Media Centre
Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Programme
Helps Ensure that Elderly Residents Enjoy Peace in Their Final Days
back
How well you live is more important than how long you live. With funding from ”la Caixa” Foundation and The Bank of East Asia Charitable Foundation (BEA Foundation), The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command (The Salvation Army) has engaged 13 participating care homes in the Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly established in 2010 to provide end-of-life care for elderly residents, specifically those suffering from terminal illness. Elderly residents in the Programme can live the rest of their lives in a comfortable and familiar environment, surrounded by loved ones and cared for by familiar workers and healthcare professionals, who help relieve the pains and stress associated with terminal illness. 
 
Surrounded by Loved Ones during the Final Journey
 
Ms Lin Kan-hoi’s mother is one of the elderly residents who has participated in the Programme. In the past, Ms Lin and her mother grew very tired of the futile treatment Ms. Lin’s father endured as a patient suffering from terminal illness in hospital. When her mother learned there was an alternative for the elderly residents with terminal illness, she was very pleased to join the Programme. 
 
‘In the care home setting, elderly patients can enjoy more personalised care from a core team of medical professionals. The doctor and nurse of the Programme visited my mother on a regular basis and the staff of the care home closely monitored the condition of her health. When she was bedridden and had difficulty swallowing, nursing care was enhanced to reduce the risk of pneumonia. I stayed with my mother throughout her final days, cherishing every minute together in a private room,’ said Ms Lin.
 
Promoting End-of-life Care in Hong Kong’s Residential Homes
 
Since 2010, the Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Programme has been dedicated to promoting palliative care in local residential homes. Achievements include the following:
  • 13 participating care homes provided end-of-life care to 224 elderly residents and more than 140 family members by the end of March 2017.
  • Published in 2015, the Palliative Care Practice Manual has become a reference work in developing palliative care services in residential care homes.
  • More than 7,500 people have been engaged through outreach activities to raise public awareness of the needs of elderly residents and their relatives regarding end-of-life care.
 
In the next three years, the Programme will further raise public awareness on end-of-life care through public education and develop caring networks in the community to put the concept of ‘Compassionate Community’ into practice.
 
Launching Ceremony for the Project Phase III cum Seminar on ‘Envisioning from Compassionate Teams to Compassionate Community’
 
Today (20 June 2017), the Programme organised a Launching Ceremony for the Project Phase III cum Seminar on ‘Envisioning from Compassionate Teams to Compassionate Community’. Officiating guests were namely Lieut-Colonel Ian Swan, Officer Commanding of The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command; Ms Mimi Kam, General Manager & Head of Human Resources & Corporate Communications Division, The Bank of East Asia, Limited and Director of the BEA Foundation and Dr Leong Che-hung, G.B.M., G.B.S., O.B.E., J.P., Chairman of the Advisory Committee of the Palliative Care in Residential Care Homes for the Elderly Programme.
 
‘Apart from providing financial support, ”la Caixa” Foundation and the BEA Foundation have been invaluable partners in the sharing of knowledge and resources for the development of the Programme. Thanks to ”la Caixa” Foundation, which has shared its expertise in the development of palliative care services in Spain, we have developed an excellent model of palliative care for elderly residents in Hong Kong,’ said Lieut-Colonel Ian Swan.
 
‘We at the BEA Foundation are pleased that the Programme has contributed to the development of palliative care in Hong Kong. Through the dedication and collaboration of The Salvation Army, participating homes, district hospitals, and others, I am confident that the Programme will continue to support a growing number of people in our community in the years to come,’ said Ms Mimi Kam.
 
During the Seminar, Dr Edward Leung Man-fuk , President, Hong Kong Association of Gerontology, and Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun , Director, Sau Po Centre of Ageing, The University of Hong Kong presented two study reports on facility availability for developing palliative care and end-of-life care in residential care homes and a systematic and guided model for front-line social workers to support elderly residents and their relatives in psycho-social and spiritual aspects respectively.
 
About Palliative Care and Resident Care Homes for the Elderly
 
With funding support from ”la Caixa” Foundation and The Bank of East Asia Charitable Foundation, The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command has promoted palliative care and end-of-life care in 13 participating residential care homes since 2010, providing an alternative end-of-life choice for elderly residents, strengthening interaction and collaboration between the medical sector and residential care homes, optimising service operations, raising public awareness and accumulating knowledge and experience to advocate the incorporation of end-of-life care into routine services.
In Phase III, the Programme...
Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun (2nd ...
Dr Edward Leung Man-fuk sha...
Ms Lin Kan-hoi's mother is ...

新闻中心
香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划
帮助临终院舍长者安然走完人生路
上一页
当人生进入倒数阶段,「活好一天」比「活多一天」重要。救世军港澳军区获得”la Caixa”基金会及东亚银行慈善基金拨款,2010年起在13间安老院舍推动「香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划」,爲居住院舍、病情已经不能逆转的长者提供临终照顾,让他们可选择留在院舍接受纾缓护理。在熟悉的环境中,家人可以长时间陪伴,由熟悉的院舍职员和专业医护人员照顾终老,有效减低长者焦虑,安然地渡过晚晴。
 
被爱包围 安详离世
 
连简开的妈妈是其中一位参加长者。在照顾患病爸爸时,一家人都感受到进出医院的疲累。当妈妈知悉有此服务,便立即加入。
 
连简开表示:「在安老院舍里,患病长者得到更贴心照顾。计划的医生及护士团队定期探访妈妈,院舍职员紧密地监察妈妈的身体变化,在她卧床及开始出现吞嚥困难时,院舍亦加强护理,尽量减低肺炎风险。在妈妈临终时,我们可以在独立房间里珍惜与妈妈共处的每一刻。」
 
推动本港安老院舍临终照顾服务
 
「香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划」是业内的先导计划,过去六年,积极推动本港安老院舍临终照顾服务,并取得以下成果:
  • 直至2017年3月,参与计划的安老院舍共13间,224名院友及超过140名家属接受服务。
  • 计划已将服务经验结集成书,製订了《安老院舍临终照顾实务手册》,作为发展院舍临终照顾服务的参考。
  • 计划打破社会谈论临终忧虑的禁忌,向7,500多名公众人士讲述临终长者及其家人的需要。
 
在未来三年,计划进一步推展社区教育,令本港市民更关注长者的晚晴需要,并在社区内连结起关爱网络,实践建立「关爱社区」的理念,让走在晚晴路上的人及其家人得到更适切的支援和关顾。
 
第三期启动礼暨「全人全队·全城起动」研讨会
 
今日(2017年6月20日),计划举行了第三期启动礼暨「全人全队·全城起动」研讨会,主礼嘉宾包括救世军港澳军区总指挥施宏恩上校、东亚银行总经理兼人力资源及企业传讯处主管暨东亚银行慈善基金董事甘豔美女士和香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划顾问委员会主席梁智鸿医生。
 
施宏恩上校表示:「”la Caixa”基金会和东亚银行慈善基金不但拨款支持计划,亦将西班牙的发展经验带到香港,令我们的服务模式成为院舍临终照顾服务的蓝本。」
 
甘豔美女士表示:「东亚银行慈善基金很高兴计划能推动本港的临终照顾服务,相信在未来的日子,透过救世军、参加计划院舍和地区医院的通力合作,将会服务到更多有需要的人。」
 
研讨会上,香港老年学会会长梁万福医生和香港大学秀圃老年研究中心总监楼玮群博士分别就两项研究,探讨现今安老院舍在发展临终照顾时所需的条件和配套,并列出前线社工在关顾临终长者及其家人时,如何在社交、心理、灵性三方面提供有系统和导向性的支援。
 
关于「香港安老院舍完善人生关顾计划」
 
救世军港澳军区获”la Caixa”基金会及东亚银行慈善基金拨款推行计划,自2010年至今与13间院舍致力推动临终长者在院舍的晚晴照顾模式,爲本港长者提供多一个临终照顾的选择,并加强医院与院舍的协作,改善服务流程,提高公众关注临终长者的需要,又透过计划累积及展示的经验,继续向政府各界反映,将临终照顾纳入爲安老服务的核心项目。
计划步入第三期,将进一步推...
香港大学秀圃老年研究中心总...
香港老年学会会长梁万福医生...
连简开的妈妈是其中一位参加...