Media Centre
The Salvation Army Orienteering 2018 Launches
Wharf Two and Kimman as Orienteering Ambassadors
back

(22 July 2018, Hong Kong) The Salvation Army Orienteering 2018 will be held on 3 November this year and kicked off at Sun Yat Sen Memorial Park, Sheung Wan. This is the 16th time that the Orienteering will be held this year. In this outdoor sport that requires physical capabilities, intelligence and resilience, participants are to wear head torches, going into every corner of the city with The Salvation Army, leading people in need out of the dark!

Today, the launching ceremony is held at Lee Tung Avenue. The ceremony began with an uplifting djembe performance by students of ‘Alternative 5** School’ in little Indian outfits. Our Orienteering Ambassadors, local band Wharf Two and singer Kimman Wong, invited the public to support the event. Their impromptu street performance with the little Indian drummers was the highlight of the day.

This year, The Salvation Army Orienteering is raising funds in support of students with special educational needs (SEN). Proceeds will be used to explore and develop the diverse talents of these students through the Army’s ‘Alternative 5** School’ and to provide them with professional assessment and treatment. While racing against time to get their highest scores, participants may also experience the learning difficulties of SEN students at specially set up experiential spots within the game area to understand and increase public awareness for the students’ needs.

This is the second year for Wharf Two to be our Orienteering Ambassadors. They appreciated the students’ performance and team spirit. ‘We can feel their passion for djembe. Improvisation with them is an unforgettable street performance.’ To the three band members, orienteering is a team sport that requires good teamwork and cooperation among team members. They urged the public to take up the challenge for charity while getting to know and helping a group of children with inborn talents.

Mr Sin Leung-kai, Service Supervisor of The Salvation Army and person-in-charge of ‘Alternative 5** School’ hoped the community would understand and recognise the abilities of SEN students and give them opportunities to develop diverse talents. ‘The School puts a lot of emphasis on caring, encouraging and accepting children with SEN, helping them to discover and realise their own strengths. Also, by getting along with others, it helps boost their self-esteem, to be conscientious and more attentive.’

For The Salvation Army Orienteering 2018 Event and Enrolment Details:
https://salvationarmy.org.hk/orienteering

Starting from today, teams whose donation reach the designated amount are eligible to enroll through the event webpage. On top of the Darkness Gears, you will have a chance to be rewarded a Special Edition Water Bottle. Quota is limited. Act now!

About ‘Alternative 5** School’
Established by The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command early this year, the ‘Alternative 5** School’ advocates a ‘strengths-based’ approach, discovering and developing the potentials of children with SEN from eight aspects, including Musical-rhythmic Intelligence, Visual-spatial Intelligence, Bodily-kinesthetic Intelligence, Interpersonal Intelligence, Intrapersonal Intelligence, Naturalistic Intelligence, Verbal-linguistic Intelligence, and Logical-mathematical Intelligence. The School also puts an emphasis on the children’s personal development, including Competence and Self-confidence, Family-oriented and Contribution to Society.

Wharf Two’s impromptu stree...
Wharf Two appreciates the s...
The Salvation Army Orientee...
Learning djembe boosts self...

新闻中心
救世军黑夜定向2018正式启动
Wharf Two贰号码头及黄剑文任宣传大使
上一页

(二零一八年七月廿二日,香港)「救世军黑夜定向2018」将于今年11月3日假上环中山纪念公园举行!这是一项需要兼备体能、智慧与应变能力的户外运动,至今已踏入第16届;参加者需在黑夜中配戴头灯进行比赛,如同与救世军一起走进城市角落,以光引领有需要的人士走出黑暗!

活动启动礼于今天假利东街举行,由一班打扮成非洲小土人的「不一样的5**学院」学童为现场观众表演非洲鼓,以振奋人心的鼓声为活动掀开序幕。典礼邀得本土音乐创作组合Wharf Two 贰号码头及歌手黄剑文(Kimman)担任「黑夜定向大使」,呼吁大家踊跃支持是次活动,Wharf Two更与非洲小土人即席在街头合奏,将现场气氛推至最高点。

「救世军黑夜定向2018」将为有特殊学习需要(SEN)的学童筹募善款,当中会透过救世军「不一样的5**学院」启发及培育学童的天赋才能,同时为他们提供专业适切的评估和治疗。比赛过程中,参加者在争分取胜之际,亦可在赛区内特设的体验站感受SEN学童在学习上面对的困难,并在解难过程中了解他们的需要,增加公众对他们的同理心。

第二年担任「黑夜定向大使」的Wharf Two非常欣赏学童的演出和默契,「过程中感受到他们对非洲鼓的热爱,与他们即兴合奏,是一次难忘的街头表演。」三人又认为,黑夜定向也是讲求默契的团队运动,可以考验队友之间的合作,呼吁大家接受挑战,同时又能做善事,认识和帮助这群同样拥有天赋才能的孩子。

救世军高级主任及「不一样的5**学院」召集人冼良佳先生寄望小区人士了解及认同SEN学童的能力,给予他们机会发展才能,「学院重视对SEN学童的关怀、鼓励和接纳,协助他们发掘学业以外的强项,亦从群体相处中提升他们的自信、认真和专注度」。

「救世军黑夜定向2018」详情及报名:https://salvationarmy.org.hk/orienteering
由即日起,公众人士只须筹得指定金额善款,便可透过活动网站报名参加,除可获赠型格追踪夜装备外,更有机会获得别注版运动水樽,名额有限,报名从速!

关于「不一样的5**学院」
由救世军港澳军区于今年初成立,提倡「强项为本」,从八大方面发掘和培育有特殊学习需要(SEN)学童的潜能,包括音乐智能、空间智能、肢体动觉智能、人际智能、内省智能、自然智能、语文智能和数学逻辑智能;学院亦着重学童的个人发展,包括能力及自信、爱家庭和贡献社会。

Wharf Two贰号码头与非洲小土...
Wharf Two非常欣赏学童的演出...
救世军黑夜定向2018启动礼圆...
SEN学童凭学习非洲鼓,提升了...