Media Centre
The Salvation Army Orienteering 2017
‘Light Up’ the Future for Youths with SEN
back
Without proper understanding of the term ‘special educational needs’ (SEN), youths with SEN are sometimes criticised and labelled as incompetent. The Salvation Army Orienteering aims to raise public awareness of the needs of these young people and raise funds to support The Salvation Army’s employment services for this special needs group.      
 
This night orienteering event will be held in Wan Chai, the area that The Salvation Army has been serving for over 70 years. The 1.5-hour challenge across the unique attractions on the Hong Kong Island (from Central to North Point) will allow the participating teams to discover the disparity between the ‘rich’ and the ‘poor’. This challenge demands cooperation, wisdom, technique and perseverance. Participants are encouraged to join us as partners to light up the lives of those living in the dark.
 
The Salvation Army Orienteering 2017 - Event Details:
 

Date

21 October 2017 (Saturday)

Time

6:00PM Registration

6:30PM Kick-off Ceremony

7:00PM – 9:30PM Game Time (departing in batches)

10:00PM Award Presentation

Start & Finish

Harbour Road Garden, Wan Chai

Highlights

Teams have to achieve the highest score by visiting various checkpoints using a wordless map. Score of each checkpoint varies depending on the level of difficulty. The team with the highest score in each category will be the champion. Time limit is 1.5 hours.

Game Area

Central to North Point

Eligibility

Aged 16 or above on the event day

Enrolment Deadline

Corporate 3 October 2017 (Tuesday)

Open & Student 6 October 2017 (Friday)

Last Payment Date

10 October 2017 (Tuesday)

Capacity

1,200 Players (first-come-first-served)

Use of Donation

In support of the employment services for youth with special educational needs

Details

www.salvationarmy.org.hk/orienteering

Enquiry

2783 2323

 
Acknowledgement
The Salvation Army would like to thank The Bank of East Asia, Limited (Principal Sponsor), Sun Hung Kai Properties (Major Sponsor); and other sponsors: Thong Sia Watch Co., Ltd, Grace Cup, The Overlander, Polywell Printing & Supplies Ltd and The “Star” Ferry; media support partners: Platform Culture, Sports Road and Fitz; technical support partners: Orienteering Association of Hong Kong and Youth Advance Orienteering Club. The Salvation Army would also like to thank ESDlife, The Boys’ Brigade, Hong Kong, Wilson Parking (Holdings) Limited, NWS Holdings Limited, New World First Bus Services Limited and Citybus Limited, Hongkong Electric and The Hong Kong St. John Ambulance Brigade for their support.

新闻中心
救世军黑夜定向2017
助SEN青年步向光明
上一页
一般人因不理解读写障碍、言语障碍、专注力不足等问题,容易批评和标籤有特殊学习需要(SEN)的青年「能力不足」。救世军今年的「黑夜定向」活动务要唤起主流社会关注这羣青年的需要,并筹款支持救世军为有特殊学习需要青年提供的就业服务。
 
是次比赛于港岛举行,以救世军扎根70年的湾仔区为起点,参赛队伍用无字地图以最快方法找出预设的控制点(checkpoints)。过程讲求队员的合作性、智慧、技术和耐力。每位参加者配戴头灯,寓意引领有需要的青年寻找光明,重拾人生方向。活动名额有限,欲报从速!
 
救世军黑夜定向2017 – 活动详情
 

日期

2017年10月21日(星期六)

时间

下午6时 报到

下午6时半 起动礼

下午7时至9时半 赛事时段(分批出发)

下午10时 颁奖礼

出发及终点

湾仔港湾道公园

赛制

限时1.5小时于赛区内凭无字地图搜寻预设控制点(Checkpoints)。不同控制点分数不同,以夺分形式于最短时间夺得最多分数的队伍为胜

赛区

中环至北角

参赛资格

于2017年10月21日年满16岁或以上

截止报名日期

机构队 10月3日(星期二)

公开盃及学生盃 10月6日(星期五)

最后缴交捐款日期

10月10日(星期二)

名额

1200人(名额有限,额满即止)

善款用途

支援有特殊学习需要青年就业服务

详情

www.salvationarmy.org.hk/orienteering

查询

2783 2323

 

鸣谢
救世军特别感谢首席贊助东亚银行及主要贊助新鸿基地产。其他贊助包括:通城钟錶有限公司、康恩有限公司、The Overlander、雅景印务文化有限公司及天星小轮。媒体合作伙伴:八方文化、体路及Fitz。技术合作伙伴:香港定向总会和青进野外定向会。救世军亦感谢生活易、香港基督少年军、威信停车场管理(控股)有限公司、新创建集团有限公司、新世界第一巴士服务有限公司及城巴有限公司、香港电灯及香港圣约翰救伤队的支持。