Media Centre
The Salvation Army International Leader
General André Cox's Easter Message
back

Easter Message 2017 from Salvation Army IHQ on Vimeo.

 
Think Again!
 
Salvation is found in no one else, for there is no other name under heaven given to mankind by which we must be saved’ (Acts 4:12).
 
Easter is a time for us to reflect upon the incredible, extravagant and measureless grace of God. Through Christ he provided a way for mere mortal human beings to be both reconciled to him and enabled to enjoy the matchless benefits of a personal relationship with him.
 
Sadly, for many Easter weekend may not represent anything more than an opportunity to have an extended break from the relentless pursuit of other personal goals and ambitions.
 
We live in a world resolutely turned towards materialism, to the almost total exclusion of the other elements we require in order to find fulfilment and purpose – to be complete and totally satisfied. Modern society offers us many of the things we need from a material perspective, but these are not enough to ensure happiness and freedom.
 
If you think material possessions bring happiness, then think again! You only have to take a look at society today to see the negative effects of materialistic consumerism.
 
Despite all that we have, modern humankind remains unsatisfied, seeking to find the point of our very existence and trying to find assurance that there is something after death.
 
In the midst of that context, the Christian message is unique because the message is not about a set of doctrines and beliefs but about a person, Jesus Christ.
 
We recognise the fact that we are not perfect people, but Easter brings the hope of new life – one that has been changed and transformed. The fact that we are imperfect is not, however, an excuse to justify a life of continual sin and rebellion.
 
Sadly, we recognise that some people in society have turned their backs on the Church because they feel that Christians are lacking in credibility. We preach love, yet the Church can be the most unforgiving place. We preach spiritual values, yet in reality Christians often aspire to material wealth, power and influence. We preach justice for the oppressed, but how many of us actually do anything to make a difference?
 
The apostle Paul reminds us in Romans 3:23 that ‘all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God’. It is because of sin that man is unable to enjoy a relationship with God, and this explains why so many of our contemporaries are unsatisfied and seeking.
 
Despite a world that appears to be resolutely materialistic, we do see much evidence of people who search for meaning, who seek spiritual answers to the most preoccupying question of all: is there life after death? Could it be that many in our world today are trying to fill the spiritual void and find ways through their own efforts to reach the eternal paradise?
 
Jesus came to reconcile the world to God – this is the primary reason for his incarnation. Everything else resulting from the presence of Jesus in the world and in our lives is a direct result of us being reconciled to God.
 
Jesus came to fill the void that separates us from God. What is absolutely extraordinary – and what we need to remember every day of our lives – is the incredible fact that God in Jesus took the initiative in order that we might be reconciled to him!
 
It is for this reason that Jesus willingly paid the price so that people like us who were considered to be ‘enemies’ could be reconciled as a result: ‘Once you were alienated from God and were enemies in your minds because of your evil behaviour. But now he has reconciled you by Christ’s physical body through death to present you holy in his sight, without blemish and free from accusation’ (Colossians 1:21-22).
 
What more do you need? Is Jesus not sufficient for you? If you have discovered the blessing and peace that only Jesus can bring then you will agree with the songwriter* when he says:
 
When peace like a river attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll,
Whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to know
It is well, it is well with my soul.
 
Chorus
It is well with my soul,
It is well, it is well with my soul.
 
Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ hath regarded my helpless estate
And hath shed his own blood for my soul.
 
For me be it Christ, be it Christ hence to live;
If Jordan above me shall roll,
No pang shall be mine, for in death as in life
Thou wilt whisper thy peace to my soul.
 
But Lord, ’tis for thee, for thy coming we wait,
The sky, not the grave, is our goal;
O trump of the angel! O voice of the Lord!
Blessèd hope, blessèd rest of my soul!
 
André Cox
General

*‘It is Well with my Soul’ by Horatio Gates Spafford (741, The Song Book of The Salvation Army)

Bible quotations from the New International Version

新闻中心
救世军国际领袖
郭安志大将復活节文告
上一页

再想想吧!
 
郭安志大将
 
除祂以外,别无拯救;因为在天下人间,没有赐下别的名,我们可以靠着得救。」(使徒行传4章12节)
 
復活节是对神那奇妙丰富的无穷恩典进行反思的时刻。藉着基督,神为世人提供了一个途径,让我们能够与祂和好,并能享有因为与祂建立个人关係,而带来无可比拟的好处。可惜,对很多人来说,復活节不过是延长了的週末假期,让我们有机会在持续追求其他个人目标和抱负期间,稍作休息。
 
我们身处的世界已经义无反顾地投向物质主义的怀抱,把那些让我们找到成功感和目标,从而感到完整和全然满足所需要的其他元素统统排除在外。从物质的角度来说,现代社会为我们供应了大部份所需的东西,但这些都不足以保证我们能得到快乐和自由。
 
若你以为物质能带来快乐,那你就错了。再想想吧!只消看看今日的社会,就会发现物质消费主义所带来的负面影响。
 
现代人虽然拥有很多,却仍感到不满足,仍在努力寻找生存的意义,试图觅得死后还有后续的确据。在这样的环境中,基督教带出独一无二的信息,因为这信息并非一系列的教义和信条,而是关乎一个人──耶稣基督的。
 
我们深知自己并不完美,復活节却给我们带来新生命的盼望──就是经历转变和转化的新生命。可是,我们的不完美并非纵容我们不断犯罪和叛逆的藉口。
 
可悲的是,我们发现社会上有些人之所以背离教会,是因为他们认为基督徒缺乏信誉。我们宣讲爱的信息,但教会却可能是最欠缺宽容的地方;我们传扬属灵价值,但现实中基督徒常常追求物质财富、权力和影响力;我们教导为受压迫的人伸张公义,但我们当中会有多少人採取行动以带来改变?
 
在罗马书3章23节,使徒保罗提醒我们:「 因为世人都犯了罪,亏缺了神的荣耀」人因罪而不能和神建立关係,这也解释了为何仍有那麽多人感到不满足,并且要不断寻求。
 
儘管世界似乎是物质主义挂帅,我们仍能从许多的证据中,看见人们追寻意义,为「死后有生命吗?」这个人人关注的问题寻找属灵的答案。今天,我们的世界是否有很多人试图填满属灵的空隙,单凭一己之力寻找到达永恆乐土的途径?
 
耶稣来是要叫世人与神和好──这是祂道成肉身的主要原因。因耶稣降临我们的世界和生命当中而产生的一切,都是我们与神和好的直接结果。
 
基督的降生填补了使我们和神隔绝的空隙。我们必须每天紧记这个超乎想像的美好事实:神藉着耶稣採取行动,好使我们能与祂和好。
 
因此,耶稣甘愿付上代价,使我们这些曾经「与祂为敌」的人能够与神和好:「你们从前与神隔绝,因着恶行,心里与祂为敌。但如今祂藉着基督的肉身受死,叫你们与自己和好,都成了圣洁,没有瑕疵,无可责备,把你们引到自己面前。」(歌罗西书1章21-22节)
 
你们还需要甚麽?有了耶稣还不够吗?若你找到只有耶稣才能带来的祝福和平安,你便会认同作词人*所言:
 
平安有时像平静河环绕我,
悲伤有时像巨浪波,
不论何环境,我已蒙主引领,
我心灵得安宁,得安宁。
 
副歌
我心灵,得安宁,
我心灵,得安宁,得安宁。
 
撒但虽来侵,众试炼虽来临,
但我有确据在我心,
基督已清楚,我景况无人助,
就为我流宝血,救赎我。
 
凡我众罪孽全钉在十字架,
念此,我心中乐无涯;
欢然一身轻,我重担主担承;
赞美主!我心灵永安宁。
 
求主快再来,使我信心实现;
云彩将捲起在主前,
号筒声响应,我救主再降临,
愿主来我心灵,得安宁。
 
 
* 《平安有时像平静河》Horatio Gates Spafford(《救世军歌集》267首)