Media Centre
The Salvation Army Turns Community Centre into Golden Oldies Lounge
Famous Pop Singers Bring Back Old Memories for the Elderly
back

This afternoon (6 Dec 2017), The Salvation Army (the Army), with the generous support of Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong, turned the Henry G. Leong Yaumatei Community Centre into a lounge filled with golden oldies. A Christmas Party was held for 150 elders living alone or together in the Yau Tsim Mong District. Famous pop singers since the 60s including Rosanne Lui, Joe Junior, Joe Mok, Aman Fong, Amy Wong, Edith Au, Cindy Fong and Ho Kwok-choy performed many classic pop hits, bringing back sweet old memories for the elders.

The elders actively participated in the trivia quiz with the singers organised by a volunteer team of 50 members from the Army and the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong. All present were filled with great joy. The volunteers also prepared healthy snacks for the elders and presented Christmas gift packs of daily necessities and food items, sharing festive blessings with the elders.

Rosanne Lui and Joe Junior have been supporting this event since 2009. Rosanne Lui said, ‘The elders have made great contribution to the society when they were young. I want to show them my respect and appreciation through my participation in this meaningful activity.’

‘I hope I’ll have more opportunities to perform for the elderly in future. Music can bring them happiness, which will in turn make them healthier’, said Joe Junior.

Madam Rebecca, one of the participants was grateful for the volunteers and singers. Their visit has brought great pleasure and rejuvenated the Centre. Living alone, Madam Rebecca finds the visitation meaningful for the elderly, since most of them usually spend the holidays alone. It is heartwarming to be able to celebrate with fellow neighbours, friends and volunteers.

About The Salvation Army Yau Tsim Integrated Service for Senior Citizens

The Service mainly provides support services to elders living in the Yau Tsim Mong District, including festive visits and regular elderly volunteer groups and activities, aiming to show the elders care and support from the community during festivals and other special occasions, helping them to expand their social circles. Among these activities was the Christmas Party jointly organised with Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong since 2009. This year’s is the 8th Party being held.

(From second left) Mr. Gerh...
Joe Junior invites the elde...
The elderly sing along with...
The volunteers challenge th...

新闻中心
救世军打造社区中心成怀旧金曲酒廊
当年红星带长者回味可爱青春时光
上一页

救世军港澳军区(救世军)获金域假日酒店鼎力支持,今午(12月6日)将梁显利油麻地社区中心化身为金曲酒廊,为油尖区150名独居及两老户长者举办「圣诞温情联欢会」,邀请当年名歌星吕珊、Joe Junior、莫旭秋、方俊、王美兰、区霭玲、方丽盈及何国材(十一哥)演唱「狮子山下」、「万水千山总是情」等多首脍炙人口的经典金曲,有靓人靓歌陪伴,长者听得陶醉之余,更回味昔日青春情怀。

另外,50名由救世军成员及金域假日酒店员工组成的义工队联同歌星与长者大玩问答游戏,老友记童心未泯,踊跃举手争着抢答,参加者笑逐颜开。义工亦为长者准备了丰富健康的茶点美食,让他们尽情品尝,又派发圣诞礼物,送上日用品、粮油、冬菇腊肠等过年食品给老友记,为他们送上节日祝福。

歌手吕珊和Joe Junior是活动的长期支持者,他们由2009年开始一直支持这个年度活动。吕珊认为长者在年轻时为社会贡献良多,她透过参与这个有意义的活动,以歌声表达对他们的尊重和表扬。Joe Junior期望日后有更多机会为长者演出,因为音乐可以为他们带来欢乐,令身心灵更健康。

参加活动的黎婆婆很感激义工和歌手探访,为他们带来无比欢乐,让长者中心充满活力生气。黎婆婆为独居长者,她认为探访活动对老人家很有意义,因为他们大多自己一人度过节日,能够与街坊朋友共聚庆祝,加上义工们的热情,实在倍感温暖。

关于油尖长者综合服务:
服务主要为居住于油尖区的长者提供支持服务如节日探访、定期举办长者义工小组活动等,让长者能于节日或一些特别日子,得到小区人士的关心及支持,扩阔生活圈子;其中与金域假日酒店合办的「圣诞温情联欢会」于2009年开始,至今已举办第八届。

(左二起) 金域假日酒店总经理...
Joe Junior邀请长者一同载歌...
吕珊献唱金曲,长者在旁哼歌...
义工用IQ题挑战长者。