Media Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre Officially Opens
Joining Hands with Joy Family Integrated Service Centre to Provide Child Education & Family Support Services
back
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre (The Learning Centre) celebrated its opening today (25 June 2017), which marked the commencement of The Salvation Army’s education work for children in Macau. The Learning Centre will collaborate with The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre to provide family support services for families in need. With the sponsorship from MGM and the teaching assistance by City University of Macau, The Learning Centre will better serve students with Special Educational Needs (SEN) and provide support to their families.
 
The Learning Centre is the first Salvation Army child education service centre set up in Macau. The Centre is located in Iao Hon, Areia Preta, close to The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre established in 2013. From mid-July to end August, The Learning Centre will organise summer programmes for lower primary SEN students, providing them with learning support programmes on an individual basis, including social etiquettes, emotional management, muscle training, etc. With a capacity of 40 students, the programme was fully registered within a few days after it was opened for enrolment in early June.
 
The event was honoured with the presence of Ms Wong Ka Wai, Functional Head of Division of Continuing Education, Education and Youth Affairs Bureau who has been greatly supportive of the work of The Learning Centre. ‘Children’s development has vital importance to social development. We are pleased to see greater awareness of children’s learning from the community, and more resources have been invested into assisting children and families in need,’ said Ms Wong.
 
The Learning Centre and The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre will be working hand in hand. While The Learning Centre primarily provides child education service, when the children and/or their families are found to have other needs, their cases will be referred to and followed up by The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre. Lieut-Colonel Ian Swan, Officer Commanding of The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command stated that, ‘Residents of Iao Hon District are of different backgrounds. We’re not only taking care of the educational needs of SEN children. Through this service, we’re reaching out to more families and supporting their other needs.’
 
Officiating guests also included Mr Grant Bowie, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of MGM China Holdings Limited, sponsoring unit of The Learning Centre and Dr Jacky Ho Chong-kin, Programme Coordinator of the Social Work Programme, City University of Macau, partner of The Salvation Army’s training programme for social work undergraduate volunteers. Mr Grant Bowie said, ‘Our sustainability vision at MGM is to Create a Better Tomorrow Today, and we see no better way to do that than caring for the needs of our local children. As we are growing our business in Macau, we will also grow our community support and continue to give back to Macau.’
 
According to Dr Jacky Ho, ‘The Centre not only offers learning opportunities to young children. It’s also become a training centre that helps the University to train social workers. We will continue to seek more opportunities for cooperation with The Learning Centre in order to provide more programmes and trainings for our social work undergraduates.’
 
The Learning Centre has recently recruited more than 20 Year One students from the Social Work Programme of the City University of Macau as the first group of volunteers to teach the children at the Centre. With practical teaching experience and the teacher training programme provided by The Learning Centre, these undergraduate students have been able to learn faster and provide more care for the community. Moreover, MGM volunteers helped to clean the Centre before its operation and sponsored the Centre on a colouring competition with overwhelming response. Over 400 entries were submitted from 66 kindergartens and primary schools with inclusive education. The Learning Centre presented prizes to the winning students at today’s ceremony.
 
The Learning Centre is organising a summer day camp that provides extra tutorial classes for P.2-P.6 students in need.
 
About The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre
The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre provides professional after-school support services for students with special educational needs (SEN). Our specialists such as SEN experts, clinical psychologists, speech therapists, occupational therapists, social workers, etc. help to support students and families in need.
 

 

The Salvation Army (Macau) ...
Mr Grant Bowie, Chief Execu...
Dr Jacky Ho Chong-kin, Prog...
Winning students of the col...

新闻中心
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心正式开幕
将联同喜乐家庭综合服务中心提供儿童教育及家庭支援服务
上一页
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心今日(6月25日)庆祝中心开幕,标誌救世军在澳门正式展开儿童教育工作,并将与救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心合作,为有需要家庭提供支援。教学辅助中心得到美高梅的贊助及澳门城市大学提供教学支援,服务有特殊学习需要的儿童及其家庭。
 
该中心是救世军在澳门首间设立的儿童教育服务中心,位于黑沙环祐汉区,邻近于2013年成立的救世军喜乐家庭综合服务中心。教学辅助中心将举办暑期班,由7月中至8月底以个别教导方式,为有特殊学习需要的初小学生提供辅助学习课程,包括社交礼仪、情绪管理及肌肉锻鍊等,名额为40位,中心6月初开始接受报名,短短数天内已满额。
 
出席活动的政府代表澳门教育暨青年局延续教育处职务主管黄嘉慧女士对中心的工作十分支持。她表示:「儿童的成长对社会发展有很重要的影响,我们欣然看到社会人士愈来愈关注儿童学习的情况,投入更多资源协助有需要的儿童及家庭。」
 
教学辅助中心及喜乐家庭综合服务中心将携手合作,由教学辅助中心主责提供儿童教育服务,若知悉学童的家庭有其他需要,便会转介喜乐中心跟进。救世军港澳军区总指挥施宏恩上校表示:「祐汉区有来自不同背景的居民,我们不单只为有特殊学习需要的儿童提供教育,更会透过这项服务,接触更多家庭,支援他们在家庭生活上的其他需要。」
 
美高梅中国控股有限公司首席执行官及执行董事简博贤先生为开幕礼担任主礼嘉宾,他表示:「秉承『今天开创明天』的可持续发展愿景,美高梅相信没有比关怀本地儿童的需要更为重要的事。随着在澳业务版图的扩展,我们定将继续强化各项社区支援服务,以行动回馈澳门社会。」
 
出席开幕礼的主礼嘉宾亦包括与中心合作推行社工本科生训练计划的澳门城市大学人文社会科学学院社会工作课程主任何锺建博士。何博士表示:「这个中心不但为幼儿提供学习机会,亦是协助大学孕育社会工作者的训练所。我们将继续与中心寻找扩大合作的机会,为社工本科生提供更多其他的课程及训练。」
 
中心早前分别招募20多位澳门城市大学社工系一年级本科生成为第一批义工,协助中心教育儿童,并透过这些教学体验及中心为他们提供的导师培训计划,加快自身的学习进程及提升对社区的关怀。美高梅除贊助中心之成立及经费以外,其金狮义工队更于筹备阶段为中心进行清洁工作。此外,中心得到美高梅支持举办填色比赛,邀请本澳66间幼稚园及融合教育小学参加,共收到400多份作品,在开幕礼上颁发奖项予胜出的学生。
 
中心亦会于暑假举办日营,为有需要的二至六年级小学生提供补课服务。
 
关于救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心
救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心为有特殊学习需要的学生提供专业的课后支援。中心由不同专业人士提供服务,包括特殊学习需要专家、临床心理学家、言语治疗师、职业治疗师、社工等,支援有需要的学生及其家庭。

 

救世军(澳门)教学辅助中心...
美高梅中国控股有限公司首席...
澳门城市大学社工系学生义工...
颁发奖项予填色比赛胜出学生。