Media Centre
The Salvation Army Survey on the Employability of Senior Secondary Students
Employability Proportional to Work Experience
Youngsters Value Parents’ Comments on Life Planning
back
The performance of our new generation in the workplace is being criticised frequently. In order to help young people improve their employability, The Salvation Army has been collaborating with the Assessment and Training Centre of the Chinese University of Hong Kong since 2013 to develop an "Employability Assessment Tool" (EAT) measuring 12 domains, aiming to provide comprehensive data for the government, the business sector and parents to review the policies and strategies for forward looking improvement of the employability of young people.
 
The EAT has been applied to the service users (aged 15 to 29) of The Salvation Army Employment Service for the past three years. A territory-wide sampling survey was launched in early 2016 to conduct a cross-sectional study on the employability of senior secondary students in Hong Kong. According to the survey, the employability of students with work experience was relatively higher than those without. Many students valued their parents’ point of views on their life planning. Therefore, those who had a good relationship with parents and whose parents had reasonable expectations on their career plans showed higher employability. The findings echo the belief of The Salvation Army that the family is the primary social arena in which a child establishes a core identity with which to enter adulthood. 
 
Importance of Parent-child Relationship
 
2,236 senior secondary school students from 18 districts in Hong Kong were interviewed with the Stratified Random Sampling method in the first six months of 2016 (Table 1). Among all the 12 domains, the scores in “Coping Skills (willingness to seek help)” (3.60) and “Diversified Thinking” (3.59) were the highest, and the scores in “Courage” (2.92) and “Self-esteem” (3.09) were the lowest (Table 2). 
 
Students with work experience considered “Related Working Skills” (34.3%), “Carefulness / Cautiousness” (14.6%), “Interpersonal Relationships” (11.1%) and “Communication Skills” (10.6%) important in workplace (Table 3). Their scores in all 12 domains of the EAT were higher than those without work experience, especially the scores in “Optimism”, “Diversified Thinking” and “Responsibility” which showed the differences were statistically significant (p<0.05) (Table 4).
 
When students planned their career paths, they sought advice from “Parents (or Guardians)” (61.8%) and “Friends” (50.9%) (Table 5). Those who had a better relationship with their parents were more inclined to pursue their study and demonstrate a higher employability (Table 6).
 
Conclusion and Suggestions
 
a. The employability of the youth would be affected by the changes of the society, economic situation and atmosphere. Hence, The Salvation Army Employment Service will continue to measure the employability of the youth service users. A territory-wide assessment and sampling survey of senior secondary students will be conducted biannually to continue the Cohort Study of their employability, which generates comprehensive data for the government, the business sector, schools, NGOs, youth and parents to review the policies and strategies for forward looking improvement of the employability of young people.
 
b. In the survey, the students treated their parents as key advisors on their life planning. Those who had a good relationship with parents and whose parents had reasonable expectations on their career plans showed a higher employability. The findings echo the belief of The Salvation Army that the family is the primary social arena in which a child establishes a core identity with which to enter adulthood. The Salvation Army Employment Service is going to provide services for parents, such as introduction on life planning and communication skills, in order to help them share their opinions with their children and make reasonable expectations on their children’s life planning.
 
c. Moreover, those students with work experience made higher scores in “Optimism”, “Diversified Thinking” and “Responsibility” than those without work experience. The Salvation Army Employment Service suggests that the government should encourage the business sector through social policies, taxation and public measures to provide more work exposure opportunities or placements for senior secondary students. It would help students know more about the requirements in workplace so as to increase their employability.
 
d. Last but not least, The Salvation Army Employment Service also suggests that the government should put work placement into the existing curriculum. It would raise the awareness of teachers, parents and students on the positive impact of work experience on employability apart from academic results. Support from the Education Bureau would help facilitate corporate-school cooperation and encourage private and public sectors to provide work placements to students.
 
Case: Natalie, a Form Four Student, Determines to Be a Top Tattooist
 
Natalie, who grows up in a middle-class family, is a Form Four arts student of a band one secondary school. Although her academic performance is above average, she aims to become a top tattooist. She says that every tattoo represents the value which the client holds. A tattooist helps to carve that important message on their skin. Natalie's father, an entrepreneur, and her mother, a full-time housewife, show great support to her decision. They are open to their daughter's life planning and transmit positive life attitude to her.
 
Case: Ms Tse Suk-wah, Supervisor of Careers Guidance of The Hong Kong Taoist Association Ching Chung Secondary School
 
Ms Tse said that work experience was valuable to students and suggested making job placements or work exposure activities (for Form Four or Five students for three to five days per year) compulsory, which could be shown on academic reports. Ms Tse agreed that life planning education to parents could be strengthened to help youngsters plan their career paths. She stressed that teachers should take up the role of debriefing the experience with students in the process. She suggested that the Education Bureau should allocate more resources to relieve the burden of teachers responsible for careers guidance, so that they could focus more on providing counselling to students and help them reflect on their career-related issues.
 
 
According to a Salvation Ar...
Natalie aims to become a to...

新闻中心
救世军高中生「就业力调查」
「就业力」与工作经验成正比
生涯规划上青年重视父母意见
上一页
新一代在职场上的表现经常备受批评,为了帮助青年人提升就业能力,救世军在2013年起,与香港中文大学评估培训中心合作编订一份涵盖12个评估范畴的「就业力评估」工具,目的是提供具前瞻性的全面数据,让政府政策、教育制度、商界参与、社福服务,以至父母都能明白高中学生发展就业力上的需要。
 
该评估工具在过去3年持续为接受「救世军就业服务」的青年人(15至29岁)进行评估,并在2016年初进行全港性的抽样调查,为本港高中学生就业力进行横断面研究(Cross-sectional study)。调查发现,具有工作经验的高中生,其就业力相对较高;在生涯规划上,他们重视父母的意见,而与父母关係良好,父母又对其生涯规划有合理期望的组别,其就业力亦会较高。这结果回应了救世军的使命宣言:「家庭是孩子活动的中心,建立一个核心身份,进入成人阶段。」
 
亲子关係重要
 
在2016年首6个月所进行的研究中,以分层随机抽样方式 (Stratified Random Sampling),访问了全港18区中学合共2,236位高中学生 (表一)。在所有12个就业力范畴中,以「愿意求助」(3.60分) 及「能多元思考」(3.59分) 的分数相对最高,而以「勇于面对」(2.92分) 及「有自尊」(3.09分) 的分数相对最低 (表二)。
 
在有工作经验的高中学生中,当问及哪些工作经验能适用于将来的工作时,经归纳后最多高中学生表示的是「工作技能」(34.3%),其次分别是「小心 / 谨慎」(14.6%)、「人际关係」(11.1%) 及「沟通」(10.6%)(表三)。若计算「就业力评估」,有工作经验的高中学生在12个范畴中的评分,均比没有工作经验的为高,当中以「乐观」、「能多元思考」及「有责任感」在统计学上有显着的分别 (p<0.05)(表四)。
 
只计算被访者回答在生涯规划上需要徵询别人时,首两项最重要的人选分别是「父母 (或监护人)」(61.8%),其次是「朋友」(50.9%)(表五)。同时,高中学生与父母 (或监护人)、家人和朋友的关係越好,及他们的进修意愿越高,他们的就业力亦越高,差不多全部有着显着正面的关连 (表六)。
 
总结和建议
 
A. 青年人的就业力会因应社会的变迁、经济的转型、个人的心态而有所变化。因此,「救世军就业服务」会持续每两年进行一次大型的全港性高中学生评估,为本港高中学生就业力进行代际研究 (Cohort Study),期望对香港高中学生的就业力转变,提供具前瞻性的全面数据予政府制订相关政策、促进教育商界社福合作,提高父母更明白高中子女发展就业力的需要,为青少年由学校生活顺利过渡到工作世界提供更适合的政策及配套服务,让每位青年人都能够装备自己的工作能力来改变未来的生活状况。
 
B. 首先调查发现,父母是高中学生在生涯规划上最主要的徵询对象。高中学生和父母的关係越好,期望越合理,他们整体的就业力亦越好。这结果回应了救世军的使命宣言:「家庭是孩子活动的中心,建立一个核心身份,进入成人阶段。」「救世军就业服务」将会为家长提供服务,除灌输他们生涯规划概念外,亦装备家长在知识、技巧、态度上如何与子女分享生涯规划及给予子女合理期望。
 
C. 另外曾有工作经验的高中学生,整体较没有工作经验的乐观、有责任感和具备多元思考。「救世军就业服务」建议政府在社会政策、税务安排及公共措施等各方面配合,鼓励商界提供更多工作体验或实习予高中学生,协助高中学生及早认识工作世界的要求,从而提升他们的就业力。
 
D. 最后「救世军就业服务」建议政府在现有教育课程设计层面,加入工作实习的成分,让老师、家长及学生能扩阔认识和体现工作经验对就业能力的正面影响,在注意学术成绩之馀,亦重视青少年就业能力的发展。教育局亦可鼓励不同公营及商业机构,为学生提供工作实习的机会。
 
个案: 中四女生Natalie,人生目标是做一位出色的纹身师
 
Natalie生长于中产家庭,是就读第一组别中学的中四文科学生,学业成绩中上。现时的人生目标是做一位出色的纹身师,她觉得每一个纹身背后总代表着当事人所重视的价值,而纹身师就能协助他们把这份心愿刻在身上。Natalie的父亲是食品出入口公司老闆、母亲是家庭主妇,父母都十分支持Natalie的决定,因为他们对女儿的生涯规划抱持开放的态度,支持女儿的决定,亦在过程中给予支持和正确的做人价值观。
 
分享:谢淑华老师 (香港道教联合会青松中学升学及就业辅导主任)
 
谢老师认为,实际工作经验对同学是非常有价值的,建议将工作实习或体验纳入高中生必修课程或活动(如设于中四或中五,为期三或五日),而有关活动可于成绩表中显示。谢老师亦同意加强家长教育,让不同持份者帮助年青人进行生涯规划。最后,她强调老师在过程中肩负起总结经验的角色,教育局应增拨资源,减轻升学就业辅导老师的教学负担,让他们加强学生辅导,把有关经验深化。
 
救世军的调查发现如果高中生...
中四的Natalie希望成为出色的...