History of The Salvation Army

The Salvation Army began in 1865 when William Booth, a Methodist pastor in London, gave up the comfort of his pulpit and decided to take the gospel into the streets where it would reach the poor, the homeless, the hungry and the destitute.

His original aim was to send converts to established churches of the day, but soon he realised that the poor did not feel comfortable or welcome in most of the churches and chapels of Victorian England. Regular churchgoers were appalled when these shabbily dressed, unwashed people came to join them in worship.

Booth, thus, founded East London Christian Mission for these people in the slums of East London. It met in tents, theatres, dance halls and the outdoors and helped people with problems of hunger, homelessness and poverty. In 1867, Booth had only 10 full-time workers, but by 1874, the number had grown to 1,000 volunteers and 42 evangelists. Booth assumed the title of general superintendent, with his followers calling him “General”. The converts spread out of the East End of London into neighbouring areas and then to other cities.

Booth was reading a printer's proof of the 1878 annual report when he noticed the statement “The Christian Mission is a volunteer army.” Crossing out the words “volunteer army”, he penned in “Salvation Army”. The name “The Salvation Army” was then adopted and these words became the basis of the foundation deed of The Salvation Army. From that point, converts became soldiers of Christ and were also known then as Salvationists. The “army” was furnished with uniforms, a flag, a brass band and martial music.

Booth and his wife and other officers of the Army endeavoured to expand the kingdom of God through the two-pillar directions of evangelical ministry and social ministry. Today, the work of The Salvation Army has expanded to 128 countries and areas, meeting human needs in the name of God without discrimination.

Declaration of The Founder of The Salvation Army:
“While women weep, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While little children go hungry, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While men go to prison, in and out, as they do now, I’ll fight;
While there is a drunkard left,
While there is a poor lost girl upon the streets,
While there remains one dark soul without the light of God,
I’ll fight –
I’ll fight to the very end!”

William Booth (1829-1912)

The Salvation Army in Hong Kong

The Salvation Army’s first service in China was to provide humanitarian assistance to refugees in Beijing in 1916. The unstable political environment made millions of people move to Beijing for food and shelter. The Salvation Army officers helped as many refugees as they could. Then, the Army rapidly extended its services in the Mainland and reached Hong Kong in 1930. 

Leading people to Christ is one of the missions of the Army. In the early days, church gatherings were held in open areas. The first corps (church) of The Salvation Army was established in 1937 in Kowloon City.

During the Sino-Japanese war in the early 1940s, the Army set up food kitchen to feed thousands of hungry refugees daily. When World War II ended in 1945, schools and orphanages were opened to meet the needs of children.

The social environment in Hong Kong became stable in the 1950s. People of Hong Kong who had fled to the Mainland during the wartime started returning home. At the same time, the civil war in China created the influx of mainlanders to Hong Kong for a better living. The Salvation Army established schools and provided social services to cope with the increasing welfare demands of the community.

In the following decades, The Salvation Army continued to expand community services and its church ministry. Schools were opened. Diversified social services were launched to meet the changing needs of the community. Corps were set up in different districts for spiritual nurturing. Emergency relief programmes were carried out in different countries in need. Recycling Programme and Family Stores were operated to promote green living and recycling for charity.

In 2015, The Salvation Army celebrated its 85 years of services in Hong Kong. Over the eight decades, The Salvation Army Hong Kong and Macau Command has grown from a small group ministering to outcast women and girls, to a multi-dimensional service organisation giving hope and support to all those in need.

The Salvation Army in China

As early as 1916, The Salvation Army commenced its services in Beijing by distributing food and providing shelters to people suffering in wars. During the following decades, hospitals and orphanages were set up in Beijing, Shijiazhuang, Tianjin and other areas providing assistance to the countless poor and orphans, until 1951 when the Army’s services were suspended in China.

The Salvation Army recommenced its presence in China in 1988 when a 7.2 magnitude earthquake occurred in Gengma County of Yunnan. Emergency relief and rehabilitation work were carried out in Qiao’ai Village. From then onwards, The Salvation Army is responsive to disaster relief in China. The Army is also dedicated to the community development in poverty stricken areas in the Mainland through programmes of infrastructure construction, education, healthcare and agriculture development. In 2011, according to the regulations of Yunnan Province, The Salvation Army had the provisional registration as a foreign NGO to serve the needy in mainland China.

The Salvation Army in Macau

The Salvation Army commenced its services in Macau in 1999 with the set up of Iao Hon Corps and Community Service Centre. In 2007, the Army established a permanent base in the north district for long-term development in the area. The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre, the first social services unit of the Army in Macau, was established in 2014 with the aim to provide services to the local young people and families. In 2017, The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre, the Army’s first educational services unit in Macau, was established.

In 2000, the first Family Store started operations in Macau. With the support of the Macau Government, collection campaigns are launched regularly to promote Recycling Programme. Apart from resale of used materials, selected items are delivered to the needy through local non-government organsations.

A Journey of Time

By the invitation of the Hong Kong Colonial Government, The Salvation Army started serving in Hong Kong by providing residential care to the underprivileged girls and women in 1930.

The Salvation Army set up a ‘food kitchen’ to feed thousands of hungry refugees daily during the war time.

In 1947, the old Wanchai Police Station was used as The Salvation Army school, handicraft centre and church meeting place.

In 1951, the Headquarters of The Salvation Army was erected at 547-555 Nathan Road.

The former Hong Kong Governor, Sir Alexander Grantham, officiated at the opening ceremony of the then Chuk Yuen Corps and Social Services Centre in 1956.

The Salvation Army Kwong Ming Primary School was opened in 1959.

In 1960s, vocational training was one of the key foci of the Army’s social services. Haircutting, woodwork, tailoring and sewing classes were arranged for Mainland immigrants. Nursery services were provided to release women’s burden of taking care of children.

The Advisory Board was officially set up in 1970 to enhance the effectiveness of the Army’s services.

In 1973, the opening of William Booth Secondary School marked a new chapter of the Army’s educational services.

There was an influx of Vietnamese refugees to Hong Kong in 1978. The Army provided education, social welfare and religious services in two of the government refugee camps.

The Salvation Army Headquarters moved to the current premises at 11 Wing Sing Lane of Yaumatei in 1985.

The Army completed its mission of roof-top education following the closure of the Kwong Chi School in 1987. There had been a total of 10 roof-top primary schools.

The Salvation Army actively took part in emergency relief efforts, giving a helping hand to people affected by the flood in China, earthquake in Taiwan and the typhoon disaster in The Philippines.

The Army commenced poverty alleviation programmes in mainland China in the 1990s. In 1995, General Paul A. Rader visited the then Deputy Director of the Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council, Mr. Chen Zi-ying.

In March 2000, the Iao Hon Corps and Community Service Centre in Macau officially opened.

2008 was the 20th anniversary of The Salvation Army Carer Service. The Service was the first of its kind in Hong Kong to provide assistance to people who have to look after the elderly (the carers). In 2003, the Carer Association was inaugurated to offer a platform for mutual aid among carers.

An amount of HK$60 million was raised to respond to the emergency and rehabilitation needs of the South Asian Tsunami in 2004.

A 4-year relief and rehabilitation programme has been carrying out since 2008 in Shifang City, Mianzhu City and Luojiang County to help restore the daily living of the Sichuan earthquake survivors.

In 2011, according to the regulations of Yunnan Province, The Salvation Army had the provisional registration as a foreign NGO to serve the needy in mainland China.

In March 2011, Japan had earthquake and tsunami. The Command sent over 300 Corps members to raise funds. More than HK$57 million was raised for emergency relief and rehabilitation services in total.

In 2014, The Salvation Army Joy Family Integrated Service Centre, the Army’s first social services unit in Macau, was established.

In 2017, The Salvation Army (Macau) Learning Centre, the Army’s first educational services unit in Macau, was established.

救世軍的歷史

救世軍的起源追溯至1865年,當時身為倫敦循道會牧師的卜維廉,為了向倫敦貧民區的貧困、無家可歸、飢餓和被遺棄的人傳揚基督的福音,便放棄了循道會舒適的講壇,進入人群之中傳道。

卜維廉原本打算安排這些初信的教徒於各教會參與聚會,可是他漸漸意識到當時恆常出席教會聚會的人並不適應與這群衣衫襤褸的窮人一同崇拜,而這群新信徒亦對進入教會感到不便。

有見及此,卜維廉便於英國倫敦東部的貧民區創立東倫敦基督徒佈道團,並於帳蓬、劇院、禮堂甚至戶外地方舉行聚會,又向那些飢餓的、無家可歸及貧困的人提供幫助。1867年,卜維廉只有10名全職同工,但到了1874年,基督徒佈道團已有多達1,000名義工以及42名傳道人。卜維廉被追隨者稱為「大將」,福音事工迅速由倫敦東陲擴展至鄰近城市。

「救世軍」名稱的由來源於卜維廉在1878年的基督徒會年報中,讀到一句「基督徒佈道團是一支志願軍隊」。他遂把「志願軍」刪去,再寫上「救世軍」一詞,「救世軍」之名自此被採用,及後更成為整個組織的事工基石。信徒成為救世軍軍兵,現在也稱為救世軍人。整支「軍隊」配備制服、旗幟、銅管樂隊及軍歌。

卜維廉與妻子以及其他軍官以福音事工和社會服務事工的雙重路線,竭力擴展神的國度。發展至今,救世軍已遍及全球127個國家及地區,並奉耶穌的名在不分彼此的原則下幫助有需要的人。

救世軍創辦人格言
「當女人仍在哭泣,如現在一樣,我要戰鬥;
當孩子仍然捱餓,如現在一樣,我要戰鬥;
當男人仍舊進出監獄,如現在一樣,我要戰鬥;
當仍有一個醉漢,
當仍有一個可憐少女,迷失於街頭,
當仍有一個黑暗靈魂,缺乏上帝之光,
我要戰鬥 ──
我要戰鬥到底!」

卜維廉 (1829-1912)

救世軍在香港

救世軍服務中國始於1916年,當時數以百萬計的難民逃亡到北京,救世軍軍官盡他們所能在北京援助難民。隨後,救世軍於中國迅速發展。1930年,香港正處於動盪的年代。當年三月,在當時輔政司妻子修頓夫人的主持下於港督府舉行了一次會議,救世軍應殖民政府的邀請,在香港開設宿舍,為婦人和女童提供安身之所。救世軍服務香港由此正式展開。

救世軍在提供社會關懷服務的同時,亦繼續履行使命,領人歸主。救世軍早期的教會聚會是於戶外進行,直至1937年,首個部隊(教會)於九龍城成立。

1940年代初,受中日戰爭的影響,社會湧現大批難民。救世軍開設「施食廠」,每日為飢餓的難民提供數以千份食物。1945年,二次大戰結束後,救世軍開辦學校及孤兒院,照顧有需要的兒童。

1950年代,香港社會環境日趨穩定。戰爭期間逃難至大陸的香港居民陸續回港。同一時間,中國內戰爆發,大量難民湧入。救世軍於是設立學校並開展社會服務,以迎合社會上日漸增加的社會福利需要。

往後的數十年,救世軍繼續擴展社區服務及傳揚福音:開設學校、提供配合社會轉變的多元化社區服務、於各區設立部隊、在有需要的國家進行緊急救援項目、營辦循環再用計劃及家品店以推廣環保和慈善的工作。

2015年,救世軍慶祝服務香港85年。在過去的八個十年,救世軍港澳軍區由一個服務被遺棄婦女的小團體,已發展成為一個提供多元化服務的組織,每天繼續為有需要的人帶來希望與支援。

救世軍在中國

救世軍在中國始於1916年為北京因戰亂而無家可歸的難民提供援助。隨後數十年,救世軍先後在北京、石家莊及天津等地設立醫院及孤兒院,照顧無數貧苦大眾及孤兒,直至1951年暫停在中國內地的工作。

1988年於雲南省耿馬縣發生的7.2級強烈地震,讓救世軍重開服務中國內地之門,緊急救援及重建工作先後在僑愛村展開。由初期提供緊急救援及重建項目至今,救世軍的服務已擴展至內地多個貧困地區,透過基礎建設、教育、醫療及農業發展,推動多項社區扶貧發展工作。2011年,救世軍根據雲南省新規定,備案成「境外非政府組織」,繼續在內地為貧困及有需要人士提供服務。

救世軍在澳門

於1999年設立的救世軍祐漢堂暨社區服務中心,開啟了救世軍在澳門的服務。2007年,救世軍於澳門北區設立永久會址,積極計劃長遠發展目標。2014年,救世軍在澳門首個社會服務單位 — 救世軍喜樂家庭綜合服務中心正式投入服務,照顧青少年及家庭的需要。

救世軍於2000年在澳門開設了第一間家品店,而在澳門政府的支持下,資源回收活動恆常舉行。所有捐贈物品,除了在家品店轉售外,也會透過非牟利團體或政府舉辦的義工活動,轉贈予當地有需要人士。

時光之旅

1930年救世軍應香港殖民政府邀請,開設宿舍服務,照顧貧困女童及婦女。

戰爭時期,救世軍設立「施食廠」,每日向難民提供數以千份飯餐。

1947年,救世軍於舊灣仔警署開辦學校、手工藝中心及進行教會聚會。

1951年,救世軍位於彌敦道547-555號的總部落成。

前港督葛量洪於1956年主持前竹園隊及社會服務中心的開幕典禮。

救世軍光明學校於1959年投入服務。

職業訓練是救世軍於60年代其中一項重點社會服務。面對當時大量內地移民,救世軍提供包括理髮、木工、裁剪及縫紉等的培訓,又為在職婦女安排托兒服務,緩解她們照顧子女的負擔。

為提升服務質素,救世軍顧問委員會於1970年正式成立。

1973年,救世軍開辦卜維廉中學,為救世軍教育服務揭開新一頁。

1978年爆發越南難民潮,救世軍於其中兩個政府難民營提供教育、福利及宗教服務。

救世軍總部於1985年遷往油麻地永星里現址。

救世軍先後於香港興辨了10間天台小學。1987年,隨著救世軍光智小學的結束,救世軍完成天台辦學的使命。

救世軍積極參與緊急救援工作,先後向受中國水災、台灣地震及菲律賓風災影響的災民伸出援手。

1990年代,救世軍於中國內地開展扶貧發展工作。1995年,雷勵德大將會晤當時的港澳辦主任陳滋英先生。

2000年3月,祐漢堂暨社區服務中心正式服務澳門地區。

救世軍護老者服務於2008年已推行20年。「護老者」服務由救世軍提倡,目標是為需要照顧60歲以上長者的人士(即護老者)提供支援服務。而救世軍護老者協會早於2003年成立,為護老者提供相互協助和意見交流的平台。

2004年發生南亞大海嘯,救世軍共籌得超過6千萬港元,用以協助災區進行緊急救援及重建工作。

自2008年開始,一項為期四年的救援及重建項目開始於四川什邡市、綿竹市及羅江縣進行,目標為協助受四川512世紀大地震影響的災民重建正常生活。

2011年,救世軍根據雲南省新規定,備案成「境外非政府組織」,繼續在內地為貧困及有需要人士提供服務。

2011年3月,日本地震引發海嘯,救世軍超過300名部隊(教會)會友為演藝界的籌款活動提供後勤支援。救世軍共籌得逾5,700萬港元提供救援和重建服務。

2014年,救世軍在澳門首個社會服務單位 - 喜樂家庭綜合服務中心 - 正式投入服務。