Media Centre
Hongkongers Rescue over 730,000 Pieces of Recycled Clothing
High-quality Donation and Easily Accessible Family Stores Promote Recycling
back
Hongkongers lack awareness for the environment? The charity sales statistics of The Salvation Army Family Stores (Family Stores) tell a different story. Over the past year, 730,000 pieces of abandoned clothing were ‘rescued’ in Hong Kong through The Salvation Army Recycling Programme. Hongkongers are willing to buy recycled products, and their support for green shopping is evident. In promoting the idea of recycling and reuse, quality of donated items and convenient location of our Family Stores are the two crucial factors: the former gives shoppers confidence in recycled products, whereas the latter promotes sustainable consumption and environmental protection.
 
Good quality items – A confidence boost for consumers
According to the charity sale records of Family Stores from April 2016 to March 2017, the sales volume of recycled clothing was 732,000, among which 378,000 pieces were second-hand and 354,000 brand-new. That means 2,000 pieces of recycled clothing were sold on average per day. In-kind donation is the source of second-hand clothing, whereas the brand-new ones are mostly samples or unsold stock from various corporates.
 
Mr Ronald Ho, Assistant Chief Operations Officer of The Salvation Army Recycling Programme said, ‘All goods of Family Stores come from in-kind donation from citizens and corporates. Here, we are giving these unused items or even those to be abandoned a second life. Items in good order and condition give our customers confidence on recycled products. Moreover, as they appreciate Salvation Army service, they are willing to shop in our Family Stores. In this way, they can help people in need while supporting green shopping.’
 
Entering the community helps promotion
There are 16 Salvation Army Family Stores in Hong Kong: 8 on Hong Kong Island, 6 in Kowloon and 2 in the New Territories. These Family Stores serve as channels of charity sale of various recycled products including clothes, shoes, stationeries, toys, books, household products, electrical appliances and accessories. Ronald shared, ‘Many people have never considered buying recycled products before. However, their views changed after visiting our Family Stores. Many of them even buy recycled products at the Stores and become green shoppers.’ Family Stores in Sai Wan Ho and To Kwa Wan were officially opened in July. The Army hopes to attract more customers in support of ‘Helping people with eco-shopping’.
 
Our customer Dorothy visits Family Stores weekly. She said, ‘I live nearby the Family Store. I’ll take a look at the Store whenever I pass by. Each visit is a surprise as the goods are not quite the same and different brands are available. Shopping here is just like a treasure hunt. It is also meaningful as I can help reduce waste as well as support charity work.’
 
Promote upcycling
In addition to promoting recycling and reuse, The Salvation Army has also been focussing on developing ‘upcycling products’ in recently years. Used fabrics are collected and delivered to The Salvation Army Heng On Integrated Vocational Rehabilitation Service, where service users with intellectual disabilities utilise these fabric wastes to create new products under their own brand-name ‘WeUse’. In cooperation with the Hong Kong Green Designers Association, recycled items incorporated in design are being upcycled and turned into fashionable apparels. ‘Consumption and environmental protection are not necessarily contradictory. We can still contribute to the environment by choosing recycled products or upcycling and reusing them’, said Ms Rebecca Leung, Chairlady of Hong Kong Green Designers Association.
 
About The Salvation Army Recycling Programme
After the big fire in the Shek Kip Mei squatter area in 1953, over 50,000 victims lost their homes. The Salvation Army called upon the community to donate clothing to provide for the victims’ needs. Since then, The Salvation Army’s work in recycling materials has impressed the community. Many citizens donate their clothes at the Army’s centres. To make good use of the donated items, since the 1960s, The Salvation Army Recycling Programme was established to systematically manage the donated clothes and goods. Donated items are sorted and distributed. Some will be directly sent to the people in need, such as elderly living alone, street sleepers, ex-prisoners and CSSA recipients. Others are sold in Family Stores. The net proceeds will go to The Salvation Army for use across its community programmes. 
According to The Salvation ...
According to The Salvation ...
Mr Ronald Ho, Assistant Chi...
Customer Dorothy finds shop...

新闻中心
港人年救逾730,000件回收衣物
捐赠品高质素、家品店选址便利助推动循环再用
上一页
港人环保意识不足?看救世军家品店的义卖数字会有不同发现。过去一年,港人藉救世军循环再用计划「救回」730,000件将被弃置的衣物,证明港人支持绿色消费,乐意购买回收物品。要推广循环再用,捐赠物品的质素和家品店选址便利是两大关键,前者可提升市民对回收物品的信心;后者则有助推广可持续消费,带动环保文化。
 
优质捐赠品增顾客信心
根据救世军家品店2016年4月至2017年3月的义卖纪录,回收衣物的销量为732,000件,平均每日转售2,000件;其中378,000件是二手衣物,而全新的有354,000件。二手衣物来自市民捐赠,全新的大部份来自公司的样本或存仓衣物。
 
救世军循环再用计划助理总营运主任何志辉表示:「救世军家品店的货源全部靠市民和公司的捐赠,我们赋予闲置、甚至会被丢弃的物品第二个生命。捐赠物品清洁完好,令市民对回收货品有信心,加上他们认同救世军的服务,便愿意在家品店购物,响应绿色消费之馀,又可帮助有需要的人。」
 
店舖入区助推广
救世军现时在全港有16间家品店分佈港岛(8间)、九龙(6间)、新界(2间),作为义卖回收物品的渠道,货品种类包括衣服、鞋袜、文具、玩具、书籍、家庭用品、小家电、精品等。何志辉分享:「很多人从未想过购买回收物品,但当他们逛过家品店,就会对这些物品改观,更尝试购买使用,成为绿色消费者。」救世军西湾河和土瓜湾两间新家品店于七月正式开幕,期望透过购物体验,吸引更多支持「环保˙助人」的顾客。
 
顾客Dorothy平均每星期逛救世军家品店一次,她表示:「家品店在我家附近,经过便入内逛一下。因为货品每次不尽相同,亦有不同品牌供选择,令我有『寻宝』的感觉;在这里购物有多重意义,既减少浪费,又支持慈善工作。」
 
提倡升级再造
除了推广循环再用,救世军近年亦积极发展「升级再造」,将回收的布料转交救世军恒安综合职业復康服务的智障人士製作产品,并创立品牌「WeUse」;另外,跟香港绿色设计师协会合作,以回收品作为设计的素材,升级再造转化为时尚服饰。香港绿色设计师协会主席梁韵鸣说:「消费与环保并非完全对立,如果我们购买回收物品,或将它们升级再造,便可以对环保作出贡献。」
 
关于救世军循环再用计划
1953年,石硖尾木屋区大火,50,000多名灾民痛失家园,为了向灾民提供衣物,救世军在社区募捐衣服。自此,救世军回收物资的工作令人印象深刻,经常有市民将衣物放在中心。为了善用捐赠物资,救世军在1960年代开展循环再用计划,系统地处理市民捐出的衣服及物资,将物品分类后,部份直接赠予社会上有需要的人,如独居长者、露宿者、更生人士及领综援人士等;其馀的则于救世军家品店作义卖,收益用于救世军推行的社区服务。
 
根据救世军家品店资料显示,...
根据救世军家品店资料显示,...
救世军循环再用计划助理总营...
顾客Dorothy表示,家品店购物...