的成长环境。

救世军(澳门)教育中心获得...
参加者学习以微电影之手法透...