Media Centre
‘We are all Carers’ First ‘Carer Day’ Carnival
Stress Relief Support to Carers and Their Families
back
In recent years, there have been many unfortunate events suspected to be caused by severe stress from caring one’s family. In fact, carers need practical and psychological support to reduce their pressure, so that the elders can be better taken care of, ultimately benefitting the entire family.
 
The Hong Kong Carers Alliance jointly formed by The Salvation Army Carer Association, the Hong Kong Carer Alliance for People with Dementia, City of Love, Grace Parent Association and The Association of Parents of the Severely Mentally Handicapped held the first ‘Carer Day’ Carnival and the Symposium today (21 October 2017) to explore ways to support carers, and provide stress relief methods and resources for their family members. The occasion was honoured by the presence of Mr Caspar Tsui, JP, Under Secretary for Labour and Welfare, as the officiating guest, along with Dr Lam Ching-choi, BBS, JP, Chairman of the Elderly Commission Membership, Ms Cheng Yuk-chun, Member of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee, and Mr Kuo Chun-chuen, Chief Officer (Rehabilitation Service) of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service as the guests of honour.
 
Three Major Causes of Stress for Carers
The major causes of stress for carers come from three aspects: personal family pressure, inadequate community support and insufficient social services. On the personal side, carers bear the pressure of family finance, lack of care knowledge, lack of social life and rest time that lead to stress resulted from self-blame and sense of loneliness. Socially, neighbours seldom care about this type of families and barrier-free facilities are not yet commonly available, making it more difficult for caring frail elders. Social services simply fall short of supply because of the long queues for the services.
 
Seek Help Early to Prevent Stress Buildup
Social workers remind carers to open up for help instead of bearing all the responsibilities on one’s shoulders, and take time to rest and enjoy social life to de-stress from the duties. People around should pay attention to any abnormal behaviour of the carers and seek external help when necessary. Organisations such as the Hong Kong Carers Alliance / The Salvation Army Carer Project (Tel: 2782-2229) provide service support and referral. 
 
Today’s symposium is designed to remind the general public of the importance of carer support as it creates a chain effect in the community and to share great minds to help increase resources for enhancing day care, residential respite service and home care services to meet the ever-increasing needs of the carers. 
 
About The Salvation Army Carer Service
The Salvation Army Carer Service has been operated since 1988, providing services to elders and their carers based on the concept of ‘people-oriented and sustainable care’. It helps to improve elderly’s quality of life and educate the public about carers’ needs.
 
Guests of the 'Carer Day' C...
Mr Caspar Tsui, JP, Under S...
Mrs Cynthia Miyazaki (1st l...
The third Saturday of Octob...
Different organisations edu...

新闻中心
首届「照顾者日」嘉年华主题「我们都是照顾者」
为照顾者及周边亲友提供纾缓压力支援
上一页
近年发生有关病患者家庭的不幸事件,疑因照顾者压力「爆煲」所致,其实照顾者需要实际和心理支援减低压力,好让长者得到更妥善的照顾,最终整个家庭都得益。
 
救世军护老者协会联同全港认知障碍症照顾者联盟、爱儿城、乐恩家长会及严重弱智人士家长协会组成的「全港照顾者联席」,今天 (2017年10月21日) 举行首届「照顾者日」嘉年华和照顾者论坛,共同探讨如何支援照顾者,让照顾者亲友了解协助照顾者减压的方法及资源。典礼由劳工及福利局副局长徐英伟先生, JP担任主礼嘉宾,其他嘉宾有安老事务委员会主席林正财医生, BBS, JP、康復谘询委员会委员卢郑玉珍女士和香港社会服务联会復康服务总主任郭俊泉先生。
 
照顾者的主要压力来自三方面
救世军社工指出,照顾者很多时会受到个人家庭压力、社区支援不足和社会服务供不应求的影响。个人方面,他们承受家庭经济困难、照顾知识不足、社交和休息时间不足引致孤单感、自责等心理压力等。社区方面,邻里较少关心这类家庭,社区的无障碍设施未普及,增加照顾体弱长者的难度。服务方面,轮候人数太多以致供不应求。
 
及早求助免积压
社工提醒照顾者切忌一力承担照顾责任,要找其他人帮忙;另需腾出私人空间喘息和安排社交生活,纾缓压力。另外,照顾者周边人士亦需留意照顾者平日的行为反应,若察觉他们有任何异样,应主动关心了解他们的情况,有需要时向外界求助,例如致电2782-2229联络「全港照顾者联席」/救世军护老者服务寻找服务支援和转介。
 
是次活动主题为「我们都是照顾者」源于提供照顾者服务会带来连锁反应,「全港照顾者联席」希望让更多人了解照顾者的需要,并集思广益,促进社会增加资源提供日间/住宿暂託服务、上门看顾服务等,满足日渐增加的照顾者需求。
 
关于救世军护老者服务
救世军自1988年起开展护老者服务,贯彻「以人为本」及「持续照顾」概念,为护老者及其长者提供适切的服务,以推进护老工作之发展,提高长者之生活质素,促进社会大众关注护老者的需要。
 
「照顾者日」嘉年华启动仪式...
劳工及福利局副局长徐英伟先...
救世军护老者协会副主席宫崎...
「全港照顾者联席」推动每年...
不同机构透过摊位游戏教育公...