Media Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre and City University of Macau
Jointly Equips Social Work Students Supporting SEN Students
back

The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre holds the Volunteer Programme Kick-off cum Appreciation Ceremony today (22 April 2018), expressing their gratitude to Year 2 Social Work students of the City University of Macau for their efforts in being ‘Volunteer Tutors’ for students with special educational needs (SEN) over the past year, as well as the enthusiastic support from volunteers of the MGM Macau staff members.

The Appreciation Ceremony was honoured by the presence of Mr Wong Chi-iong, Chief Executive of Division of Continuing Education, Education and Youth Affairs Bureau, Macao SAR as the officiating guest, with the support from Dr Jacky Ho Chong-kin, Programme Coordinator of the Social Work Programme, City University of Macau and Ms Mina Siew, Assistant Director of Community Relations of MGM giving encouragement to the young leaders.

Targeted Teacher Training
The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre and the City University of Macau jointly recruited over 20 Year 2 social work students last year, giving them teacher training catering for SEN students. The participating volunteer tutors were required to focus on the students’ needs and to plan the curriculum and activities on various aspects including emotional management, attention training, self-care ability and muscle coordination. The tutors also engaged in the Salvation Army fundraising activities. Through their service in action, the community has a positive and comprehensive understanding of SEN, which encourages social inclusion, and the volunteer tutors have a better understanding of the students’ needs today.

Mr Wong said, ‘We thank all the volunteers for their efforts over the past year. We also thank The Salvation Army for their appropriate assistance to the people in Macau and significant contribution in community work. Volunteering does bring people closer and enhance their communication and interaction.’

Dr Carl Cheng, Educational Services Director of The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command, stated that, ‘The Salvation Army is dedicated to the training of local young leaders. Through our services, we wish to promote social inclusion, at the same time offer young people an opportunity for self-discovery. Let them identify their potentials through serving others and make plans for giving back to the society in future, so that they may succeed while helping others to succeed.’

Tutors who Help Others Help Themselves
One of the volunteers shared that he learnt a lot about SEN students during the course of training and teaching. ‘These children actually have their unique gifts and talents. Given space and appropriate support, they can also learn happily and develop their strengths to the full,’ he said. Volunteering not only broadens the participants’ horizons, but also provides them with a valuable opportunity of practical training, preparing them for future professional development as they help others to help themselves.

Last year, The Salvation Army set up its educational services units in Macau, namely ‘The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre’ and ‘The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre’. Apart from providing appropriate support to SEN students and their parents, school-based support will also be introduced to local primary schools, taking care of students with dyslexia and/or other special learning needs, as well as providing professional development course to teachers.

About The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Education Centre provides professional after-school support services for students with special educational needs (SEN). Our specialists such as SEN experts, clinical psychologists, speech therapists, occupational therapists, social workers, etc. help to support students and families in need. The Centre opens the ‘Parents’ School’ in 2018 in support of families in need by providing courses on child development and special educational needs, catering to the developmental needs of children in the 21st century.

The Salvation Army (Macau) ...
Officiating guest Mr Wong C...
Dr Carl Cheng, Educational ...
Over 20 Year 2 social work ...

新闻中心
救世军培训社工学生 支持特殊学习需要学童
救世军(澳门)教育中心与澳门城市大学合作
上一页

(2018年4月22日, 澳门)救世军(澳门)教育中心今天举行了义工启动暨嘉许礼,感谢多名澳门城市大学社工系二年级学生于过去一年为有特殊学习需要(SEN)的学童担任「义工导师」,及澳门美高梅员工们热心参与义务工作。

嘉许礼得到澳门教育暨青年局延续教育处处长黄志勇先生出席担任主礼嘉宾,并澳门城市大学创新社会工作系系主任何钟建博士及美高梅助理社会事务总监邵碧玲女士的支持,勉励一众青年领袖。

针对性教学培训
救世军(澳门)教育中心与澳门城市大学合作,去年招募20多名社工系二年级学生,为他们提供有关特殊学习需要之教学训练,参与培训的20多名「义工导师」会按学童需要,参与构思课程及推行活动,其中包括情绪管理、专注力训练、自理能力训练及肌肉协调等多个针对性范畴;与此同时,他们又参与救世军的筹款活动,身体力行服务小区,令社会对「特殊学习需要」有更丰富及正面的认识,藉此带动小区共融之余,更可令「义工导师」从服务中认识现今学童的需要。

黄志勇处长表示:「感谢义工们过去一年的付出,亦感谢救世军对澳门居民提供适切的援助,在小区工作方面作出重大贡献。义务工作可以拉近人与人之间的距离,加强彼此的交流和互动。」

救世军港澳军区教育服务总监郑启员博士称:「救世军积极培训本地青年领袖,目的是希望能透过服务,带动小区共融,同时为青年人提供自我发掘的机会,让他们在服务中认识自己之潜能,规划将来贡献社会、建设一个成就自己、成就他人的人生。」

成为导师助人自助
其中一位义工表示从培训及教学过程中,对有特殊学习需要的学童增加了不少认识。他说:「其实这些小朋友也有独特的天赋潜能,只需要给予空间和适当的帮助,他们也能愉快学习,发展所长。」参与义务工作不单为同学们带来新视野,更是一个宝贵的实习机会,帮助他们未来的专业发展,实践助人自助精神。

救世军于去年在澳门成立教育服务,分别为「救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心」及「救世军(澳门)教育中心」,除了为特殊学习需要的学生及家长提供适切支持外,亦将为本地的小学提供入校支持,照顾读写困难或其他特殊学习需要的学生,及提供教师专业发展课程。

关于救世军(澳门)教育中心
救世军(澳门)教育中心为有特殊学习需要的学生提供专业的学习支持。中心由不同专业人士提供服务,包括特殊学习需要专家、临床心理学家、言语治疗师、职业治疗师、社工等;中心更于2018年开办「家长学校」支持有需要的家庭,提供与儿童成长及特殊学习需要有关之课程,协助家长满足二十一世纪的小朋友发展需要。

救世军(澳门)教育中心义工...
澳门教育暨青年局延续教育处...
救世军港澳军区教育服务总监...
澳门城市大学社工系20多名二...